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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

SUBJECT:  Rules for Orthotic, Prosthetic, and Pedorthic Providers 

DESCRIPTION: 

Background 

Pursuant to A.C.A. § 17-107-101 et seq., the Department has authority to promulgate the 

Rules for Orthotic, Prosthetic, and Pedorthic Providers in Arkansas. These rules protect 

the health and safety of individuals receiving orthotic, prosthetic, or pedorthic services in 

Arkansas. 

Key Points 

The proposed rule: 

 Updates licensure requirements.

 Makes changes to comply with Acts 135, 445, 725 and 881 of 2021.

Discussion 

The Rules for Orthotic, Prosthetic, and Pedorthic Providers in Arkansas are duly adopted 

and promulgated by the Arkansas Board of Health pursuant to the authority expressly 

conferred by the laws of the State of Arkansas including, without limitation, the Arkansas 

Orthotics, Prosthetics, and Pedorthics Practice Act, specifically Ark. Code Ann. § 17-

107-101 et seq. 

There were four legislative acts – Act 135, Act 445, Act 725 and Act 811 – which 

required modification to the Rules for Orthotic, Prosthetic, and Pedorthic Providers in 

Arkansas. 

The following changes are proposed: 

 Modification for the automatic licensure requirements for uniformed service

members for Act 135.

 Modifies the licensure requirements for Orthotic Assistants, Orthotic Prosthetic

Assistants and Prosthetic Assistants from Act 445.

 Provision of waiver of initial fees associated with professional and occupational

license for Act 725.

 Allows individuals to work and earn a paycheck while also fulfilling licensing

requirements for Act 811.

PUBLIC COMMENT: No public hearing was held on this proposed rule.  The public 

comment period expired on March 2, 2022.  The agency indicated that it received no 

public comments. 

EXHIBIT L
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Lacey Johnson, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, asked the following 

questions and received the following responses: 

 

1. Section 6.D.3 requires an applicant for certification to practice as an assistant to have 

2 years’ experience in the field “as an assistant.”  Is this language mistakenly carried 

over from Act 445’s phrasing “the field in which the individual is seeking licensure as 

an assistant,” or must the applicant have experience as an assistant to receive a license 

to practice as an assistant?  RESPONSE: Applicant required to have minimum 3 

years of experience in the field in which the person is seeking license as an assistant 

or 2 years’ experience in the field of orthotics and/or prosthetics as an assistant and 

has a minimum of 3 semester hours of higher learning.  Revisions for OPP Section 6 

attached. 

 

2. Section 6.G.2 defines apprenticeship as a program that meets the federal guidelines as 

existing on 3/1/2021 and is approved by the U.S. Office of Apprenticeship.  Act 811 

defines apprenticeship as a program that meets the federal guidelines as existing on 

3/1/2021 “and existing programs currently implementing work requirements as 

approved by the United States Office of Apprenticeship as meeting the requirements 

of an apprenticeship.”  Is it the Department’s position that U.S. Office of 

Apprenticeship approval is a separate requirement and not an alternative means of 

meeting the Act’s definition?  RESPONSE: Correct. No revisions needed. 

 

3. Section 6.G.2.b requires documentation that a program meets the federal 

requirements and has approval by the U.S. Office of Apprenticeship or the Arkansas 

Department of Workforce Services.  Why is the Department of Workforce Services 

included here but not in the definition of apprenticeship?  RESPONSE: It is our 

understanding that some state entities act as the approving arm for the U.S. Office of 

Apprenticeship. It is also our understanding that DWS is that entity in Arkansas. We 

wanted flexibility in receipt of documentation approving the apprenticeship program. 

 

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency indicated that this rule has no financial impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The State Board of Health has the authority to 

promulgate rules prescribing “[p]rocedures for the issuance, renewal, inactivation, 

restoration, suspension, and revocation of a license or certification” for an orthotist, 

pedorthist, or prosthetist.  Ark. Code Ann. § 17-107-204(a)(1).  These proposed rules 

implement Acts 135, 445, 725, and 811 of 2021. 

 

Act 135, sponsored by Senator Ricky Hill, established the Arkansas Occupational 

Licensing of Uniformed Service Members, Veterans, and Spouses Act of 2021.  Under 

the Act, “[a]n occupational licensing entity shall grant automatic occupational licensure 

to” certain specified individuals.  See Ark. Code Ann. § 17-4-105, as created by Act 135. 
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Act 445, sponsored by Senator Missy Irvin, modified the application process for 

certification to practice as an orthotic assistant, orthotic/prosthetic assistant, or prosthetic 

assistant. 

 

Act 725, sponsored by Senator Ben Gilmore, created the Workforce Expansion Act of 

2021 and required waiver of initial occupational and professional licensure fees for 

certain individuals. The Act required licensing entities to promulgate rules as necessary 

for the Act’s implementation.  See Ark. Code Ann. § 17-5-105(2). 

 

Act 811, sponsored by Representative Joshua Bryant, created the Earn and Learn Act and 

allowed individuals to work and earn a paycheck while also fulfilling licensing 

requirements and gaining the skills to fill the needs of an expanding workforce.  

Temporary language contained within the Act required all licensing entities covered by 

the Act to promulgate rules as necessary for its implementation.  See Act 811, § 2. 
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SECTION 1: AUTHORITY.

These Rules are promulgated under the authority of the Arkansas Orthotics, Prosthetics and 
Pedorthics Practice Act of 2007, Ark. Code Ann. § 17-107-101 et seq., as amended.
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SECTION 2:  PURPOSE

In addition to the purposes provided by the Act, these Rules are promulgated to protect the 
health and safety of individuals receiving orthotic, prosthetic, or pedorthic services in Arkansas.
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SECTION 3: DEFINITIONS 
 

A. Act means the Arkansas Orthotics, Prosthetics and Pedorthics Practice Act of 
2007, as may be amended, and codified at Ark. Code Ann. § 17-107-101 et seq. 

 
B. Advisory Board or board means the Arkansas Orthotics, Prosthetics and 

Pedorthics Advisory Board. 
  

B.C. Automatic Licensure means granting the occupational licensure without 
an individual having met occupational licensure requirements provided 
under the Arkansas Code or by other provisions in these Rules. 

 
C.D. Board for Certification in Pedorthics has merged and is now known as the 

American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics, and Pedorthics, Inc. 
 

D.E. Automatic Licensure means granting the occupational licensure without an 
individual having met occupational licensure requirements provided by the rules of 
the occupational licensing entity. 

 
E.F. Board of Health means the Arkansas State Board of Health. 

 
F.G. Department means the Arkansas Department of Health. 

 
G.H. Custom Fabricated and Fitted Devices. 

 
1. Custom fabricated and fitted device means an orthosis, prosthesis, or pedorthic 

device which is fabricated to original measurements or a mold for use by a 
patient in accordance with a prescription from a health care practitioner 
authorized by law to write such prescriptions and which requires substantial 
clinical and technical judgment in its design and fitting. 

2. Custom fitted device means a prefabricated orthosis, prosthesis, or 
pedorthic device sized or modified for use by the patient in accordance with 
aprescription from a health care practitioner authorized by law to write  
such prescriptionsand which requires substantial clinical judgment and 
substantive alteration for appropriate use. 

3. Custom fabricated devices and custom fabricated and fitted devices must 
be dispensed by a licensed health care practitioner or by a person 
licensed under these rules in accordance with a prescription from a 
licensed health care practitioner. 

 
H.I. Off-the-shelf device means a prefabricated prosthesis or orthosis sized or modified 

for use by the patient in accordance with a prescription from a health care 
practitioner authorized by law to write such prescriptions and which does not require 
substantial clinical judgment and substantive alteration for appropriate use. 
1. The sale of over-the-counter and off-the-shelf devices by non-licensed 

persons is not prohibited by these   rules. 
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1.J. Orthosis means an external device that is: 

 
2.1. Intended to restore physiological function or cosmesis to a patient; and 

 
3.2. Custom-designed, fabricated, assembled, fitted, or adjusted for the patient 

using the device prior to or concurrent with the delivery of the device to 
the patient. 

 
4.3. Orthosis does not include a cane, crutch, corset, dental appliance, elastic 

hose, elastic support, fabric support, generic arch support, low- 
temperature plastic splint, soft cervical collar, truss, or other similar 
device that: 

 
a) Is carried in stock and sold without therapeutic modification by a 

corset shop, department store, drug store, surgical supply facility, or 
similar retail entity; and 

 
b) Has no significant impact on the neuromuscular, 

musculoskeletal, or neuromusculoskeletal functions of the body. 
 

K. Orthotics means the science and practice of providing or managing the provision of 
an orthosis based on clinical assessment, technical judgment, and an order from a 
healthcare practitioner authorized by law to write an order for an orthosis. 

 
L. Orthotic assistant means an individual who is licensed under this chapter to assist 

an orthotist or an orthotist/prosthetist with patient care services and fabrication of 
orthoses or pedorthic devices under the supervision of an orthotist or an 
orthotist/prosthetist. 

 
M. Orthotic education program means a course of instruction in orthotics: 

 
1. Accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education 

Programs; and 
 

2. Approved by the Advisory Board. 
 

N. Orthotic resident means an individual who has completed an orthotic education 
program and is continuing his or her clinical education in an orthotic residency 
program: 

 
1. Accredited by the National Commission on Orthotic and Prosthetic Education; 

and 
 

2. Approved by the Advisory Board. 
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O. Orthotic/prosthetic assistant means an individual who is licensed under this 
chapter to assist both an orthotist and a prosthetist with patient care services and 
fabrication of prostheses, orthoses, or pedorthic devices under the supervision of an 
orthotist, an orthotist/prosthetist, or a prosthetist as appropriate. 

 
P. Orthotist means an individual who is licensed under this chapter to practice 

orthotics and pedorthics. 
 

Q. Orthotist/prosthetist means an individual who is licensed to practice orthotics, 
pedorthics, and prosthetics. 

 
R. Over-the-Counter means a prefabricated, mass-produced device that is prepackaged 

and requires no professional advice or judgment in either size selection or use, 
including fabric or elastic supports, corsets, generic arch supports and elastic hoses. 

 
S. Pedorthic device means therapeutic footwear, foot orthoses for use at the ankle or 

below, or footwear modified for therapeutic purposes as ordered by a licensed health 
care practitioner authorized by law to write an order for a pedorthic device. 
“Pedorthic device” does not include: 

 
1. Nontherapeutic accommodative inlays or nontherapeutic accommodative 

footwear regardless of method of manufacture; 
 

2. Shoes modified or made for nontherapeutic purposes; 
 

3. Unmodified shoes; or 
 

4. Prefabricated foot care products; 
 

T. Pedorthic education program means a course of instruction in pedorthics: 
 

1. Accredited by the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics, 
and Pedorthics, Inc.; and 

 
2. Approved by the Advisory Board. 

 
U. Pedorthics means the science and practice of providing or managing the provision of 

a pedorthic device based on clinical assessment, technical judgment, and an order 
from a health care practitioner authorized by law to write an order for a pedorthic 
device; 

 
V. Pedorthist means an individual who is licensed under this chapter to practice 

pedorthics. 
 

W. Prefabricated device means a mass-produced device that: 
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1. Is prepackaged, carried in stock, and sold off the shelf or over the counter by a 
corset shop, department store, drug store, surgical supply facility, or similar 
retail entity; and 

 
2. Does not require clinical assessment, technical judgment, or therapeutic 

modification for appropriate use by the customer. 
 

3. “Prefabricated device” may include a cane, a crutch, a corset, an elastic hose, 
an elastic support, a fabric support, a generic arch support, a low-temperature 
plastic splint, a soft cervical collar, a truss, or other similar device. 

 
X. Prosthesis means an external device that is: 

 
1. Intended to replace an absent external body part for the purpose of restoring 

physiological function or cosmesis to a patient; and 
 

2. Custom-designed, fabricated, assembled, fitted, or adjusted for the patient 
using the device prior to or concurrent with being delivered to the patient. 

 
3. “Prosthesis” does not include an artificial eye, an artificial ear, a dental 

appliance, a cosmetic device, such as artificial eyelashes or wigs, an artificial 
facial device, or other device that does not have a significant impact on the 
neuromuscular, musculoskeletal, or neuromusculoskeletal functions of the 
body. 

 
Y. Prosthetic assistant means an individual who is licensed under this chapter to assist 

a prosthetist or orthotist/prosthetist with patient care services and fabrication of 
prostheses under the supervision of a prosthetist or an orthotist/prosthetist. 

 
Z. Prosthetic education program means a course of instruction in prosthetics: 

 
1. Accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education 

Programs; and 
 

2. Approved by the Advisory Board. 
 

AA. Prosthetic resident means an individual who has completed a prosthetic education 
program and is continuing his or her clinical education in a prosthetic residency 
program: 

 
1. Accredited by the National Commission on Orthotic and Prosthetic Education; 

and 
 

2. Approved by the Advisory Board. 
 

BB. Prosthetics means the science and practice of providing or managing the provision 
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of a prosthesis based on clinical assessment, technical judgment, and an order from a 
health care practitioner authorized to write an order for a prosthesis. 

 
CC. Prosthetist means an individual who is licensed under this chapter to practice 

prosthetics. 
 

DD. Returning military veteran means a former member of the United States Armed 
Forces who was discharged from active duty under circumstances other than 
dishonorable. 

 
EE. Therapeutic Footwear. The following actions with respect to therapeutic footwear 

and medical devices for the foot and ankle must be performed by a licensed health 
care practitioner who is acting within his or her lawful scope of practice: 

 
1. Modifications or additions to the interior or exterior of footwear for therapeutic 

purposes, including but not limited to heel lifts, outflare heels, Thomas heels, 
full sole lifts, wedged soles, rocker bottom soles, metatarsal bars, metatarsal 
raises or inserts that have fillers as part of their construction, toe fillers, and 
partial foot fillers; 

 
2. Permanent or temporary attachment of an orthosis to the footwear; 

 
3. Addition or modification of a removable or attached therapeutic foot device 

inside the shoe which was fabricated based on a cast, impression, mold, scan, 
imprint or tracing; 

 
4. Creation of an image of a person’s foot or ankle through the use of a mold, 

cast, scanning device, digital appliance, tracing, pressure sensitive device or 
other similar device; and 

 
•5. Analysis, evaluation, measurement, assessment, or screening of a foot for the 

purpose of making a therapeutic recommendation. 
 

      FF.     Uniformed Service Member means an active or reserve component member of  
                 the United States Air Force, United States Army, United States Coast Guard, United  
                  States Marine Corps, United States Navy, United States Space Force, or National  
                  Guard; an active component member of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric  
                  Administration Commissioned Officer Corps; or an active or reserve component  
                  member of the United States Commissioned Corps of the Public Health Service. 
 
      GG.      Uniformed Service Veteran means a former member of the United States  
                  Uniformed services discharged under conditions other than dishonorable. 
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SECTION 4:  RESTRICTIONS ON THE PRACTICE OF ORTHOTISTS, 
PROSTHETISTS, AND PEDORTHISTS

A. A licensed orthotist, prosthetist or pedorthist may provide care or services only if the
care or services are provided pursuant to an order from a licensed health care 
practitioner authorized to issue such an order.

B. A licensed orthotist, prosthetist, or pedorthist must provide services from a facility
which has appropriate clinical and laboratory space and equipment to allow that 
licensee to provide orthotic, prosthetic, or pedorthic care.

C. The scope of practice of a licensed orthotist, prosthetist, or pedorthist does not include
the right to diagnose a medical problem or condition or the right to give medical advice 
as to the nature, cause, or treatment for the problem or condition for which the orthosis, 
prosthesis, or pedorthic device is being dispensed. However, the scope of practice of a 
licensed orthotist, prosthetist, or pedorthist does include the right to provide 
information or demonstration or training, regarding the proper use and care of the 
device and to make adjustments to the device as needed.

D. Assistant orthotist/prosthetist must practice within a one (1) hour radius of
the supervising practitioner.

E. A licensed orthotist, prosthetist, or pedorthist may utilize one or more non-licensed 
persons to assist in the provision of services, but the non-licensed person shall be
limited to the performance of minor repairs on devices which have been previously 
dispensed to a patient.
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SECTION 5: NECESSITY OF LICENSURE

Upon promulgation of these Rules, no person shall practice orthotics, prosthetics, or pedorthics 
in Arkansas, or hold himself or herself out as being able to practice such professions, or 
dispense an orthosis, prosthesis, or pedorthic device, unless such person is licensed in 
Arkansas.
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SECTION 6: QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE 
 

A. Orthotist – To qualify for a license to practice orthotics, a person shall: 
 

1. Complete an orthotics education program which is accredited by the 
Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs or its 
successor organization; 

 
2. Possess a baccalaureate degree or have successfully completed the number 

of semester hours equivalent to four (4) years of study at a four-year 
college or university; 

 
3. Successfully complete a clinical NCOPE residency in orthotics; and 

 
4. Successfully complete one of the following national certification examinations: 

 
a) American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics, and 

Pedorthics, Inc. (“ABCOPP”); 
 

b) Board of Certification/Accreditation (“BOC”); or 
 

c) equivalent as -determined by the Advisory Board. 
 

B. Prosthetist – To qualify for a license to practice prosthetics, a person shall: 
 

1. Complete a prosthetics education program which is accredited by the 
Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs or its 
successor organization; 

 
2. Possess a baccalaureate degree or have successfully completed the number 

of semester hours equivalent to four (4) years of study at a four-year 
college or university; 

 
3. Successfully complete a clinical NCOPE residency in prosthetics; and 

 
4. Successfully complete one of the following national certification examinations: 

 
a) ABCOPP; 

 
b) BOC; or 

 
c) equivalent as determined by the Advisory Board. 

 
C. Pedorthist – To qualify for a license to practice pedorthics a person shall: 

 
1. Possess a high school diploma or GED; 
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2. Possess the Certified Pedorthist credential from either ABCOPP or BOC; and 

 
3. Successfully complete one of the following national certification examinations: 

 
a) ABCOPP; 

 
b) BOC; or 

 
c) equivalent as determined by the Advisory Board. 

 
D. Assistant – An applicant for certification to practice as an orthotic assistant, prosthetic 

assistant, or orthotic/prosthetic assistant shall submit to the written evidence, verified 
by oath, that the applicant 

 
1. Possesses a high school diploma or GED; 

 
2. Has a minimum of three (3) years of experience in the field in which the person 

is seeking licensure as an assistant; orand 
  

2.3. Two (2) years experience in the field the of orthotics and/or prosthetics as an 
assistant and has a minimum of three (3) semester hours of higher education in 
the subject of human anatomy and physiology and medical terminology and 

 
4. Has written documentation from a licensed prosthetist or a licensed orthotist 

that the applicant is qualified to perform as an assistant in the field in which the 
person is seeking licensure as the assistant; or. 
  

5. Has graduated from a master’s level orthotics, prosthetic, or orthotic/prosthetic 
educational program approved by the National Commission on Orthotic and 
Prosthetic Education and is in a residency program. 
  

3.6. An orthotic assistant, an orthotic/prosthetic assistant, or a prosthetic assistant 
shall maintain certification until the completion of their residency program. 

 
E. Reciprocity. An applicant from another state or jurisdiction qualifies for a reciprocal 

license if: 
 

1. The applicant holds a substantially similar license in another United States 
jurisdiction. A license from another state is substantially similar to an Arkansas 
license if the other state’s licensure qualifications require: 

 
a) Orthotists: items (1-4) in paragraph (A) above; 

 
b) Prosthetists: items (1-4) in paragraph (B) above; 

 
c) Pedorthists: items (1-3) in paragraph (C) above; and 
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d) Prosthetic assistants: items (1-3) in paragraph (D) above; 

 
2. The applicant holds his or her license in good standing; 

 
3. The applicant has not had a license revoked for: 

 
a) An act of bad faith; or 

 
b) A violation of law, rule, or ethics; and 
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4. The applicant does not hold a suspended or probationary license in a United 
States jurisdiction; 

 
5. The applicant is competent in orthotics; and 

 
6. The applicant submits a fully executed application, fee, and the following 

documentation: 
 

a) Evidence of current and active licensure in that state. 
 

b) Evidence that the other state’s qualifications match those in (E)(1); 
 

c) The names of all states in which the applicant is currently licensed or has 
been previously licensed; 

 
d) Letters of good standing or other information from each state in which the 

applicant is currently or has ever been licensed showing that the applicant 
has not had his license revoked for: 

 
1) An act of bad faith; or 

 

2) A violation of law, rule, or ethics. 
F. Military 

1. This Rule applies to a: 
a) uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas;  

 
b) uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of 

Arkansas;  
 

c) The spouse of (1) or (2) including a:  
1) uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the 

spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse 
relocates to Arkansas;  
 

2) uniformed service member who is killed or succumb to his or her injuries 
or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in 
Arkansas. 

 
2. Automatic license may be granted to persons listed in Section F above if: 

a) The person is a holder in good standing of occupational licensure with similar scope 
of practice issued by another state, territory, or district of the United States and: 
 

b) The person pays the licensure fee in §17-107-204. 
 

3. Credit toward initial licensure 
a) Relevant and applicable uniformed service education, training, or service-issued 

credential shall be accepted toward initial licensure for a uniformed service member 
or a uniformed service veteran who makes an application within one (1) year of his or 
her discharge from uniformed service. 
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4. Expiration Dates and Continuing Education 
a)  A license expiration date shall be extended for a deployed uniformed service 

member or spouse for one hundred eighty (180) days following the date of the 
uniformed service member's return from deployment. 
 

b)  A uniformed service member or spouse shall be exempt from continuing education 
requirements in Section 14 of these Rules for one hundred eighty (180) days 
following the date of the uniformed service member's return from deployment. 

 
F.c) Any uniformed service member or spouse exercising the exemption shall provide 

evidence of completion of continuing education evidence of before renewal or grant 
of a subsequent license. 

 

1. The following individuals are eligible for immediate licensing consideration 
based on military service or affiliation: 

 
a) An active duty military service member stationed in the State of Arkansas; 

 
b) A returning military veteran applying for licensure within one (1) year of his 

or her discharge from active duty; or 
 

c) The spouse of a person under paragraphs (F)(1)(a) or (F)(1)(b) above. 
  

G. Apprenticeship 
1. An applicant shall receive a Pedorthist, Orthotist Assistant, Prosthetist Assistant, 

or Orthotist/Prosthetist Assistant license if the meet the criteria set forth below: 
 

2. As used in this Rule, “apprenticeship” means a program that meets the federal  
guidelines set out in 29 C.F.R. Part 29, as existing on March 1, 2021, and approved by the 
United States Office of Apprenticeship as meeting the requirements of an apprenticeship. 
 

a) An applicant for licensure under this Rule shall provide satisfactory proof of 
completion of apprenticeship via official documentation from the apprenticeship 
program. This documentation may be in the form of a certificate, diploma, or 
similar official credential, or letter on official program letterhead. 
 

b) An applicant for licensure under this Rule shall provide satisfactory documentation 
that the completed apprenticeship program meets the federal guidelines set out in 
29 C.F.R. Part 29, as existing on March 1, 2021, and that the program has been 
approved by the United States Office of Apprenticeship or the Arkansas 
Department of Workforce Services . 

 
c) An applicant for licensure under this Rule shall meet all the other non-educational 

requirements for licensure under these Rules, including section 6. 
 

d) If an applicant is denied a license for failing to meet the criteria in (a)-(c), the 
applicant shall be provided the reason for denial in writing 
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2. Such applicant shall submit: 
 

a) Payment of the initial licensure fee; 
 

b) Evidence that the individual holds a substantially equivalent license in 
another state; and 

 
c) Evidence that the applicant: 

 
1) is qualified military under paragraph (F)(1)(a), (F)(1)(b) 

 
2) or (F)(1) (c) above; and 
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 meets qualifications under paragraph (E). 
3)  
 

G.H. Pre-Licensure Criminal Background Check 
 

1. Pursuant to Act 990 of 2019, an individual may petition for a pre-licensure 
determination of whether the individual’s criminal record will disqualify the 
individual from licensure and whether a waiver may be obtained. 

 
2. The individual must obtain the pre-licensure criminal background check petition 

form from the Board. 
 

3. The Board will respond with a decision in writing to a completed petition within 
a reasonable time. 

 
4. The Board’s response will state the reasons for the decision. 

 
5. All decisions of the Board in response to the petition will be determined by the 

information provided by the individual. 
 

6. Any and all decisions made by the Board in response to a pre-licensure criminal 
background check petition are not subject to appeal. 

 
7. The Board will keep and maintain a copy of the petition and response, which will 

be reviewed during the formal application process. 
 

8. Waiver Request 
 

a) If an individual has been convicted of a crime listed in A.C.A. § 17-3-102(a), 
the Board may waive disqualification of a potential applicant or revocation of 
a license based on the conviction if a request for a waiver is made by: 

 
1) An affected applicant for a license; or 

 
2) An individual holding a license subject to revocation. 

 
b) The Board may grant a waiver upon consideration of the following, without 

limitation: 
 

1) The age at which the offense was committed; 
 

2) The circumstances surrounding the offense; 
 

3) The length of time since the offense was committed; 
 

4) Subsequent work history since the offense was committed; 
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5) Employment references since the offense was committed; 
 

6) Character references since the offense was committed; 
 

7) Relevance of the offense to the occupational license; and 
 

8) Other evidence demonstrating that licensure of the applicant does 
not pose a threat to the health or safety of the public. 

 
c) A request for a waiver, if made by an applicant, must be in writing and 

accompany the completed application and fees. A request for waiver, if made 
by a licensee, must be in writing. 

 
d) The Board will respond with a decision in writing and will state the reasons 

for the decision. 
 

e) Appeals under this section will be subject to the Administrative Procedures 
Act §25-15-201 et seq. 

  
I. Initial Licensure Fee Waiver 

1. Pursuant to Act 725 of 2021, an applicant may receive a waiver of the initial licensure 
fee, if eligible. Eligible applicants are applicants who: 
a) Are receiving assistance through the Arkansas, or current state of residence 

equivalent, Medicaid Program, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 
(SNAP), the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and 
Children (SSNP), the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program (TEA), or 
the Lifeline Assistance Program (LAP); 
 

b) Were approved for unemployment within the last twelve (12) months; or 
  

 
c) Have an income that does not exceed two hundred percent (200%) of the federal 

poverty income guidelines. 
 

2. Applicants shall provide documentation showing their receipt of benefits from the 
appropriate State Agency. 
a) For Medicaid, SNAP, SSNP, TEA, or LAP, documentation from the Arkansas 

Department of Human Services (DHS), or current state of residence equivalent 
agency; 
 

b) For unemployment benefits approval in the last twelve (12) months, the Arkansas 
Department of Workforce Services, or current state of residence equivalent agency; 
or 
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c) For proof of income, copies of all United States Internal Revenue Service Forms 
indicating applicant’s total personal income for the most recent tax year e.g., “W2,” 
“1099,” etc. 
 

3. Applicants shall attest that the documentation provided under (b) is a true and correct 
copy and fraudulent or fraudulently obtained documentation shall be grounds for denial 
or revocation of license.  
 

e)4.  
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SECTION 7: PROCEDURES FOR LICENSURE

A. An applicant shall obtain a current application packet from the Advisory Board, 
respond truthfully and completely to every question or request for information 
contained in the application form, and submit it, along with all documents and fees 
required, to the Department. It is the intent of this Rule that all steps necessary to 
accomplish the filing of the required documentation be completed prior to filing an 
application and that all materials be filed simultaneously.

B. An applicant shall complete the application with the supporting documentation 
proscribed to the Arkansas Department of Health.

C. An applicant shall disclose the fact of and the circumstances surrounding any of the
following:

1. Conviction of a crime; or plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or a finding of guilt 
of a felony listed under § 17-3-102 in any country, state, or municipality, 
except minor traffic violations;

2. The denial of certification or licensure application by anyother state or 
country, or the discipline of the certificate holder or licensee in any state or
country;

3. Loss, restriction, or voluntary surrender of certification or licensure
privileges; and

4. Any judgment or settlement in a civil suit in which the applicant was a party 
defendant, including malpractice, unethical conduct, breach of contract, or any 
other civil action remedy recognized by the country's or state's statutory,
common law, or case law.

D. When necessary, all required documents shall be translated into English and such 
translation, together with the original document, shall be certified as to authenticity
by the issuing source. Both versions must be submittedsimultaneously.

E. Application review, approval, denial, and interview decisions shall be made by
the Advisory Board.

F. The requirement for licensure under these Rules shall not apply to:
A person who is an employee of any bureau, division, or agency of the federal 
government while in the discharge of the employee’s official duties;

1. A student enrolled in an educational program at a college or university which
will enable that student to obtain a license to practice orthotics, prosthetics, or 
pedorthics upon graduation from the program;
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2. A resident continuing such resident’s clinical education in a residency
accredited by the National Commission on Orthotic and Prosthetic Education;
and

3. A student in a qualified work experience program or internship in pedorthics.

G. Licensee shall notify the Advisory Board within thirty (30) days of any:

1. Extension of the discipline of practice,

2. Name and address changes.
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SECTION 8:  FEES

A. License fee for initial licensure and renewal of licensure for the practice oforthotics, 
prosthetics, or pedorthics, shall be three hundred dollars ($300) every two (2) years.

B. License fee for initial licensure and renewal of licensure as an orthotic assistant, an 
orthotic/prosthetic assistant or a prosthetic assistant shall be one hundred dollars 
($100.00) every two (2) years.

C. Late Renewal $100.00.

D. Reinstatement $300.00.

E. Reinstatement for Assistant $100.00.

F. All fees are non-refundable.
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SECTION 9: RENEWAL OF LICENSURE

A. Licenses are valid through December 31st of the expiration year.

B. Renewal notifications will be sent by the Department Health Facility Services Section 
of the Arkansas Department of Health, to the last address on file with the Advisory 
Board. Failure to receive such notification does not relieve the licensee from the 
responsibility  of meeting all requirements for renewal.

C. A license issued pursuant to these rules is renewable by the expiration date. To be 
eligible for renewal an individual must submit an application on or before the 
expiration date the following:

1. A completed renewal application form; and

2. The renewal fee as required.

D. To be eligible for renewal an individual must have completed the continuing education 
requirements and must attest to such completion on the renewal application. An 
individual who fails to obtain continuing education hours will be ineligible for 
renewal. A Uniformed Service Member may be granted additional time to complete. 
See Section 6.F.4.

E. Any licensee who fails to renew his or her license as provided in this section may be 
reinstated by  the board on payment of the renewal fee plus a late fee unless waived by 
the Board.

F. Reinstatement of a license that has expired as a result of failure to timely renew may 
be accomplished upon meeting the following conditions:

1. Payment of all past due renewal fees;

2. Payment of the late renewal fee; and

3. Compliance with continuing education requirements. 
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SECTION 10: INACTIVATION & REACTIVATION

A. Inactive status:

1. An individual licensed or certified under this chapter may place his or her
license or certification on inactive status by notifying the Advisory Board in
writing.

2. The holder of an inactive license or certification is excused from payment of 
renewal fees and shall not practice in his or her area of licensure or certification
in this state.

B. A person who holds an active license may apply for inactive status in the
following manner:

1. Obtain, complete, and submit to the Advisory Board an affidavit of
retirement form; and

2. Submit any supporting documentation which may be required to the
Advisory Board's administrative office.

C. A licensee whose certificate has been inactivated may re-enter active status by doing
the following:

1. Submit an application and pay the renewal fee; and

2. Submit verification of successful completion of continuing education hours
for the period of inactivity.

D. Any person who engages in practice while his or her license or certification is
inactive shall be considered to be practicing without a license, which shall be 
grounds for discipline under § 17- 107-310.
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SECTION 11: SUSPENSION AND REVOCATION AND DISCIPLINARY 
ACTION

Licenses are subject to denial, suspension, restriction and revocation as provided by the Act. 
See Ark. Code Ann. § 17-107-310.
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SECTION 12:  HEARINGS

Individuals may appeal a disciplinary action within ten (10) calendar days of notice of the 
action. A request for appeal shall be made in writing to the Advisory Board. Mail or deliver 
notice to: OPP Advisory Board 5800 West 10th Street Suite 400 72204. Hearings will be 
conducted according to the Arkansas Administrative Act, Ark. Code Ann § 25-15-201 et seq.
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SECTION 13:  ADVERTISING

Advertising shall not be false, fraudulent, deceptive, or misleading.



RULES FOR ORTHOTIC, PROSTHETIC, AND PEDORTHIC PROVIDERS IN ARKANSAS 2021 
08032021 

SECTION 14: CONTINUING EDUCATION 
 
A.  Required hours: 

1. Orthotists and prosthetists must biennially complete thirty (30) hours of 
continuing education in courses applicable to his/ her profession. A person who 
is licensed in more than one (1) profession under these rules shall biennially 
complete forty (40) hours of continuing education in courses applicable to the 
professions in which he/she is licensed. 
 
2. Pedorthotists must complete 22 hours biennially. 
 
3. Assistants must complete 15 hours if employed in one discipline or 20 
hours if employed in both, biennially. 

 
4. At least six (6) hours of the continuing education each year shall be offered 
to licensees from providers in the state of Arkansas. 

 
B.  Acceptable continuing education shall consist of courses provided, approved, 

or sponsored by: 
1. The American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics and 
Pedorthics, Inc.; 

 
2. The Board for Orthotist/Prosthetist Certification; 

 
3. The Pedorthic Footwear Association; 
 
4. Any other entity whose education programs have been approved by the 
Advisory Board. 

 
C.  Each licensee must maintain proof of attendance and completion of all continuing 

education requirements. This documentation must be retained for a period of four (4) 
years from the end of the calendar year in which the continuing education was 
required. This documentation must be produced for inspection and verification, if 
requested in writing by the Advisory Board during its verification process. 

 
D.  Each licensee must, within thirty (30) days of a request from the Advisory Board, 

provide evidence of continuing education activities. Certificates verifying the 
individual's attendance or documents from course providers are such evidence. 

 
E.  Violations: Any person who falsely attests to attendance and completion of the 

required hours of continuing education may be subject to disciplinary action. 

F. Continuing Education completion timeframe may be extended for a Uniformed Service 
Member. (See Section 6.F.4.) 
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SECTION 15:  SEVERABILITY

If any provision of these Rules or the application thereof to any person or circumstances is held 
invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications of these Rules which 
can give effect without the invalid provisions or applications and to this end the provision 
hereto are declared severable.
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Addendum A:   Code of Ethics

1) PREAMBLE. The purpose of a code of ethics is to acknowledge a professions acceptance 
of the responsibility and trust conferred upon it by society and to recognize the internal 
obligations inherent in that trust. The following paragraphs delineate the standards governing the 
conduct of Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers in their professional interactions with 
patients, colleagues, other health professionals and the general public. Realizing that no code can 
encompass all ethical responsibilities of the Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers, this 
enumeration of obligations in the code of ethics is not comprehensive and does not constitute a 
denial of the existence of other obligations, equally imperative, and not specifically mentioned 
herein. This code of ethics shall be binding on all Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers in 
Arkansas.

a. CANON 1

Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers must uphold the dignity and honor of 
the profession, accept its disciplines and expose without hesitation illegal, 
unethical and incompetent conduct.

INTERPRETIVE STATEMENTS
Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers are part of a collaborative effort to 
deliver proper health care to the patient under the Orthotic, Prosthetic and 
Pedorthic Provider’s care.
The Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Provider has a personal, as well as a 
professional, obligation to protect and safeguard the patients from illegal and/or 
unethical actions or the incompetence of any person.
The Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Provider must maintain personal integrity 
and establish the appropriate means to fully protect his freedom of conscience for 
the delivery of services to the patient.
The Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Provider who demonstrates incompetence 
or illegal conduct as it pertains to the Code of Ethics shall be exposed to the 
proper authorities.

b. CANON 2

Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers shall respect the patient’s rights and 
dignity and shall uphold the doctrine of confidentiality regarding privileged 
patient information.

INTERPRETIVE STATEMENTS
Information about the patient’s clinical situation will be kept confidential, unless 
otherwise required by law, in order to protect the welfare of an individual or 
community.



Addendum A-2

RULES FOR ORTHOTIC, PROSTHETIC, AND PEDORTHIC PROVIDERS IN ARKANSAS 2021

Written guidelines or protocols of an institution or department may be 
instrumental in deciding the manner in which confidential information is handled 
for release.

c. CANON 3
Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers shall provide only those services for 
which they are qualified. Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers shall not 
misrepresent in any manner, either directly or indirectly, their skills, training, 
professional credentials, identity or services.

INTERPRETIVE STATEMENTS
Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers will accept responsibility for the 
exercise of sound judgment in the delivery of services to the patient and shall be 
accountable for the quality of the service provided.
Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers will provide accurate information 
about the profession, and services they provide, as well as the Orthotic, Prosthetic 
and Pedorthic Provider’s own qualifications.
Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers shall not engage in practices beyond 
their competence or training.
Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers shall not delegate to a less qualified 
person any activity, which requires the unique skill, knowledge and judgment of a 
formally educated Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Provider. Services rendered 
by supportive personnel will be under the supervision of a formally educated 
Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Provider.

d. CANON 4
Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers shall strive to improve their medical 
knowledge and skills on a continuing basis.

INTERPRETIVE STATEMENTS
Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers shall support quality didactic and 
clinical education.
Professional conduct will be maintained toward Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic 
Providers peers, students, medical staff and patients.
Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers shall participate in educational
activities, either by individual study or through continuing education, which will 
enhance their basic knowledge in order to continue to provide quality health care 
to the patient.

e. CANON 5
Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers shall maintain and promote high 
standards for their practice and include education, research and scientific 
presentations and/or publications.

f. CANON 6
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An Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Provider shall at all times hold the well-
being of the patient to be paramount and shall not act in such a way as to bring 
the member’s interests into conflict with the patient’s interests. An Orthotic, 
Prosthetic and Pedorthic Provider shall deliver health care services without 
regard to race, color, creed, national origin, sex, age, religion, sexual preference 
or physical and/or mental condition.

INTERPRETIVE STATEMENTS
Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Provider’s practice and adherence to ethical 
principles shall take preference over business practices. Orthotic, Prosthetic 
and Pedorthic Providers shall place service before material gain.
Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Providers shall fully disclose to clientele other 
business practices that may appear as conflict of interest to clientele and/or 
public. These may include but are not limited to:

1) Consultant for fee.
2) Clinical instructor (support staff for industry).
3) Sales representative.
4) Technical advisor.

5) Lecture for fee.
6) Acceptance of fees, gratuities, funding from industry.

2) To this end, the State Board of Health holds that each Orthotic, Prosthetic and
Pedorthic Provider has the following ethical and professional responsibilities:

a. The Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Provider will always attempt to fairly 
evaluate all competing products and services, with the principal selection
criteria being that of regard for patient safety and well-being.

b. The Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Provider shall always base any decision on 
product and service selection on clinical evaluations and documented clinical and 
scientific data.

In conclusion, it is the responsibility of the Orthotic, Prosthetic and Pedorthic Provider to 
make decisions regarding the selection of clinical products with the patient as the primary 
concern.
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QUESTIONNAIRE 
FOR FILING PROPOSED RULES WITH THE 

ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 

DEPARTMENT/AGENCY__________________________________________________________________________ 
DIVISION________________________________________________________________________________________ 
DIVISION DIRECTOR_____________________________________________________________________________ 
CONTACT PERSON_______________________________________________________________________________ 
ADDRESS________________________________________________________________________________________ 
PHONE NO.____________________ FAX NO._______________ E-MAIL___________________________________ 
NAME OF PRESENTER AT COMMITTEE MEETING ________________________________________________ 
PRESENTER E-MAIL _____________________________________________________________________________ 

INSTRUCTIONS 

A. Please make copies of this form for future use. 
B. Please answer each question completely using layman terms. You may use additional sheets if necessary. 
C. If you have a method of indexing your rules, please give the proposed citation after “Short Title of this 
D. Rule” below. 
E. Submit two (2) copies of the Questionnaire and Financial Impact Statement attached to the front of two (2) 

copies of the proposed rule and required documents.  Mail or deliver to: 

Jessica C. Sutton 
Administrative Rules Review Section 
Arkansas Legislative Council 
Bureau of Legislative Research 
One Capitol Mall, 5th Floor 
Little Rock, AR 72201 

************************************************************************************************** 
1. What is the short title of this rule?  

2. What is the subject of the proposed rule?  

3. Is this rule required to comply with a federal statute, rule, or regulation?  Yes      No

If yes, please provide the federal rule, regulation, and/or statute citation.

4. Was this rule filed under the emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act?

Yes     No

If yes, what is the effective date of the emergency rule? _______________________________________________

When does the emergency rule expire? _____________________________________________________________ 

Will this emergency rule be promulgated under the permanent provisions of the Administrative Procedure 

Act?  Yes     No  
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5. Is this a new rule?  Yes     No      If yes, please provide a brief summary explaining the rule.   

 

 

 

Does this repeal an existing rule? Yes      No       If yes, a copy of the repealed rule is to be included with your 

completed questionnaire.  If it is being replaced with a new rule, please provide a summary of the rule giving 

an explanation of what the rule does.   

 

 

 

 

Is this an amendment to an existing rule?  Yes     No       If yes, please attach a mark-up showing the changes in 

the existing rule and a summary of the substantive changes.  Note:  The summary should explain what the 

amendment does, and the mark-up copy should be clearly labeled “mark-up.”   

 

 

 

 

6. Cite the state law that grants the authority for this proposed rule?  If codified, please give the Arkansas Code 

citation.   

 

 

 

 

7. What is the purpose of this proposed rule? Why is it necessary?   
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8. Please provide the address where this rule is publicly accessible in electronic form via the Internet as required 

by Arkansas Code § 25-19-108(b).  

 

 

 

 

9. Will a public hearing be held on this proposed rule? Yes      No        If yes, please complete the following: 

 

Date: ___________________________________ 

 

Time:___________________________________ 

 

Place:_________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

10. When does the public comment period expire for permanent promulgation?  (Must provide a date.) 

______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

11. What is the proposed effective date of this proposed rule?  (Must provide a date.)  

______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

12. Please provide a copy of the notice required under Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(a), and proof of  the publication 

of said notice.  ______________________ 

 

13. Please provide proof of filing the rule with the Secretary of State as required pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 25-

15-204(e).   _________________________ 

 

14. Please give the names of persons, groups, or organizations that you expect to comment on these rules? Please 

provide their position (for or against) if known.   
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FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT 

PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY 

DEPARTMENT___________________________________________________________________________________ 
DIVISION________________________________________________________________________________________ 
PERSON COMPLETING THIS STATEMENT_________________________________________________________ 
TELEPHONE NO._______________ FAX NO.__________________ EMAIL:________________________________ 

To comply with Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e), please complete the following Financial Impact Statement and file 
two (2) copies with the Questionnaire and proposed rules. 

SHORT TITLE OF THIS RULE 

1. Does this proposed, amended, or repealed rule have a financial impact?  Yes     No

2. Is the rule based on the best reasonably obtainable scientific, technical, economic, or other evidence and

information available concerning the need for, consequences of, and alternatives to the rule?

Yes     No

3. In consideration of the alternatives to this rule, was this rule determined by the agency to be the least costly

rule considered?  Yes     No

If an agency is proposing a more costly rule, please state the following:

a) How the additional benefits of the more costly rule justify its additional cost;

b) The reason for adoption of the more costly rule;

c) Whether the more costly rule is based on the interests of public health, safety, or welfare, and if so, please

explain; and

d) Whether the reason is within the scope of the agency’s statutory authority, and if so, please explain.
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4. If the purpose of this rule is to implement a federal rule or regulation, please state the following: 

a) What is the cost to implement the federal rule or regulation? 

Current Fiscal Year   Next Fiscal Year 

 
General Revenue_________________  General Revenue__________________ 
Federal Funds    _________________  Federal Funds    __________________ 
Cash Funds        _________________  Cash Funds        __________________ 
Special Revenue_________________  Special Revenue __________________ 
Other (Identify) _________________  Other (Identify) __________________ 
 
Total___________________________  Total____________________________ 
 

b) What is the additional cost of the state rule? 

Current Fiscal Year   Next Fiscal Year 

 
General Revenue___________________  General Revenue__________________ 
Federal Funds     ___________________  Federal Funds    ___________________ 
Cash Funds         ___________________  Cash Funds        ___________________ 
Special Revenue ___________________  Special Revenue ___________________ 
Other (Identify) ____________________  Other (Identify) ___________________ 
 
Total______________________________  Total_____________________________ 

 

5. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to any private individual, entity and business subject to the 

proposed, amended, or repealed rule?  Identify the entity(ies) subject to the proposed rule and explain how 

they are affected. 

Current Fiscal Year     Next Fiscal Year 

 
$__________________     $_________________  
 
 
 
 
 
 

6. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to state, county, and municipal government to implement this 

rule?  Is this the cost of the program or grant?  Please explain how the government is affected.   

 

Current Fiscal Year     Next Fiscal Year 

 

$__________________     $______________ 
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7. With respect to the agency’s answers to Questions #5 and #6 above, is there a new or increased cost or obligation of at 
least one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) per year to a private individual, private entity, private business, state 
government, county government, municipal government, or to two (2) or more of those entities combined?    
Yes        No     

 
If YES, the agency is required by Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e)(4) to file written findings at the time of filing 
the financial impact statement.  The written findings shall be filed simultaneously with the financial impact 
statement and shall include, without limitation, the following:   

 
(1)  a statement of the rule’s basis and purpose;  
 
(2)  the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule, including a statement of whether a rule is 
required by statute;  
 
(3)  a description of the factual evidence that: 
       (a)  justifies the agency’s need for the proposed rule; and  
       (b)  describes how the benefits of the rule meet the relevant statutory objectives and justify the rule’s costs;  
 
(4)  a list of less costly alternatives to the proposed rule and the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately 
address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;  
 
(5)  a list of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a result of public comment and the reasons 
why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;  
 
(6)  a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the problem the agency seeks to 
address with the proposed rule and, if existing rules have created or contributed to the problem, an 
explanation of why amendment or repeal of the rule creating or contributing to the problem is not a sufficient 
response; and  
 
(7)  an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten (10) years to determine whether, based upon 
the evidence, there remains a need for the rule including, without limitation, whether: 
      (a)  the rule is achieving the statutory objectives;  
      (b)  the benefits of the rule continue to justify its costs; and  
      (c)  the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while continuing to achieve the statutory 
objectives.  
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