
ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION
-Claim Form-

Please note that all sections must be completed, or this form will be returned to you, which will 
delay the processing of your claim.

1. Claimant's Legal Counsel -  (If representing yourself (Pro Se) please check this box and 
proceed to section 2)

(last name) (first name) (email)

(address) (city) (state) (zip) (primary phone)

Arkansas Bar Number:
If not licensed to practice law in Arkansas, please
contact the Claims Commission for more information.

2. Claimant

(title/last name/first name or company) (email)

(address) (city) (state) (zip) (primary phone)

3. State Agency Involved:  (must be an Arkansas state agency.  The Arkansas Claims Commission
has no jurisdiction over county, city, or other municipalities)

(state agency involved)

5. Claim Type

Please provide a brief explanation of your claim.  If additional space is required please attach 
additional statements to this form.

2013130

Holmes Ursula

1213 Union Avenue, Suite 205 Memphis TN 38104

Tienne.Anderson@mlh.org

1211 Union Avenue Memphis TN 38103 (901) 552-6513

Arkansas Department of Human Services

Unpaid Bill

Per Randee Williams with DHS:  We have been informed that this bill will have to go through the 
Claims Commission for payment. It is from the previous fiscal year, so we are unable to process it 
through the normal payment process. The link to the Claims Commission website is below. I have 
attached the paperwork that you have provided us that shows the State of Arkansas’ portion of the 
bill and the court order that states the child was to be hospitalized so that the mother could be 
trained to care for him. If you need our assistance through the process, please let us know and we will 
try to help as much as we can. Thank you. \
 \
https://arclaimscommission.arkansas.gov/ \
 \
 \
Randee Williams\
Division of Children and Family Services/Independence County \
Area IX Fiscal Support Analyst/Financial Coordinator\
\
Claim is for 28 denied days at AFMC rate of $1836.00 per day = $51,408.00.  Please see the attached.

4. Incident Date

2/19/2019

Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare

 EXHIBIT B.2



5a.  Check here if this claim involves damage to a motor vehicle.

6.  Was a state vehicle involved?  (If Yes, please complete the following section)

(type of state vehicle involved) (license number) (driver)

7.  Check here if this claim involves personal injury.  

All personal injury claims require a copy of your medical insurance information in place 
at the time of the incident.

I do not have health insurance

8.  Amount Sought:

(Signature) (Date)

$51,408.00

5b.  Check here if this claim involves damage to property other than a motor vehicle.

All property damage claims require ONE of the following (please attach):  
1.  Invoice(s) documenting repair costs, OR
2.  Three (3) estimates for repair of the damaged property, OR
3.  An explaination why repair bill(s) or estimate(s) cannot be provided.

All property damage claims require a copy of your insurance declarations covering the property or 
motor vehicle at the time of damage.

I did not have insurance covering my property/motor vehicle at the time of damage.
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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

 

METHODIST LEBONHEUR 

HEALTHCARE CLAIMANTS 

 

V. CLAIM NO. 210423 

 

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF 

HUMAN SERVICES    RESPONDENT 

 

 

ORDER 

 

Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission”) is the 

claim filed by Methodist LeBonheur Healthcare (the “Claimant”) against Arkansas Department 

of Human Services (the “Respondent”) for an unpaid bill in the amount of $51,408.00. 

Respondent filed an answer recommending payment in the total amount of $27,540.00 

based upon the length of the in-patient stay ordered by the court.  

 The Claims Commission sent correspondence to Claimant on December 7, 2020, advising 

Claimant that Respondent recommended payment in the amount of $27,540.00 only. In that 

correspondence, Claimant was given fifteen (15) calendar days to request a hearing and advised 

that if Claimant did not request a hearing within fifteen (15) days, the claim would be processed 

for the amount admitted by Respondent. Claimant was also advised that Claimant’s claim for any 

other amounts would be dismissed for failure to respond. To date, Claimant has not responded to 

the Claims Commission’s December 7, 2020, correspondence. 

As such, the Claims Commission hereby unanimously ALLOWS this claim in the amount 

of $27,540.00 , as recommended by the Respondent and transmits this claim to the Arkansas 

General Assembly pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215 for review, approval, and placement 

on an appropriations bill. Claimant’s claim for any other amount is hereby dismissed. 
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 IT IS SO ORDERED. 

      
     _______________________________________ 

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

 

Courtney Baird 

Dexter Booth 

Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair 

Paul Morris, Co-Chair 

Sylvester Smith 

 

      DATE: January 6, 2021 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Notice(s) which may apply to your claim 

 

(1) A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal 

with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that 

party then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of 

Appeal with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1)(B)(ii). A decision of the Claims 

Commission may only be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(3). 

 

(2) If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40) 

days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a). Note: This 

does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements. 

 

(3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval 

and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b). 
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