
Miscellaneous Tax 
Background and Exemptions

Arkansas Tax Reform and Relief Legislative Task Force 

June 20-21, 2018

Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration

                      EXHIBIT F



Arkansas Alcohol Tax 
Overview



Beer & Malt Beverage Tax

• Wholesale tax collected and paid by the wholesaler on gallons and barrels 
of beer and malt beverages. 
Barrel means 31 gallons of liquid.
Beer means any fermented liquor made from malt or any substitute and 

having an alcoholic content of not more than 5% by weight.
Malt Beverage means any liquor brewed from the fermented juices of 

grain and having an alcoholic content of not less than 5% or more than 21% 
by weight.
Native Brewery means a small brewery or microbrewery-restaurant. 
Small Brewery means any licensed facility that manufactures fewer than 

30,000 barrels of beer and malt beverages per year for sale or 
consumption 
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Beer & Malt Beverage Tax con’t.

• Ark. Code Ann. § 3-7-104 et seq. and § 3-7-111

• Beer Tax totals $12,100,000 in revenue.

• Beer Enforcement Tax totals $400,000 in revenue.

• Malt Beverage Tax is part of the $11,000,000 in Liquor Tax reported

• Significant Exemptions – Sales to agencies of the Armed Forces of the 
United States. 
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Beer & Malt Beverage Tax – Native Brewery

Beer produced or distributed by a Native Brewery

• Gallonage tax: $0.241935 per gallon or $7.50 per barrel, AND

• Enforcement/Inspection tax: Not Applicable 

• Combined tax rate: $0.241935 per gallon or $7.50 per barrel 
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Beer & Malt Beverage Tax –
Distributor/Wholesaler
Beer produced or distributed by a non-Native Brewery

• Gallonage tax: $0.234375 per gallon or $7.265625 per barrel, AND

• Enforcement/Inspection tax: $0.007813 per gallon or $0.242188 per 
barrel.

• Combined tax rate: Gallon rate: $0.242188 or Barrel rate: $7.507813
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Beer & Malt Beverage Tax – Native Brewery

Malt Beverage produced or distributed by a Native Brewery

• Gallonage Tax: $0.241935 per gallon or $7.50 per barrel AND

• Enforcement/Inspection Tax: not applicable

• Combined tax rate: Gallon rate: $0.241935 or Barrel rate: $7.50
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Beer & Malt Beverage Tax –
Distributor/Wholesaler
Malt Beverage produced or distributed by a non-Native Brewery

• Gallonage Tax: $0.20 per each gallon or $6.20 per barrel AND

• Enforcement/Inspection Tax: not applicable

• Combined tax rate: Gallon rate: $0.20 or Barrel rate: $6.20
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Native Brewery Rebates

• A qualified Native Brewery manufacturer may receive a rebate of $7.50 per barrel
of beer, malt beverage, or hard cider sold in Arkansas by the brewer or appointed
wholesaler if reports are required to report under Ark. Code Ann. § 3-5-1203
(Microbrewery restaurant), § 3-5-1408 (Native Beer Act), or § 3-7-104. Ark. Code
Ann. § 3-7-116.

• “Qualified manufacturer” means a person that manufactures a combined total of
less than twenty-five thousand (25,000) barrels of beer and malt beverage during
the twelve-month period immediately preceding the twelve-month period for
which the rebate under this section is claimed. Ark. Code Ann.

• Act 612 of 2017 provides that a qualified manufacturer who grows beyond the
25,000 barrel limit retains the tax rebate for the first 24,999 barrels produced.
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Wine Tax

• Wholesale tax collected and paid by the wholesaler on gallons and cases of wine 
or Vinous Liquor and Light Wine. 

“Vinous Liquor” means the fermented juices of grapes, berries, or other fruits 
and other mixture containing the fermented juices of grapes, berries, or other 
fruits, having an alcoholic content of more than five percent (5%) alcohol by 
weight.

“Light Wine” means the fermented juices of grapes, berries, or other fruits and 
other mixture containing the fermented juices of grapes, berries, or other fruits, 
having an alcoholic content between one-half of one percent (0.5%) and five 
percent (5%) alcohol by weight. Light Wine definition generally encompasses 
wine coolers.

• Notable Exemptions – Sacramental Wine 

• Notable Tax Credits – Credit for wine sold to United States Military Installations 
and wine returned to a manufacturer. 
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Wine Tax, con’t

• “Vinous Liquor” is taxed at the rates of:
• Seventy-five cents ($0.75) on each gallon sold or offered for sale in the State 

of Arkansas AND

• Five cents ($0.05) per each case sold or offered for sale in the State of 
Arkansas.

• “Light Wine/Wine Coolers” are taxed at the rates of:
• Twenty-five cents ($0.25) on each gallon sold or offered for sale in the State of 

Arkansas AND

• Five cents ($0.05) per case sold or offered for sale in the State of Arkansas.
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Small Farm Winery Exemption

• A grower of grapes and other fruits may manufacture and sell wine upon
the premises of the grower in original packages of not less than one-fourth
of a gallon (¼ gal.) from grapes and other fruits actually grown by the party
so manufacturing wine upon his or her own premises, free from the license
fees and taxes

• Home Brewed beer and home vinted wine for consumption by the home
producer is exempt from license fees and taxes so long as no more than
100 gallons per adult are produced per calendar year.
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Liquor Tax

• Wholesale tax collected and paid by the wholesaler on gallons and cases of 
Spiritous Liquor, Premixed Spiritous Liquor, and Light Spiritous Liquor. 

“Spirituous Liquor” means liquor distilled from the fermented juices of grain, 
fruits, or vegetable and any mixture containing liquor distilled from the 
fermented juices of grain, fruits, or vegetables, with an alcoholic content of 
twenty-one percent (21%) or more alcohol by weight.

“Premixed Spirituous Liquor” means liquor distilled from fermented juices of 
grain, fruits, or vegetables, having an alcoholic content of less than twenty-one 
percent (21%) alcohol by weight but more than five percent (5%) alcohol by 
weight.

“Light Spirituous Liquor” means liquor distilled from fermented juices of grain, 
fruits, or vegetables, having an alcoholic content between one-half of one 
percent (0.5%) and five percent (5%) alcohol by weight.

• Total Revenue $10,100,000 for wholesale excise liquor tax and malt beverage tax . 
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Liquor Tax, Exemptions

• Denatured Alcohol, including rum 

• Medicinal preparations manufactured in accordance with formulae prescribed in 
the United States Pharmacopoeia — National Formulary, or by the American 
Institute of Homeopathy that are unfit for the use for beverage purposes;

• Patented, patent, and proprietary medicines that are unfit for use for beverage 
purposes;

• Toilet, medicinal, and antiseptic preparations and solutions that are unfit for use 
for beverage purposes;

• Flavoring extracts and syrups that are unfit for use as a beverage or for 
intoxicating beverage purposes;

• Vinegar and preserved sweet cider;

• Alcohol medicated according to such formulae as will render it unfit for beverage 
purposes and which is to be sold for legitimate external use;
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Liquor Tax, Exemptions – con’t. 

• Alcohol for mechanical and scientific purposes if unfit for a beverage;

• Wines;

• Pure, ethyl, or denatured alcohol intended for use or used for 
scientific, chemical, mechanical, industrial, medicinal, or culinary 
purposes or for use in the manufacture of patented, patent, 
proprietary, medicinal, pharmaceutical, antiseptic, toilet, scientific, 
chemical, mechanical, and industrial preparations or products, unfit 
for beverage purposes.

• Alcoholic beverages sold to agencies of the Armed Forces of the 
United States.

Miscellaneous Tax Presentation 15



Liquor Tax, Levy 

• “Spirituous Liquor” is taxed at the rates of:
• Two dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) on each gallon sold or offered for sale in the State 

of Arkansas AND
• Twenty cents ($0.20) per each case sold or offered for sale in the State of Arkansas.

• “Premixed Spirituous Liquor” is taxed at the rates of:
• One dollar ($1.00) on each gallon sold or offered for sale in the State of Arkansas 

AND
• Five cents ($0.05) per each case sold or offered for sale in the State of Arkansas.

• “Light Spirituous Liquor” is taxed at the rates of:
• Fifty cents ($0.50) on each gallon sold or offered for sale in the State of Arkansas 

AND
• Five cents ($0.05) per each case sold or offered for sale in the State of Arkansas.
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Arkansas Soft Drink Tax 
Overview



• The tax is levied upon the a) sale in this state of soft drinks, syrups, 
simple syrups, powders and base products by a manufacturer, 
wholesaler, or distributor to a retailer or other purchaser, or b) the 
purchase by a retailer in this state of soft drinks, syrups, simple 
syrups, powders and base products from an unlicensed manufacturer, 
wholesaler, or distributor. The tax rate shall be:
• Soft Drink Syrup - $1.26 per gallon of soft drink or simple syrup.

• Bottled Soft Drinks - $20.6 cents per gallon of bottled or canned soft drink 
product.

• Powders - $20.6 cents for each gallon produced by powders or base products.

Soft Drink Tax
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• “Powder” or “other base” means a solid mixture of basic ingredients used in making, mixing, or 
compounding soft drinks by mixing the powder or other base with water, ice, syrup or simple 
syrup, fruits, vegetables, fruit juice, vegetable juice, or any other product suitable to make a 
complete soft drink;

• “Soft drink” means any nonalcoholic beverage sold for human consumption including, but not 
limited to, the following: Soda water; Ginger ale; All drinks commonly referred to as “cola”; Lime, 
lemon, lemon-lime, and other flavored drinks, whether naturally or artificially flavored, including 
any fruit or vegetable drink containing ten percent (10%) or less natural fruit juice or natural 
vegetable juice; and All other drinks and beverages commonly referred to as “soft drinks”.
• “Soft drink” does not include coffee or tea unless the coffee or tea is bottled as a liquid for sale; and

• “Syrup” means the liquid mixture of basic ingredients used in making, mixing, or compounding 
soft drinks by mixing the syrup with water, simple syrup, ice, fruits, vegetables, fruit juice, 
vegetable juice, or any other product suitable to make a complete soft drink.

Soft Drink Tax, con’t.
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• Soft Drink Tax revenue is special revenue for the Arkansas 
Medicaid Program Trust Fund and for matching federal 
Medicaid funding.

• Total Soft Drink Tax revenue annually is $47,200,000 in 
FY2017. Expected FY2018 is $44,000,000 and expected FY2-
19 is $41,000,000 based on Act 141 of 2017. 

Soft Drink Tax, con’t.
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• Syrups, simple syrups, powders or base products, or soft drinks sold to the United States 
Government.

• Syrups, simple syrups, powders or base products, or soft drinks exported from the State of 
Arkansas by a distributor, wholesaler or manufacturer.

• Any powder or base product that is used in preparing coffee or tea or simple syrup used in 
preparing tea.

• Any frozen concentrate or freeze-dried concentrate to which only water is added to produce a 
soft drink containing more than ten percent (10%) natural fruit juice or natural vegetable juice.

• Any soft drink containing more than ten percent (10%) natural fruit juice or natural vegetable 
juice.

Soft Drink Tax, Exemptions
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• Syrups, simple syrups, powders or base products, or soft drinks sold by one distributor, 
wholesaler or manufacturer to another distributor, wholesaler or manufacturer who holds a 
license issued by the Director under the provisions of this Act as a distributor, wholesaler or 
manufacturer provided that the license number of the distributor, wholesaler, manufacturer to 
whom the soft drink is sold is clearly shown on the invoice for the sale which is claimed to be 
exempt. This exemption shall not apply to any sale to a retailer.

• Any product whether sold in liquid or powder form which is intended by the manufacturer for 
consumption by infants and which is commonly referred to as “infant formula”.

• Any product whether sold in liquid or powder form which is intended by the manufacturer for use 
as a dietary supplement or for weight reduction.

• Water to which no flavoring, whether artificial or natural, nor carbonation has been added.

• Any powder or other base product which is intended by the manufacturer to be sold and used for 
the purpose of domestically mixing soft drinks by the ultimate consumer.

• Any product containing milk or milk products.

Soft Drink Tax, Exemptions
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Arkansas Cigar & Tobacco
Tax Overview



• The excise tax is reported and paid by 1) licensed wholesalers or distributors making 
the first sale in the State of Arkansas or 2) Arkansas consumers who purchase 
untaxed tobacco products from outside the State of Arkansas. In the absence of 
Arkansas tax being paid on the tobacco products, the consumer is required to self-
report the tax due.
• Smoking tobacco, moist snuff, cigars, and other tobacco are taxed at 68% of manufacturer’s 

invoiced selling price prior to any discount.
• The premium cigar tax is the sum of 1) $0.50 per premium cigar and 2) 2% of manufacturer’s 

invoiced selling price prior to any discount.
• Total Revenue is $55,100,000 General Revenue and $1,700,000 Special Revenue that 

is split between UAMS Center, Breast Cancer Control and Research, Arkansas 
Prostate Cancer Foundation, and Aging & Adult Services Fund. 

• Notable Exemptions: Tobacco products sold to military departments of the United 
States or the State of Arkansas for resale on military bases within this State and 
tobacco products sold and delivered to authorized purchasers outside this State for 
resale and to other wholesalers are not subject to this tax.  Ark. Code Ann. §26-57-
209.

Cigar & Tobacco Tax
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• Smoking Tobacco is a form of loose tobacco that is smoked/inhaled via papers/tubes or smoking 
devices (e.g. cigarette, hookah, pipe tobacco).

• Moist Snuff is a form of smokeless tobacco that is sometimes referred to as snuff. Moist tobacco 
is typically finely ground and sold in (round) tins, either in loose form or in small pre-packaged 
quantities (e.g. moist tobacco, snus, wet snuff).

• Cigar means any roll of tobacco wrapped in leaf tobacco or in any substance containing tobacco 
(e.g. little cigars, cigarillos, cigars) with an invoice price* (before discounts) less than $0.7576 per 
cigar.

• Other tobacco means tobacco products that are not specifically smoking, moist snuff, or cigar
products (e.g. chewing tobacco, plug tobacco, twist tobacco, cigar wraps, blunt wraps, dry snuff).

• Premium Cigar means any roll of tobacco wrapped in leaf tobacco or in any substance containing 
tobacco (e.g. little cigars, cigarillos, cigars) with an invoice price* (before discounts) equal to or 
greater than $0.7576 per cigar.

• Invoice price means the price that a wholesaler or retailer of tobacco products pays to a 
manufacturer, importer, or distributor for tobacco products that the wholesaler or retailer 
subsequently sells in the state.

Cigar & Tobacco Tax
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Arkansas Cigarette
Tax Overview



• The excise tax is reported and paid by 1) licensed wholesalers or distributors making 
the first sale in the State of Arkansas or 2) Arkansas consumers who purchase 
unstamped cigarettes. The tax payment is evidenced by a cigarette tax stamp affixed 
by a licensed wholesaler to each cigarette pack sold. In the absence of an Arkansas 
tax stamp, a consumer is required to self-report the tax due. 
• The tax rate is: $57.50 per 1000 cigarettes or $11.50 per carton or $1.15 per pack.

• Total Revenue is $165,200,000 General Revenue and $5,300,000 Special Revenue 
that is split between UAMS Center, Breast Cancer Control and Research, Arkansas 
Prostate Cancer Foundation, and Aging & Adult Services Fund. 

• Notable Exemptions: Tobacco products sold to military departments of the United 
States or the State of Arkansas for resale on military bases within this State and 
tobacco products sold and delivered to authorized purchasers outside this State for 
resale and to other wholesalers are not subject to this tax.  Ark. Code Ann. §26-57-
209.

Cigarette Tax
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• The excise tax is reported and paid by 1) licensed wholesalers, distributors, 
and retailers making the first sale in the State of Arkansas or 2) Arkansas 
consumers who purchase untaxed cigarette rolling papers. In the absence of 
Arkansas excise tax being paid on the cigarette rolling papers, the purchaser is 
required to self-report the tax due. 
• The tax rate is: $.25 per package.

• Total Revenue is $1,300,000 General Revenue

Cigarette Tax, Cigarette Paper Tax
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Arkansas Charitable
Bingo and Raffle Tax Overview



• The tax is levied and collected on sales by licensed distributors to authorized 
organizations that have been in continuous existence for 5 years or more in 
this state. 

• “Authorized organization” is defined as a nonprofit tax-exempt religious, 
educational, veterans, fraternal, service, civic, medical, volunteer rescue 
service, volunteer firefighters organization or volunteer police organization in 
this state. In addition, a nonprofit tax-exempt instrumentality of the United 
States Government is a service agency for the purpose of this definition

• The tax levied is 3/10¢ on the sale of each bingo face. 

• The total revenue from this tax is $200,000 General Revenue

Charitable Bingo & Raffle Tax 
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• Notable exemptions: Bingo faces taxed under code § 23-114-601 are 
exempt from the Arkansas Gross Receipts Tax Act of 1941 and the 
Arkansas compensating Tax Act of 1949. 

• In addition to the levied tax, an annual registration process requires 
permit fees be collected from the following:
• Manufacturers/Distributors - $2,500.00 

• Licensed Authorized Organizations:
Annual bingo/raffle permit - $100.00
Temporary bingo permit - $25.00
Class I temporary raffle permit - $25.00
Class II temporary raffle permit (donated prize value less than $5,000) -
$10.00

Charitable Bingo & Raffle Tax, con’t.  
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Arkansas Severance Tax 
Overview



• What is a Severance Tax?
• “A tax imposed on the removal of nonrenewable resource such as crude oil, 

condensate and natural gas, coalbed methane and carbon dioxide.”

• “Severance tax is charged to producers, or anyone with a working or royalty 
interest in oil or gas operations in the imposing states. You may be charged 
severance tax even if you do not realize a net profit on your investment.”

• What is subject to a Severance Tax in Arkansas?
• Natural Gas

• Oil

• Timber

• Brine, Crushed Stone, Coal, and other.

Severance Tax: Overview

Source: Investopedia



• The tax is to be collected from the Producer on the barrels of brine severed 
during the production month. Monthly reporting forms are mailed out by 
the Miscellaneous Tax Section and are required to be completed/filed by 
the 25th day of each month following the report month. 

• Brine refers to salt water whose naturally dissolved components, or 
solutes, are used as source raw materials for bromine and other products 
derived from the same salt water used in the bromine production. 

• Tax rate equals $2.75 per 1000 barrels or $0.00275 per barrel. 1,000 
barrels equals 42,000 US gallons.

• Total Revenue is $630,000 Special Revenue for the Arkansas Museum of 
Natural Resources

Severance Tax, Brine
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• Tax is collected from the Operator/Producer on the market value of gas 
sold. The 1st Purchaser of natural gas is required to receive advanced 
ascertainment that the Operator/Producer holds an Arkansas Natural Gas 
Severance Tax Permit. If advanced ascertainment is not received, the 1st 
Purchaser is required to withhold natural gas severance tax on the gas 
purchase. The Operator/Producer and 1st Purchaser have monthly 
reporting responsibilities. 

• The applicable tax rates of 1.25%, 1.5%, and 5.0% are dependent on the 
well classification by the Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission.

• The first $675,000 to General Revenue and everything above that 
distributed 5% to the Road & Bridge Repair Fund and 95% to be split 
70/15/15 among ADOT/cities/counties. 

• Total Revenue is $38,152,000.

Severance Tax, Natural Gas
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Severance Tax: Distribution

Natural Gas 
Severance

$675k 
General 
Revenue

5% to Road 
and Bridge 

Repair
95% to ADOT

70% ADOT 15% Cities 15% Counties



• Tax is levied and collected from either the producer or purchaser of 
oil in the State of Arkansas at the time of severance. 

• The tax rate on oil shall be:
• 4% of the market value at the time of severance, when production averages 

10 barrels or less per well per day. Ark. Code Ann. § 26-58-111(6)(b)
• 5% of the market value at the time of severance, when production averages 

more than 10 barrels per well per day. Ark. Code Ann. § 26-58-111(6)(a)

• Additional taxes are levied on oil at the rates of:
• $0.005 (5 mils) per barrel produced in this state. Ark. Code Ann. § 26-58-

301(a)(1)
• $0.02 per barrel produced in this state. Ark. Code Ann. § 26-58-302(a)(1)

• Total Revenue is $10,140,000.

Severance Tax, Oil
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• Any oil producer in this state who provides for the disposition of salt water produced in the 
production of oil in this state, by the means of an approved underground salt water disposal 
system, shall be allowed a credit on severance taxes due and payable to the State of Arkansas.

• Ark. Code Ann. 26-58-204. Severance tax credit for oil producer.
• An oil producer in this state who provides for the disposition of salt water produced in the production of oil 

from oil wells of the oil producer in this state by means of an approved underground saltwater disposal 
system shall be allowed a severance tax credit on all oil produced by the saltwater-producing oil wells in the 
amount and in the method provided in this subchapter.

• The total severance tax credits allowed all oil producers for any calendar year shall not exceed three hundred 
seventy thousand dollars ($370,000).  Ark. Code Ann. §

• Ark. Code Ann. 26-58-205. Severance tax credit for natural gas producer.
• A natural gas producer charged with the responsibility of reporting and paying the severance tax on natural 

gas who provides for the disposal of saltwater produced in the production of natural gas by means of an 
approved underground saltwater disposal system is allowed a severance tax credit on all natural gas produced 
by the saltwater-producing natural gas wells in the amount and in the method provided in this subchapter.

• The total severance tax credits allowed all natural gas producers for any calendar year shall not exceed three 
hundred seventy thousand dollars ($370,000).

Severance Tax, Oil – Salt Water Credit 
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• The tax is levied upon the primary processor of the timber and shall 
be computed on the weight, as determined at the last time the 
timber was weighed prior to undergoing the first processing after 
severance. The tax rate shall be:
• Pine timber - $0.178 per ton of two thousand pounds (2,000 lbs.)

• All other timber - $0.125 per ton of two thousand pounds (2,000 lbs.)

• Notable Exemptions – Timber severed by the property owner for 
personal use, not for sale or commercial gain or profit, is exempt. 

• Total Revenue is $4,000,000 Special Revenue for the State Forestry 
Commission and University of Arkansas – Monticello. 

Severance Tax, Timber
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Severance Tax: Distribution

Timber 
Severance

Forestry 
Commission



• Various rates for other minerals or interests subject to the severance 
tax.

• Severance Tax is distributed 75% to General Revenue and 25% to 
County Aid Fund. 

Severance Tax, Other
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Severance Tax: Distribution
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Arkansas Gaming & 
Amusement Tax Overview



• An 18% privilege tax is levied on the net wagering revenues from electronic games of 
skill. The fees are to be collected by the horse racing and greyhound racing franchisees. 

Electronic Games of Skill means games played through any electronic device or machine 
that affords an opportunity for the exercise of skill or judgment where the outcome is 
not completely controlled by chance alone. A game is not completely controlled by 
chance alone if the betting public may attain through the exercise of skill or judgment a 
better measure of success in playing the game than could be mathematically expected 
on the basis of pure luck, that is, on the basis of pure random chance alone.
Electronic Games of Skill do not include pari-mutuel wagering on horse racing and greyhound 

racing governed by the Arkansas Horse Racing Law or Arkansas Greyhound Racing Law, whether 
pari-mutuel wagering on live racing, simulcast racing, or races conducted in the past and 
rebroadcast by electronic means.

Net Wagering Revenues from Electronic Games of Skill means the gross wagering 
revenues received by a franchise holder from wagers placed by patrons on electronic 
games of skill, less amounts paid out or separately reserved under rules of the 
commission for future pay out, to patrons on the wagers.

• Total Revenue is $60,100,000 General Revenue

Electronic Games of Skill
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• Act 1075 of 2017 authorizes paid fantasy sports games in Arkansas.

• Act 1075 imposes a special 8% privilege tax based on the game operator’s 
gross paid fantasy sports game revenues collected during the period of the 
state’s previous fiscal year.
• The gross paid fantasy sports game revenues would be the total of all entry fees that 

a game operator collects from all game participants, less the total of all sums paid 
out as prizes to all game participants. The remaining balance of revenues would 
then be multiplied by the location percent for Arkansas. The location percentage 
would be determined for each paid fantasy sports game and calculated as a 
percentage of all entry fees collected from game participants located in Arkansas 
divided by the total of entry fees from all game participants.

• The special 8% privilege tax is remitted to the Department of Finance and 
Administration on a quarterly basis. 

• Total Revenue is $81,700 General Revenue in the 9 months since levied.

Paid Fantasy Sports Games
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• A privilege tax is levied on each amusement device. The annual privilege tax is due prior 
to each device being placed into operation. Annual license fees are due from each 
distributor, salesman, and operator of amusement devices. The license is renewed on or 
before July 1st of each year.

• Privilege Tax (commonly referred to as a decal fee)
$5 per device per fiscal year
*Decal fees are prorated if due/payable during the last six (6) months of the fiscal year.

• License Fees
Entity License Fee per Fiscal Year*
• Distributor $25
• Salesman $5
• Operator - 3 or fewer amusement devices $500
• Operator - 4 or more amusement devices $1,000

• Surety Bonds
• Distributor - $1,000
• Operator - $6,000 

Amusement Device Privilege Tax
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• Coin-operated amusement devices restricted exclusively to carnivals and 
county, district, and state fairs have a different requirement. A carnival 
licensee who operates amusement devices for more than three (3) months 
in any one (1) calendar year is required to pay the annual license 
fee. There are no surety bond requirements for carnival licensees who 
operate amusement devices. The following operator license fees apply to 
carnival licensees:

• Entity (Number of Devices) License Fee
• Operator - 3 or fewer $75 per month, 3 month maximum
• Operator - 3 or fewer $500 per fiscal year, if 3 month threshold 

is exceeded
• Operator - 4 or more $150 per month, 3 month maximum
• Operator - 4 or more $1,000 per fiscal year, if 3 month threshold 

is exceeded

Amusement Device Privilege Tax, con’t. 
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• Total Revenue is $203,000 Special Revenue in FY2017. 

• The first thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) annually collected shall be 
placed to the credit of the Public School Fund, and all moneys over 
thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) annually collected shall be placed to 
the credit of the State Board of Health for rural health work.

Ark. Code Ann. § 26-57-407(b).

Amusement Device Privilege Tax, con’t. 
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Arkansas Miscellaneous 
Taxes and Fees Overview



• Beauty Pageant Operators must be licensed and bonded in the State 
of Arkansas.  Registration in another state is not sufficient. 

• Each registered operator, shall at the time of registration, file and 
have approved by the Department of Finance and Administration, a 
bond in which the candidate for registration shall be the principal 
obligator in the amount of ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00). Such 
bond shall be payable to the State of Arkansas for the use of the 
Director and any person who may have a cause of action against the 
obligor on the bond for any losses caused by a failure to conduct a 
beauty pageant.

• Each registration shall expire on December 31st of each year.

Beauty Pageants
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• The following organizations are required to register with the Department but are 
exempt from the bonding requirement:
• A bona fide civic club in existence for at least one (1) year
• A non-profit organization 
• A religious organization or church
• A local government entity or school
• Any organization auxiliary to or affiliated with such local governmental entities or schools, 

including but not limited to, county fair boards, and school booster clubs.

• A registration and bonding exemption applies to any operator which has existed 
as an operation for at least twenty-five (25) years, and its affiliates, whether now 
or hereafter, and whose continuing primary function involves the annual 
organization, promotion and sponsoring of a statewide talent and beauty pageant 
in which contestants compete for scholarships, awarded by the operator, as well 
for the opportunity of being Arkansas’ representative and contestant in an annual 
nationwide talent and beauty pageant with which the operator is affiliated.

Beauty Pageants, Exemptions
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• The Real Property Transfer Tax is levied on each deed, instrument, or 
writing by which any lands, tenements, or other realty sold shall be 
granted, assigned, transferred, or otherwise conveyed. The tax rate is $3.30 
per $1,000 of actual consideration on transactions that exceed $100.

• Real Property Transfer Tax applies to transferring ownership of mineral 
rights.

• The total revenue from the Real Estate Transfer Tax is $43,250,000 with 
$2,600,000 as General Revenue and the remainder as Special Revenue for 
ANCR Natural and Cultural Resources Grants and Trust fund, ANCR Historic 
Preservation Trust Fund, Parks and Tourism fund, the City & County Clerks 
Continuing Education Fund, Administration of Justice Fund for Court 
Reporters, and the County Aid Fund. 

Real Property Transfer Tax
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• Transfers to or from the United States, the State of Arkansas, or any of the 
instrumentalities, agencies, or political subdivisions thereof;

• Any instrument of writing given solely to secure a debt;

• Any instrument solely for the purpose of correcting or replacing an 
instrument which has been previously recorded with full payment of tax 
having been paid at the time of the previous recordation;

• Instruments conveying land sold for delinquent taxes;

• Instruments conveying a leasehold interest in land only;

• Instruments, including timber deeds, which convey or grant the right to 
remove timber from lands if such instruments grant or convey the right to 
remove such timber for a period of not to exceed twenty-four (24) months;

Real Property Transfer Tax, Exemptions
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• Instruments given by one party in a divorce action as action to the other 
party to the divorce action as a division of marital property whether by 
agreement or order of the court;

• Instruments given in a judicial proceeding or a nonjudicial proceeding 
under §18-50-101 et seq. enforce a security interest in real estate when the 
instrument transfers the property to the same person who is seeking to 
enforce the security interest;

• Instruments given to a secured party in lieu of or to avoid a judicial 
proceeding or a nonjudicial proceeding under §18-50-101 et seq. to 
enforce a security interest in real estate;

• Instruments conveying new homes financed by FHA, VA, or USDA if the 
selling price is $60,000 or less; and

• Instruments incidental to the organization, reorganization, consolidation or 
liquidation of a corporation.

Real Property Transfer Tax, Exemptions
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• A Rim Removal fee is charged upon the removal of a tire from a rim that is 
related to the sale of a replacement tire by a tire retailer. The fee is $3.00 if 
the replacement tire is new and $1.00 if the replacement tire is used.

• The previous Waste Tire Program averaged $5,400,000 annually. With the 
new Used Tire Accountability Program, the current revenue for FY2018 is 
$5,200,000. 

• The Used Tire Accountability Program was enacted by Act 317 or 2017 
replacing the Waste Tire Program. 

• This fee applies to various classes of tires:
• Small Tire – a motor vehicle tire with a load rating of “F” or lower.

• Automobile tire
Motorcycle
All-terrain vehicle

• Large Tire – a motor vehicle tire with a load rating of “F” or higher and a rim size 
greater of 20” such as a truck tire. 

Used Tire Recycling Fees
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• Extra-Large Tire: means a tire that due to its size or construction is more difficult to 
process for recycling or disposal than a large tire and costs substantially more to 
process than a large tire.
• Skid steer loader

Excavation equipment
Farm implement, including without limitations a Tractor, Backhoe, Road grader, Industrial 
equipment, Skidder, or Heavy duty truck used off road for mining

• Import Tire - A tire that is imported into Arkansas.
• Commercial Generator - A person who sells new tires or provides delivery of new 

tires as part of a fleet service to any of the following: Municipality, County, State 
Agency, Federal Agency, School District, Political subdivision of the State, or a Person 
who in the ordinary course of business buys tires in bulk for the use of commercial 
vehicles.

• Waste Tire – a tire that is no longer repairable or retreadable or no longer 
suitable for its original intended purpose because of wear, damage, or 
defect.

Used Tire Recycling Fees, con’t. 
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• Sale for Resale

• Solid wheel rim with an integral rubber covering.

• Tire used on a nonmotorized bicycle, golf cart or lawn mower

• Used tires being held for ninety (90) days or less for the purpose of 
retreading or repairing

• Tires sold as part of the equipment of a new motor vehicle

• Large retreaded tires

• Tires included as part of the equipment of a used vehicle if included 
on the used vehicle at the time of sale and in the sales price of the 
used vehicle. 

Used Tire Recycling Fees, Exemptions 
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• The surcharge is assessed at the rate of $0.50 per $1,000.00 of 
construction authorized on non-residential construction permits issue 
by a political subdivision of this state. Each subdivision of this state 
shall be limited to collecting a maximum surcharge of one thousand 
dollars ($1,000) on each non-residential construction project 
receiving a permit.

• The total revenue averages $565,000 annually but the CY2017 
reported $700,000 in revenue. 

• The construction surcharge is special revenue for the Arkansas 
Construction Industry Craft Training Program. 

Construction Surcharge
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• A taxpayer is given 3 options to manage their vending operations in Arkansas. All 
vending machines must display an annually issued vending device decal, no matter which 
option is chosen.
• Option 1 involves the payment of sales tax directly to the supplier of all merchandise that will be 

sold through the taxpayer’s vending machines. Food sold through a vending machine can qualify 
for taxation at the Reduced Food Tax rate (see Rule 2007-3). No Sales/Use Tax permit is required 
if Option 1 is chosen.

After the opening of a Vending account, fiscal year decals are issued and placed on vending 
machines by the taxpayer. Prior to the beginning of each new fiscal year, a decal order form is 
mailed out to all Vending accounts. There are no fees for the annual Option 1 decals.

• Option 2 involves reporting/paying the 7% Wholesale Vending Tax (see Rule 1995-2) each month 
on the merchandise to be sold through the taxpayer’s vending machines. Merchandise is 
purchased tax free under the sale for resale exemption. A Sales/Use Tax Permit is required. The 
taxpayer is required to file a monthly ET-1 Excise Tax Report and pay the appropriate tax.

After the opening of a Vending account, fiscal year decals are requested, issued, and placed on 
vending machines by the taxpayer. Prior to the beginning of each fiscal year, a decal order form is 
mailed out to all Vending accounts. There are no fees for the annual Option 2 decals.

Vending Machine Taxation
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• Option 3 involves exempting vending merchandise purchases from tax under the sale for resale 
exemption. A Sales/Use Tax Permit is required. The taxpayer is required to file a monthly ET-1 Excise 
Tax Report.
After opening of a Vending account, fiscal year decals are purchased, issued, and placed on vending 
machines by the taxpayer. The vending machine operator purchases Option 3 decals based on various 
factors – manual verses electric vending equipment, value of the vended goods, and bulk verses 
individually vended goods. Prior to the beginning of each new fiscal year, a decal order form is mailed 
out to all Vending accounts. Decal costs are shown below. 

•

Vending Machine Taxation, con’t. 
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Type of Vending unit Dispenser Value Range Decal Fee

Individual Electric less than $0.25 $15.00

Individual Electric $0.25 or more $93.00

Bulk Electric or Manual $0.25 or less $2.50

Bulk Electric or Manual more than $0.25 $7.50

Individual Manual $0.25 or more $30.00



• The surcharge is collected by Commercial Mobile Radio 
Service Providers and Local Exchange Carriers. The surcharge 
rate is established by the Public Service Commission and 
collected by the local carriers from their customers.

• The rate is set by the Public Service Commission. 

• Effective July 1, 2013, the monthly Telephone Surcharge rate of 
$0.02 applies to working subject telephone numbers (Commercial 
Mobile Radio Service Providers) and subject access lines (Local 
Exchange Carriers).

• Total revenue from Fiscal Year 2017 - $440,656.98

Telephone Tariff

Miscellaneous Tax Presentation 61



• The Tax Division of the Arkansas Public Service Commission determines Ad 
Valorem Assessments for property tax purposes on public utilities and carriers, 
including telecommunications providers, electric, gas and water utilities, pipeline 
companies, railroads, airlines, barge lines, cable television providers, motor 
carriers, and bus lines.

• The Tax Division's jurisdiction, duties and responsibilities are set forth in Ark. 
Code Ann. §§26-24-101-123 and §§26-26-1601 through §§26-26-1803. The 
Division values utilities and carriers using the unitary appraisal method, where 
the firm is valued as a complete operating system, with the value of Arkansas 
assets allocated by ratio.

• Depending on the type of company assessed, assessments are either certified to:
• County assessors for extension and collection of taxes at the local level or 
• The Department of Finance and Administration for billing and collection.

• The Tax Division of the Arkansas Public Service Commission does not bill or collect 
any property taxes.

Ad Valorem Taxation
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