



August 12, 2021

Senator Jason Rapert, Chairperson Arkansas Senate State Agencies and Governmental Affairs Committee Arkansas State Capitol Little Rock, AR 72201

Dear Senator Rapert:

We have received the message requesting the presence of Bowen School of Law Dean Terri Beiner as well as Professors of Law Rob Steinbuch and Tom Sullivan at the August 19 meeting of the Senate State Agencies and Governmental Affairs Committee of the Arkansas General Assembly. Per the request, I understand that you and the committee would like information regarding the naming of a Bowen Law School professorship for President Bill Clinton. Below is background information on the professorship to hopefully provide context about the situation.

In 1999, Mr. William Bowen (the school's namesake) donated funds to create a professorship in constitutional law at the Bowen School of Law. It was his wish (as expressed in a letter to then Dean Rodney Smith) that the professorship be named for then President Bill Clinton. That same year, Dean Smith received a letter from President Clinton's associate counsel giving permission to use the president's name for the professorship. In April 2000, the UA Board of Trustees formally approved the endowment titled the William Jefferson Clinton Professorship in Constitutional Law.

After Board approval, our records show that a decision was made not to use the Clinton name on the professorship. In September of 2000, the new dean, Chuck Goldner, sent a letter to Mr. Bowen stating, "as you know, at the request of the White House, we have not made this the William Jefferson Clinton Professorship right now." Subsequently, the professorship was referred to as the Distinguished Professorship in Constitutional Law. Dean Emeritus, John DiPippa, has held the professorship since that time and has used that title. The Clinton name remained on the official foundation account and is, technically, still the Board-approved name of the professorship.

Last summer, Dean Emeritus John DiPippa began including President Clinton's name on his position of Professor of Constitutional Law with the guidance of current Dean Terri Beiner. Dean Beiner gave this guidance based on the discovery by a staff member of the 1999 letter

from the White House that gave approval to name the professorship for President Clinton. Dean Beiner's assumption was that the 1999 letter was the final word on the matter and that the omission of the Clinton name on the professorship was an oversight.

As it stands now, we will refer to the professorship as the Professorship in Constitutional Law, per the last documentation we have from late 2000 not to use the president's name.

I hope this information will clarify to some degree the situation you wish to address in the August 19 hearing. If we can provide further detail or information prior to the committee date, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Christina S. Drale, Chancellor

University of Arkansas at Little Rock