Call to Order

ADMINISTRATIVE RULES SUBCOMMITTEE
OF THE
ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Thursday, October 20, 2022
1:30 p.m.
Room A, MAC
Little Rock, Arkansas

Reports from the Executive Subcommittee Concerning Emergency Rules

Reports from ALC Subcommittees Concerning the Review of Rules

Rules Filed Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 10-3-309

1. ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, STATE

HIGHWAY COMMISSION (Gill Rogers)

a.

SUBJECT: Permits for Overweight Vehicles Carrying Forestry
Equipment

DESCRIPTION: In 2021, the 93rd General Assembly of the State of
Arkansas enacted Act 451 during the Regular Session, which amended the
law concerning issuance of permits for certain overweight vehicles. Act
451 authorized the issuance of a new permit valid for one year authorizing
the movement of a truck tractor and single semi-trailer combination with
five axles hauling forestry equipment that exceeds the maximum gross
weight as provided in Ark. Code Ann. § 27-35-203, but, do not exceed
20,000 pounds for a single axle, or 46,000 pounds for a tandem axle, and a
total gross weight of 104,000 pounds.

Due to the enactment of Act 451, an amendment to the existing Permit
Rules for the Movement of Oversize and Overweight Vehicles on the State
Highway System is needed. The proposed Rule 21 is a new rule which sets
forth the requirements for issuance of an annual permit for the movement
of overweight forestry equipment.

This change in the law is to provide an alternative to single trip permits or
six-day permits for owners and operators of forestry equipment when
gross vehicle weight exceeds the allowable limits. The timber industry
requested an annual permit be developed, allowing them to move their
equipment from one jobsite to the next as conditions and scheduling



warranted, as opposed to obtaining a permit for each move. Since single
trip and six-day permits are typically requested in advance, the forestry
industry found it difficult to obtain permits in a timely manner when deep
in the woods where they had limited to no cellular service. In addition,
there were times when a permit had been issued, and the equipment would
make it to the new location, and it was determined that conditions were
such that forestry operations could not be performed. At that point, it
would be incumbent on them to obtain yet another permit, creating delays
and increasing expense.

To establish the annual permits required by Act 451, Department staff met
with the bill sponsors as well as representatives of the timber industry on
multiple occasions and developed the proposed rules. The parties involved
in these meetings have identified five “Timber Zones” for the purpose of
maximizing movement of the permitted vehicles while minimizing their
impact. Under these rules, the permit holder is required to familiarize
themselves with weight restricted highways and bridges. Additionally, the
permits can be revoked for failing to comply with the terms of the permit.

PUBLIC COMMENT: A public hearing was held on September 2,
2022. The public comment expired on September 2, 2022. The agency
received no comments.

Suba Desikan, an attorney for the Bureau of Legislative Research, asked
the following questions and received the following responses thereto:

1. Act 451 states that the fee for the special permit shall not exceed $250.
The rule appears to have a five-zone map, and appears to propose an
annual fee of $250 for each single zone and an additional $125 for an
additional contiguous zone, when it is requested in the initial permit
application. Could you please explain or provide authority for additional
fee for the contiguous zone? RESPONSE: One of the primary concerns
in allowing overweight loads onto state highways is the impact of the
loads to the highway system. In discussing this concern with
Representative Wardlaw and stakeholders it was understood that, although
the permit would now be for a twelve-month period, unlimited travel
throughout the state could be of concern. Throughout Arkansas there are
highways and bridges that are posted for reduced loads, and most of the
logging companies are familiar with highways and bridges in their area
and any corresponding weight limits. So, geographic boundaries were set
to limit the applicability of the permits to what would be considered areas
known to the permit applicants. Most of those receiving permits will be
operating primarily within one zone, relative to the mill or mills they
deliver to, and as a result statewide access is not necessary.



In addition, when the permits are issued, they will be issued with a list of
relevant weight restricted roads and bridges attached. It was proposed that
having zones would make that information more useful, as it would relate
only to areas in which the permittees would be operating, as opposed to
listing all restricted routes statewide. Having an easier to read, shorter, list
makes it more likely that it will be utilized, and easier to plan routes for
the movement of equipment.

2. Why did the agency choose to make a distinction between contiguous
and non-contiguous zones in terms of fees? RESPONSE: As noted
above, we were advised that most of the logging companies that would be
seeking this type of permit operate in a limited geographic area, and that
some have operations that will, from time to time, require travel into a
different but adjacent area. We had initially planned to charge a fee of
$250 for each zone for which a permit was issued, and at the request of the
bill sponsor and stakeholders created the reduced fee permit for additional
zones. Each zone will have its own permit, and its own, more condensed,
listing of restricted roads and bridges.

3. The rule states that “An additional contiguous zone may be permitted
for an additional [$125] when requested in the initial permit application.”
(a) Can a business request more than one additional contiguous zone in
the initial application to take advantage of the reduced cost?
RESPONSE: We were advised that the companies that would be seeking
permits would be operating primarily regionally, and most would need a
permit for only a single zone. We were also asked to provide a reduced fee
for an attached zone, as some may need to work in more than one. By
working with the stakeholders and the bill’s sponsor it was provided in
order to allow a reduced fee for those that may need it, as opposed to an
effort to attempt to restrict access.

(b) If a business needed all 5 zones, what would be the total cost of the
annual permit?

RESPONSE: The cost to a business to obtain permits for each zone
would be $1,000.00. This would be a permit for two primary zones each
with a contiguous zone permit for ($250 + $125) + ($250 + $125) = $§750,
and one more primary zone permit.

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval.

FINANCIAL IMPACT: The agency indicated that the proposed rules
have a financial impact. The agency estimated a varied impact for the
current fiscal year and a $250 cost for the next fiscal year to individuals,
entities and businesses subject to the proposed rule. The agency explained
that currently, a permit is needed for each piece of equipment when
moved, potentially costing the transporter in excess of the annual permit
fee of $250. The agency stated that the new permit would likely result in




overall reduction in permit expense, while saving time and creating other
efficiencies.

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION: This rule implements Act 451 of 2021,
sponsored by Representative Jeff Wardlaw, which authorized the issuance
of a special permit by the State Highway Commission to transport forestry
equipment. Pursuant to the Act, upon application, the commission may
issue a special permit valid for one (1) year for the movement of a truck
tractor and single semitrailer combination with five (5) axles for the
hauling of forestry equipment in excess of the maximum gross weight as
provided in Ark. Code Ann. § 27-35-203 but not more than: (A) Twenty
thousand pounds (20,000 lbs.) for a single axle, or forty-six thousand
pounds (46,000 Ibs.) for a tandem axle; and (B) One hundred four
thousand pounds (104,000 Ibs.) of total gross weight. See Ark. Code Ann.
§ 27-35-210(r)(1). The fee for the special permit shall not exceed two
hundred fifty dollars ($250). See Ark. Code Ann. § 27-35-210(r)(2). The
Arkansas Department of Transportation shall adopt rules necessary for
implementation, including without limitation the criteria required to
qualify for the issuance of a special permit. See Ark. Code Ann. § 27-35-
210(r)(3).

2. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION, DIVISION OF ELEMENTARY AND

SECONDARY EDUCATION (Cristy Park)

a.

SUBJECT: Rules Governing Nutrition and Physical Activity
Standards and Body Mass Index for Age Assessment Protocols in
Arkansas Public Schools

DESCRIPTION: The Department of Education, Division of Elementary
and Secondary Education (“DESE”), proposes amendments to its Rules
Governing Nutrition and Physical Activity Standards and Body Mass
Index for Age Assessment Protocols in Arkansas Public Schools, pursuant
to the following Acts:

Act 1070 requires schools offering vending machines to grades 7-12 to
have in-school access to vending machines offering food and beverages
that meet the nutrition standard of the Smart Snacks in School program
and ensure that there are not restrictions regarding the times such vending
machines are powered on or off.

Act 1074 is the Healthy Active Arkansas School Act, which requires
public schools to address opportunities for physical activity, promoting
public school gardens, nutritional standards, access to healthy foods,
physical education, and breastfeeding in its health and wellness priorities.



In amending the rules to incorporate these Acts, DESE also cleaned up the
rules by removing outdated language, adding clarification where
necessary, reorganizing sections, ensuring consistent language/acronyms,
and removing unnecessary federal citations and language. The definitions
section was updated to add new terms from the above-mentioned Acts, as
well as Ark. Code Ann. § 6-16-102, make the definition of “school day”
(regarding start time) match the federal definition, replace terms that are
no longer used with the current terms, and add clarification and
consistency in the language.

Following public comment, only non-substantive clarifying and technical
changes were made.

PUBLIC COMMENT: A public hearing was held on June 30, 2022.
The public comment period expired on July 19, 2022. The Division
provided the following summary of the comments that it received and its
responses thereto:

Commenter Name: April Babberl, Arkansas School for the Blind and
Visually Impaired

Comment: Good morning, I was a substitute teacher for many years and
in the upper grades in PE the students were sitting around on their phones
the whole class time. The coaches are not making them exercise. There
are several reasons. First it is a losing battle to get students to dress out
during a school day. Forget showers! Second, unless they are in band or a
sport they don’t sweat. 1 would suggest that any student not in a sport take
a gym class at the end of the school day so they can go home sweaty. It
would be worth hiring an aerobics instructor or karate sensei to come in
and teach one class with a school employ perhaps or something like that.
Response: Hiring an aerobics instructor, karate sensei, or something
similar is allowable and within Arkansas law and ADE rules but are at the
autonomy of the school district to implement. Comments considered. No
changes made.

Commenter Name: Becky Dean, Mountainburg Public Schools

Comment: 6.06.3 Compile the results of the School Health Index and
develop goals and objectives that are included in the Health & Wellness
School Improvement Plan for the 2022-2023 school year, the following
priority areas shall be included in the public school and open-enrollment
public charter school’s health and wellness plan: 6.06.3.1 Physical and
Built Environment; 6.06.3.2 Nutrition Standards; 6.06.3.3 Physical
Education and Activity Standards; 6.06.3.4 Breastfeeding Education and
Practices. May I ask WHY Breastfeeding Education and Practices are to
be taught? When and if a student has a baby, a nurse and lactation



consultant will be at the hospital to teach the young mother the importance
of and how to breastfeed. If this is instituted, I believe there should be
very concise and specific rules as to who, when, and how this should be
taught. I really do not understand why this falls under a school’s umbrella
of education. Response: Act 1074 of 2021 requires the Division of
Elementary and Secondary Education, in consultation with Arkansas
Department of Health, to develop guidance for public schools and open-
enrollment public charter schools to address and require certain priorities,
including breastfeeding practices, to be included in the public school’s
health and wellness priorities. Comments considered. No changes made.

Commenter Name: Lucas Harder, Arkansas School Boards Association

Comment: 6.06.2: “Division of Elementary and Secondary Education”
could be abbreviated to “DESE” here. Response: Comments considered.
Non-substantive change made.

Jason Kearney, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, asked
the following questions:

(1) Section 5.01 — Is there a reason that this section references
“regulations,” in light of Act 315 0f 2019, § 3204? RESPONSE: Thank
you for bringing this to my attention. We will remove “and regulations.”

(2) Section 3.33 — Is there a reason why the definition for “School Day” in
the proposed rules is different from the definition of “school day” as it
appears in Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-16-102(a)(1)(A)? RESPONSE:
Yes. Here, we needed to define the school days in terms of when it begins
and ends which is surprisingly not addressed in 6-16-102.

(3) Section 6.06.2 — Should “Division of Elementary and Secondary
Education” in this subsection instead say “DESE”? RESPONSE: Yes.
We will make that change.

(4) Sections 3.24 and 6.07 — Is the “Local Wellness Policy” defined in
Section 3.24 the same as “The Wellness Policy” contemplated in sub-
section 6.07? RESPONSE: Yes; they are the same, but they should both
actually be “Local School Wellness Policy.” We will change it so that
both 3.24 and 6.07 say “Local School Wellness Policy.”

(5) Did the Division consult the Child Health Advisory Committee and the
State Board of Health in amending these rules? RESPONSE: Yes. We
presented the changes to the CHAC at their monthly meeting on
5/19/2022. There are several representatives from the Dept. of Health
who are on the CHAC and were present on 5/19/2022. We went through



the Rules together line by line and incorporated additional changes at their
request.

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval.

FINANCIAL IMPACT: The Division states that the proposed rules have
no financial impact.

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION: Pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated

§ 20-7-135(a), the State Board of Education, after having consulted the
Child Health Advisory Committee and the State Board of Health, shall
promulgate appropriate rules to ensure that nutrition and physical activity
standards and body mass index for age assessment protocols are
implemented to provide students with the skills, opportunities, and
encouragement to adopt healthy lifestyles. The proposed changes include
those made in light of Act 1070 of 2021, sponsored by Representatives
David Tollett and Keith Brooks, which allowed students in certain grades
in-school access to vending machines offering food and beverages that
meet nutritional standards of the Federal Smart Snacks in School Program,;
and Act 1074 of 2021, sponsored by Representative Mary Bentley, which
created the Healthy Active Arkansas Schools Act.

3. DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION, ARKANSAS

TOBACCO CONTROL BOARD (Greg Sled)

a.

SUBJECT: Online Cigar Sales and Delivery, Section 4

DESCRIPTION: The purpose of these proposed rule amendments is to
add rule language regarding online sales of cigars and related safe
measures to prevent online sales and shipping to minors in light of both
Act 940 of 2021 and Ark. Code Ann. § 5-27-227 (Sales to Minors).

Background

After filing the proposed rules pursuant to Arkansas law, Public Notice
was published on Sunday, March 13, 2022 through Tuesday, March 15,
2022 in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette. Publication of that notice began
the public comment period. ATC also posted the Public Notice with the
Arkansas Secretary of State and on the ATC website. A public comment
period hearing was held on April 14, 2022. The public comment period
closed April 14, 2022.

Just prior to the April 14, 2022 public comment period hearing, ATC staff
received two (2) verbal objections/comments to the proposed rule
amendments pertaining to online cigar rules (Sections 4.3 through 4.9) via



telephone. In response to these comments, the ATC Board approved the
pulling of the sections of the proposed rules pertaining to online cigar
sales, Sections 4.3 through 4.9, for further review and later promulgation.
Since the April 14, 2022 ATC Board meeting, ATC staff has met with,
discussed with, or sent the amended rules (Sections 4.3 through 4.9) for
review to interested parties, including the two (2) verbal
objectors/commenters.

Rule Summary

The changes to Section 4 update the retail permit language regarding
online sales of cigars and related safe measures to prevent online sales and
shipping to minors. Sections 4.3 through 4.9 were added in light of Act
940 of 2021 and A.C.A. § 5-27-227 (Sales to Minors).

Act 940 of 2021 amends the definition of “Retailer” under A.C.A. § 26-
57-203(27), concerning the definitions used under the Arkansas Tobacco
Products Act of 1977, to include and authorize permitted Arkansas-based
cigar retailers to sell cigars online to customers inside and outside the
State of Arkansas.

A.C.A. § 5-27-227 prohibits anyone from giving, bartering, or selling to a
minor (a person under the age of 21) tobacco in any form, cigarette paper,
vapor products, alternative nicotine products, e-liquid products, and any
component of a vapor product, alternative nicotine product, or e-liquid
product.

PUBLIC COMMENT: An initial public hearing was held on this rule on
April 14, 2022. The first public comment period expired on April 14,
2022. The agency provided the following summary of the public
comments it received during the first public comment period:

Commenter’s Name: Mr. Brian Waters, Open Door Cigars, LLC.

COMMENT: Mr. Waters expressed concern with the online cigar sales
portion of the proposed rule amendments, as drafted. In particular, Mr.
Waters was concerned that Section 4.5, “Requirements for accepting order
for delivery sale,” and Section 4.6, “Requirements for shipping a delivery
sale,” placed a burden on Arkansas retailers that may not be equally
placed upon non-Arkansas businesses or even other industries. Mr.
Waters requested additional time to work with Arkansas Tobacco Control
in addressing his concerns.



Commenter’s Name: Arkansas State Representative Les Eaves.

COMMENT: An Arkansas State Representative expressed concern with
the online cigar sales portion of the proposed rule amendments, as drafted.
In particular, the Arkansas State Representative was concerned that
Section 4.5, “Requirements for accepting order for delivery sale,” and
Section 4.6, “Requirements for shipping a delivery sale,” placed a burden
on Arkansas retailers that may not be equally placed upon non-Arkansas
businesses or even other industries and wanted to ensure the privacy of
Arkansas consumers was adequately protected during the age verification
process. The Arkansas State Representative requested additional time to
work with Arkansas Tobacco Control in addressing their concerns,
including the concerns of any constituent.

In response to these comments, the agency pulled the sections of the
proposed rules pertaining to online cigar sales, Sections 4.3 through 4.9,
for further review and later promulgation. On April 14, 2022, the ATC
Board reviewed and approved the proposed rules without Sections 4.3
through 4.9, and the Administrative Rules Subcommittee did the same on
May 18, 2022.

After additional changes prompted by public comment, a second public
hearing was held on Sections 4.3 through 4.9 of the rules on September 8,
2022. The second public comment period expired on September 8§, 2022.
The agency indicated that it did not receive any public comments during
the second public comment period.

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval.

FINANCIAL IMPACT: The agency indicated that this rule has a
financial impact and provided the following explanation:

The proposed rules require age verification upon delivery of cigars.
ATC acknowledges that some common carriers may charge for age
verification delivery; however, ATC is unable to determine a total
estimated cost by fiscal year to any private individual, entity or
business because of unknown variables such as number of
participants, common carrier pricing, and what participants
actually pay, if anything. Implementing the proposed rules is not
expected to increase costs to state, county, and municipal
government.

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION: The Tobacco Control Board is tasked
with promulgation of “rules for the proper enforcement and
implementation of” the Arkansas Tobacco Products Tax Act of 1977 and
the Unfair Cigarette Sales Act. Ark. Code Ann. § 26-57-256(a)(1). “The




board may levy a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed five thousand
dollars for each violation against a person found to be in violation of . . .
the rules promulgated by Arkansas Tobacco Control.” Ark. Code Ann.

§ 26-57-255(g)(3)(C). These rules implement Act 940 of 2021, sponsored
by Senator Bart Hester, which permitted Arkansas-based cigar shops to
sell cigars at retail online.

4. DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF DENTAL

EXAMINERS (Matt Gilmore, Meredith Rogers)

a.

SUBJECT: Pre-Licensure Criminal Background Check

DESCRIPTION: The Arkansas State Board of Dental Examiners seeks
legislative review and approval of proposed amendments to its rule
concerning pre-licensure criminal background checks. The proposed
amendment:

¢ Removes the reference to “permanently disqualifying offenses” as
required by Act 748.

e Removes from the rule the form entitled “Pre-Licensure Criminal
Background Check Petition.” This document is merely a form, and
the Board would like to be able to make changes as necessary
without going through the rule promulgation process.

PUBLIC COMMENT: A public hearing was not held in this matter.
The public comment period expired on July 26, 2022. The agency
indicated that it received no comments.

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval.

FINANCIAL IMPACT: The agency indicated that the amended rules do
not have a financial impact.

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION: The Arkansas State Board of Dental
Examiners has authority to promulgate rules in order to carry out the intent
and purposes of Title 17, Chapter 82 of the Arkansas Code concerning
dentists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants. See Ark Code Ann. § 17-
82-208(a). The amended rule implements Act 748 of 2021, sponsored by
Representative Bruce Cozart, which amended occupational criminal
background checks.

SUBJECT: Adverse Events Reporting

DESCRIPTION: The Arkansas State Board of Dental Examiners seeks
legislative review and approval of proposed rules concerning adverse
events reporting. Because a function of the board is to protect Arkansas
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citizens, it deemed it important to be made known if a morbidity or
mortality incident occurs as a result of a dental procedure. The proposed
rule:
e Requires a dentist to file a morbidity report within 30 days of the
incident or event; and
e Requires a dentist to file a mortality report within 5 days after the

occurrence of the death, or such time as the dentist becomes aware
of the death.

PUBLIC COMMENT: A public hearing was not held in this matter.
The public comment period expired on July 26, 2022. The agency
indicated that it received no comments.

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval.

FINANCIAL IMPACT: The agency indicated that the proposed rule
does not have a financial impact.

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION: The Arkansas State Board of Dental
Examiners has authority to promulgate rules in order to carry out the intent
and purposes of Title 17, Chapter 82 of the Arkansas Code concerning

dentists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants. See Ark Code Ann. § 17-
82-208(a).

S. DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES, DIVISION OF CHILDREN

AND FAMILY SERVICES (Christin Harper)

a.

SUBJECT: Support Payments to Provisional Resource Parents

DESCRIPTION:

Statement of Necessity

This rule revision is necessary to allow the Division of Children and
Family Services to provide needed support payments to relative and fictive
kin resource homes that are opened on a provisional basis and, therefore,
are not yet eligible for a full board maintenance payment.

Rule Summary

These amendments establish a rule to allow relative and fictive kin
resource parents that are approved on a provisional basis to receive a
support payment to help defray the cost of caring for the children placed in
their homes. Relative and fictive kin resource homes allow the Division to
safely expedite the placement of children in foster care with a relative or
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fictive kin they already know in an effort to reduce the amount of trauma a
child experiences when entering foster care. Since these homes have not
yet met all resource home requirements, they are not yet eligible for a full
board payment. The support payment of $240 per child placed in the
home is less than that of a board payment but will still provide needed
financial support to provisional resource parents who have stepped up to
care for their relative and fictive kin children who have entered foster care.

PUBLIC COMMENT: No public hearing was held on this proposed
rule. The public comment period expired on August 29, 2022. The
agency indicated that it received no public comments.

This rule was filed on an emergency basis and was reviewed and approved
by the Executive Subcommittee on July 20, 2022. The proposed effective
date for permanent promulgation is November 29, 2022.

FINANCIAL IMPACT: The agency indicated that this rule has a
financial impact.

Per the agency, the total estimated cost to implement this rule is
$1,668,000 for the current fiscal year (all in general revenue) and
$3,794,700 for the next fiscal year (all in general revenue). The total
estimated cost by fiscal year to state, county, and municipal government to
implement this rule is $1,668,000 for the current fiscal year and
$3,794,700 for the next fiscal year.

The agency indicated that there is a new or increased cost or obligation of
at least $100,000 per year to a private individual, private entity, private
business, state government, county government, municipal government, or
to two or more of those entities combined. Accordingly, the agency
provided the following written findings:

(1) a statement of the rule’s basis and purpose;

This rule revision is necessary to allow the Division of Children and
Family Services to provide needed support payments to relative and fictive
kin resource homes that are opened on a provisional basis and, therefore,
are not currently eligible for a full maintenance payment.

(2) the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule,
including a statement of whether a rule is required by statute;

This rule is not required by statute. With rising costs of food, gasoline,
and other necessities, this support payment will be critical to ensuring
relatives and fictive kin can continue adequately providing for the health
and well-being of the children placed in their homes. This support
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payment will also prevent provisional resource parents from requesting
DCEFS to move the children to another placement — which would further
jeopardize the children’s well-being — due to the financial strain of having
additional household members.

(3) a description of the factual evidence that:

(a) justifies the agency’s need for the proposed rule; and

(b) describes how the benefits of the rule meet the relevant statutory
objectives and justify the rule’s costs,

There are currently over 4,500 children in foster care and only slightly
over 1,700 resource homes in the state. Relative and fictive kin resource
homes that open for specific children when they enter foster care are
critical to ensuring safe and stable placements for children in foster care
considering the relative dearth of existing resource homes statewide.
Further, the Division wants to ensure ample support for relatives and
fictive kin who step up to care for their kin in foster care as research
shows that children who are placed with relatives and fictive kin have
increased placement stability, better permanency outcomes, and
experience less maltreatment while in foster care. With rising inflation
costs, the Division has received additional requests from provisional
resource parents to assist with the cost of helping to care for the children
placed in their homes.

(4) a list of less costly alternatives to the proposed rule and the reasons
why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved
by the proposed rule;

The less costly alternative would be not to provide a support payment, or a
support payment at a lesser amount, which would not adequately address
the issue at hand in terms of securing financial support for relative and
fictive kin resource parents to help them defray the costs of caring for
additional household members.

(5) a list of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a
result of public comment and the reasons why the alternatives do not
adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;

N/A.

(6) a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the
problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule and, if
existing rules have created or contributed to the problem, an explanation
of why amendment or repeal of the rule creating or contributing to the
problem is not a sufficient response, and
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Existing rule and law do not allow a full board payment to relative and
fictive kin resource homes opened on a provisional basis. The purpose of
this proposed rule is, in fact, to amend the rule contributing to the problem
by establishing a smaller support payment in lieu of a full board payment.

(7) an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten (10) years
to determine whether, based upon the evidence, there remains a need for
the rule including, without limitation, whether:

(a) the rule is achieving the statutory objectives;

(b) the benefits of the rule continue to justify its costs,; and

(c) the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while continuing
to achieve the statutory objectives.

The agency has an existing rule requiring review of its board payment
amounts every five (5) years to assure continued appropriateness (see
DCEFS Policy VII-M: Financial Support to Foster Parents). This support
payment, as it is also financial assistance to resource parents, will also be
reviewed every five (5) years to determine whether, based upon the
evidence, there remains a need for the rules including whether the rule is
achieving statutory objectives and whether the benefits of the rule
continue to justify the cost.

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION: The Department of Human Services,
Division of Children and Family Services has the responsibility to
“provide services to dependent-neglected children and their families;”
“ensure child placements support the goal of permanency for children
when the division is responsible for the placement and care of a child; and
ensure the health, safety, and well-being of children when the division is
responsible for the placement and care of a child.” Ark. Code Ann. § 9-
28-103(a)(2), (6)-(7). The Division may promulgate rules as necessary to
administer Title 9, Chapter 28, Subchapter 1 of the Arkansas Code,
regarding children and family services.

Per the agency, “this rule will allow DCFS to provide needed support
payments to relative and fictive kin resource homes that are opened on a
provisional basis and, therefore, are not eligible for a full board payment.”
Under Arkansas law, a relative or fictive kin who opens a home as a
provisional foster home shall not be paid a board payment until the home
“meets all of the foster home requirements” and “is opened as a regular
foster home.” Ark. Code Ann. § 9-28-108(c)(4)(B)(i1). The agency stated
that this rule establishes “a smaller support payment in lieu of a full board
payment.” The agency provided the following explanation:

With rising costs of food, gasoline, and other necessities, this

support payment will be critical to ensuring relatives and fictive
kin can continue adequately providing for the health and well-

14



being of the children placed in their homes. This support payment
will also prevent provisional resource parents from requesting
DCEFS to move the children to another placement—which would
further jeopardize the children’s well-being—due to the financial
strain of having additional household members.

6. DEPARTMENT OF PARKS., HERITAGE, AND TOURISM, STATE

PARKS DIVISION (Leslie Fisken, Jeff King)

a.

SUBJECT: Smoking, Tobacco, Electronic Cigarette Policy at
Arkansas State Parks

DESCRIPTION: The purpose of the proposed amendment to the rule is
to provide for the public health and safety, preservation of State Parks, and
the prevention of triggering of smoke/fire alarm/vapor sensitive systems.
The proposed amendments to the rule:

1. provide that smoking inside any Arkansas State Park building is
prohibited;

2. eliminate the exceptions to the prohibition in open picnic pavilions
and on patios and screened-in porches of rental cabins;

3. extend the prohibition of smoking, tobacco, and electronic
cigarette use to include the boundaries of public beaches and on
the Crater of Diamonds minefield; and

4. provide that State Park superintendents may establish smoking
areas for employees and guests away from building entrances and
primary use areas.

PUBLIC COMMENT: A public hearing was not held in this matter.
The public comment period expired on August 25, 2022. The agency
received no comments.

The proposed effective date is October 31, 2022.

FINANCIAL IMPACT: The agency indicated that the amended rules do
not have a financial impact.

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION: All parks and recreational areas acquired
by the state shall constitute the state parks system and shall be under the
immediate control and management of the State Parks, Recreation, and
Travel Commission. See Ark. Code Ann. § 22-4-102. The State Parks,
Recreation, and Travel Commission may establish and alter rules
governing the use and protection of the state parks system and the property
thereon and to preserve the peace therein. See Ark. Code Ann. § 22-4-
104. The State Parks, Recreation, and Travel Commission shall, for the
purpose of regulating its own procedure and carrying out its functions,
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have the authority from time to time to make, amend, and enforce all
reasonable rules not inconsistent with law which will aid in the
performance of any of the functions, powers, or duties conferred or
imposed upon it by law. See Ark. Code Ann. § 15-11-206(a)(2). The
administrative functions of the State Parks, Recreation, and Travel
Commission were transferred to the Department of Parks, Heritage, and
Tourism. See Ark. Code Ann. § 25-43-1302(a)(21).

SUBJECT: Rappelling and Rock Climbing in Arkansas State Parks

DESCRIPTION: The purpose of the proposed amendment to the rule is
to provide for responsible management of rock climbing in State Parks,
while preserving the natural resources in which climbing occurs. The
proposed amendment establishes that rock climbing and rappelling on
state park property will only be permitted at approved sites. The
amendment also allows for bouldering and installation of fixed hardware,
which were previously prohibited in State Parks.

PUBLIC COMMENT: A public hearing was not held in this matter.
The public comment period expired on August 25, 2022. The agency
received no comments.

Suba Desikan, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, asked
the following questions and received the following responses thereto:

1. Are climbers going to place the fixed hardware or is the Department
going to do so? RESPONSE: Climbers in conjunction with volunteer
organizations (e.g. Arkansas Climbers Coalition).

2. If climbers are placing the fixed hardware, are they required to obtain
the Department’s permission to do so? RESPONSE: Yes.

3. Who will bear the cost for placement of the fixed hardware?
RESPONSE: Climbers in conjunction with volunteer organizations (e.g.
Arkansas Climbers Coalition).

4. Are climbers who install fixed hardware also responsible for removal
of the fixed hardware after use? RESPONSE: The installations will be
semi-permanent, with inspections performed by volunteer organizations
(e.g. Arkansas Climbers Coalition).

5. If fixed hardware is left behind, who is responsible for removal or
maintenance, and costs associated with both options? RESPONSE: The
installations will be semi-permanent, with inspections performed by
volunteer organizations (e.g. Arkansas Climbers Coalition).
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6. Is the agency promulgating the checklist and release in addition to the
park directive? RESPONSE: Yes.

The proposed effective date is October 31, 2022.

FINANCIAL IMPACT: The agency indicated that the amended rules do
not have a financial impact.

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION: All parks and recreational areas acquired
by the state shall constitute the state parks system and shall be under the
immediate control and management of the State Parks, Recreation, and
Travel Commission. See Ark. Code Ann. § 22-4-102. The State Parks,
Recreation, and Travel Commission may establish and alter rules
governing the use and protection of the state parks system and the property
thereon and to preserve the peace therein. See Ark. Code Ann. § 22-4-
104. The State Parks, Recreation, and Travel Commission shall, for the
purpose of regulating its own procedure and carrying out its functions,
have the authority from time to time to make, amend, and enforce all
reasonable rules not inconsistent with law which will aid in the
performance of any of the functions, powers, or duties conferred or
imposed upon it by law. See Ark. Code Ann. § 15-11-206(a)(2). The
administrative functions of the State Parks, Recreation, and Travel
Commission were transferred to the Department of Parks, Heritage, and
Tourism. See Ark. Code Ann. § 25-43-1302(a)(21).

E. Agency Updates on the Status of Outstanding Rulemaking Pursuant to Act 595 of

2021!
1.

2.

5.

6.

Arkansas Department of Transportation, Arkansas Highway Commission*
Department of Agriculture

Department of Education

Department of Health, Division of Health-Related Boards

Department of Health, State Board of Health

Office of Arkansas Lottery

F. Monthly Written Agency Updates Pursuant to Act 595 of 2021

G. Agency Update on Rulemaking Delayed by Litigation That Has Now Been Resolved

! For those items designated by an asterisk (“*”), no update may be required depending on the action taken by the
Subcommittee with respect to that agency’s rules under Item D.
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H.

Adjournment
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