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TOPIC: To Adopt the Depreciation Schedules and Bonus Depreciation as Amended 

by the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act 

 

 

Summary of Proposal for Consideration 

 

 To adopt the depreciation schedules and bonus depreciation as amended by the Tax Cuts 

and Jobs Act (TCJA), P.L. 115-97, effective for tax years beginning January 1, 2019. 

 

Fiscal Analysis 

 

 According to the Department of Finance and Administration, the revenue loss of adopting 

both bonus depreciation under 26 U.S.C § 168(k) and depreciation under 26 U.S.C § 179, as 

amended by the TCJA, beginning in 2019 and after would be as follows: $137,721,870 loss for 

FY2020; $130,121,665 loss for FY2021; $86,821,197 loss for FY2022; $53,088,613 loss for 

FY2023; and $42,506,460 loss for FY2024.  

 

Legal Analysis 

 

 Background 
  

Arkansas Code § 26-51-428 adopts 26 U.S.C § 179, as in effect on January 1, 2009, which 

allows taxpayers to deduct a certain dollar amount of depreciable property in the year purchased 

rather than capitalizing and depreciating the property. Arkansas allows for 26 U.S.C § 179 

depreciation deductions of assets up to $25,000 with a phase out beginning at $200,000. Arkansas 

has not adopted federal bonus depreciation under 26 U.S.C § 168(k), which allows a business to 

take an immediate first-year deduction on the purchase of eligible business property, in addition 

to other depreciation. 

 

ACT 118 of 1929 created the Income Tax Act of 1929 and established the first definitions 

of depreciation and expensing for the purposes of Arkansas income tax, allowing for “[a] 

reasonable allowance for the depreciation and obsolesce of property used in the trade or business.” 

The method used to calculate reasonable allowance was set by the Commissioner of Revenue.  

 

ACT 156 of 1957 amended the method by which depreciation and expensing was 

calculated. For years after 1953, the term “reasonable allowance” was defined to include an 

allowance computed in accordance with the regulations prescribed by the Commissioner of 

Revenue under one of four methods: 

(1)  The straight line method; 

(2)  The declining balance method, using a rate not exceeding twice the rate that would   

have been used had the annual allowance been computed under the straight line 

method; 

(3)  The sum of the years-digits method; or 
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(4)  Any other method productive of an annual allowance that, when added to all 

allowances for the period commencing with the taxpayer’s use of the property and 

including the taxable year, does not during the first two-thirds (2/3) of the useful life 

of the property exceed the total of the allowances that would have been used had the 

allowances been computed under the declining balance method.  

 

ACT 382 of 1987 repealed the earlier depreciation provisions and adopted 26 U.S.C § 179, 

as in effect on January 1, 1987. This act also stipulated that depreciation was to be calculated in 

accordance with depreciation claimed for federal income tax purposes by allowing twenty-five 

percent (25%) of the difference resulting from the depreciation adjustment to be taken as income 

or allowed as a deduction over four (4) years.  

 

ACT 826 of 1989 adopted 26 U.S.C § 179, as in effect on January 1, 1989, which allowed 

a depreciation deduction up to $10,000.  

 

ACT 1160 of 1995 adopted 26 U.S.C § 179, as in effect on January 1, 1995, which allowed 

a depreciation deduction up to $17,500.  

 

ACT 951 of 1997 adopted 26 U.S.C § 179, as in effect on January 1, 1997, which allowed 

a depreciation deduction up to $20,000.  

 

ACT 1129 of 1999 adopted 26 U.S.C § 179, as in effect on January 1, 1999, which allowed 

a depreciation deduction up to $25,000. 

 

ACT 218 of 2007 and ACT 613 of 2007 adopted 26 U.S.C § 179, as in effect on January 

1, 2007, which allowed a depreciation deduction up to $25,000 with a phase out beginning at 

$200,000. Arkansas has not adopted any federal changes to 26 U.S.C § 179 since 2007.  Arkansas 

has never adopted bonus depreciation under 26 U.S.C. § 168(k).  

 

Under the TCJA, 26 U.S.C § 179 has been amended to provide for a depreciation deduction 

up to $1,000,000 with a phase out beginning at $2,500,000.  The TCJA also amended  26 U.S.C. 

§ 168(k) to allow for bonus depreciation up to one hundred percent (100%) for assets purchased 

after September 27, 2017, and before January 1, 2023.  

 

 Potential Legal Issues 

  

None. 

 

 Other States 

 

 Iowa: Iowa is a static conformity state, which means that the state may adopt federal 

provisions as of a specific date, and changes in federal law are not automatically 

incorporated into state law. As of January 1, 2018, Iowa has adopted 26 U.S.C § 

179, as amended by the TCJA, subject to the following limitations: $70,000 for tax 

year 2018 and $100,000 for tax years beginning with 2019.  However, Iowa has 
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specifically decoupled from the bonus depreciation provisions under 26 U.S.C. § 

168(k). (IA St. § 422.35) 

 

 Louisiana: Louisiana is a rolling conformity state, which means that when federal 

law provisions are adopted by the state, any changes in federal law are 

automatically incorporated into state law.  Louisiana has not specifically decoupled 

from federal depreciation and bonus depreciation provisions, and unless it decides 

to do so, Louisiana will automatically conform to the depreciation schedules under 

26 U.S.C § 179, as amended by the TCJA, and bonus depreciation under 26 U.S.C 

§ 168(k), as amended by the TCJA. (IA St. § 47:287.63) 

 

 Mississippi: Mississippi is a non-conformity state, which means that the state 

adopts only selective parts of federal tax law; any future changes in federal law, 

even for the parts selectively adopted, are not automatically incorporated into state 

law. Mississippi has adopted federal depreciation law under 26 U.S.C. § 179. 

Mississippi has never adopted the federal treatment of bonus depreciation under 26 

U.S.C § 168(k).  It is unclear whether Mississippi intends to adopt the changes to 

the depreciations provisions under 26 U.S.C. § 179, but the language of 

Mississippi’s law does not explicitly limit the adoption of this provision to a certain 

date. (MS St. § 27-7-17; Miss. Admin. Code 35-III-5.04) 

 

 Missouri: Missouri is a rolling conformity state, which means that when federal law 

provisions are adopted by the state, any changes in federal law are automatically 

incorporated into state law.  Missouri has adopted the federal depreciation law 

under 26 U.S.C. § 179 and the bonus depreciation provisions of 26 U.S.C. § 168(k), 

subject to limitations for the changes made in 2002 for certain property, and unless 

Missouri decouples from these provisions, it will automatically conform to the 

depreciation schedules under 26 U.S.C § 179, as amended by the TCJA, and bonus 

depreciation under 26 U.S.C § 168(k), as amended by the TCJA. (MO St. § 

143.121) 

 

 Oklahoma: Oklahoma is a rolling conformity state, which means that when federal 

law provisions are adopted by the state, any changes in federal law are 

automatically incorporated into state law.  Oklahoma has adopted the federal 

depreciation law under 26 U.S.C. § 179 and the bonus depreciation provisions of 

26 U.S.C. §168(k).  However, for assets placed into service during the 2008 and 

2009 tax years, bonus depreciation is limited in that the taxpayer’s income is 

increased by 80% of the bonus depreciation amount allowed under federal law, and 

the taxpayer may subtract 25% of the amount added back in each of the next three 

(3) tax years.  Unless Oklahoma decouples from these provisions, it will 

automatically conform to the depreciation schedules under 26 U.S.C § 179, as 

amended by the TCJA, and bonus depreciation under 26 U.S.C § 168(k), as 

amended by the TCJA. (68 OK St. §§ 2358 and 2358.6) 

 

 Tennessee: Tennessee is a rolling conformity state, which means that when federal 

law provisions are adopted by the state, any changes in federal law are 
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automatically incorporated into state law.  Tennessee has adopted the depreciation 

provisions of federal law, and unless it decouples from this provision, it will 

automatically conform to the depreciation schedules under 26 U.S.C § 179, as 

amended by the TCJA.  Tennessee has specifically decoupled from bonus 

depreciation under 26 U.S.C § 168(k).  (TN St. § 67-4-2006) 

 

 Texas: Texas is a static conformity state, which means that the state may adopt 

federal provisions as of a specific date, and changes in federal law are not 

automatically incorporated into state law. Texas has adopted 26 U.S.C § 179, as in 

effect on January 1, 2017, and allows depreciation up to a $25,000 maximum 

deduction with a $200,000 investment limit. Texas has not adopted bonus 

depreciation under 26 U.S.C § 168(k). (TX St. §§ 171.0001 and 171.1011) 

 


