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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS POLLUTION CONTROL AND ECOLOGY COMMISSION 
 

IN THE MATTER OF PROMULGATION OF  ) 
REGULATION NO. 15, ARKANSAS OPEN-CUT )                  DOCKET NO. 12-002-R 
MINING AND RECLAMATION CODE  ) 
  
 

RESPONSIVE SUMMARY 
 

 On February 10, 2012, the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality, (hereinafter 
“Department”) filed a Petition to Initiate Rulemaking to promulgate changes to Arkansas 
Pollution Control and Ecology Commission (hereinafter “APC&EC”) Regulation No. 15, 
Arkansas Open-Cut Mining and Land Reclamation Code. This petition was granted on February 
24, 2012, by the APC&EC’s Minute Order No. 12-09. 
 
  On April 5, 2012, the Department held a public hearing concerning the proposed 
revisions to Regulation No. 15.  No formal comments were received, either written or oral, 
during the hearing. The public comment period ended at 4:30 p.m. on April 19, 2012. 
 
 During the public comment period, the Department received written comments from four 
(4) individuals or organizations. There were two (2) comments that were received after the close 
of the comment period and these comments were not addressed. Below the Department has 
captured each of the substantive comments and the Department’s response to each comment that 
was received during the comment period.  
 
 Pursuant to Minute Order 12-09, the Department submits the following Responsive 
Summary to the comments submitted regarding proposed changes to Regulation No. 15, 
Arkansas Open-Cut Mining and Land Reclamation Code. 
 
 
Comment No. 1:  Attached are three files associated with MN [Minnesota] rules regarding 

quarry mining. In my opinion, AR’s surface mining rules need revision to 
include hydrogeologic impact evaluation of surface mining and the 
potential effect on nearby water wells similar to MN. 

 
Response to Comment No. 1: After reviewing the attached files concerning 

hydrogeologic impact evaluation at open-cut and quarry 
operations in Minnesota, the Department has determined 
that this comment was out of the scope of the public noticed 
changes to Regulation No. 15. It is the Department’s 
opinion that statutory changes would be necessary to 
develop such an evaluation program rather than regulatory 
changes.  
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Comment No. 2:  [Reg.] 15.312 has the punctuation messed up – it should be: 
 

(1)  The permit application form in duplicate and marked “Transfer of 
Permit No.”; 

(2)  A review fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00); 
(3)  Proof of right to mine as set out in Reg.15.305; 
(4)  An acceptable replacement bond instrument; and  
(5)  A new disclosure statement as required by Reg.15.302(A)(1)(i). 

  
Response to Comment No. 2: We agree with the correction of this section’s punctuation 

and have made the corrections. 
 
 
Comment No. 3: What is the authority for allowing the transfer of a permit under proposed 

Regulation 15.312? 
 
Comment No. 4: Why is the fee for a transferred permit only $100 in proposed Regulation 

15.312(A)(2) while the new permit fee is at a minimum $200 under 
A.C.A. § 15-57-311(f)?  What is the authority for having a lower fee?   

 
 
Response to Comments No. 3and No. 4: The Arkansas Open-Cut Land Reclamation Act, 

codified at Ark. Code Ann. § 15-57-301, et. seq., 
governs the reclamation and restoration of open-cut 
mining operations to productive use.  Ark. Code 
Ann. § 15-57-302.  To that end the General 
Assembly provided that the “Arkansas Pollution 
Control and Ecology Commission may adopt and 
promulgate rules and regulations necessary to 
administer the provisions of this subchapter.”  Ark. 
Code Ann. § 15-57-307.   

 

Comment No. 5: Why are the restrictions in proposed Regulation 15.312 (B) different from 
the restrictions contained in Ark. Code Ann. § 15-57-316(h)(2)(i) and 
what is the authority for these differences?  For example: 

A.      Under the law, it only discusses the restrictions for obtaining 
a “new or renewed permit” but under the proposed rule these 
restrictions are for a “new, renewed, transferred, or modified 
permit” 

B.      Under the law, no operator shall be eligible for a new or 
renewed permit who has had their bond forfeited or who has 
outstanding substantial unmitigated violations under the Arkansas 
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Open-Cut Land Reclamation Act but no such requirements are 
contained in the proposed rule. 

Response to Comment No. 5: A)  The purpose of Regulation No. 15.312 is to provide a 
mechanism whereby permits may be transferred or 
modified to facilitate continued coverage and regulation of 
sites that may have a change of ownership or require their 
permits to be modified to be consistent with conditions at 
the site.  Thus, the Department included the language 
regarding permit transfers and modifications. 

 
B)   Pursuant to A.C.A. § 15-57-316(i):  “No operator shall 
be eligible to receive a new or renewed permit who has had 
a permit revoked, bond forfeited, or who has outstanding 
substantial unmitigated violations of this subchapter, 
including failure to reclaim, unless the department finds 
upon review a demonstrable change of circumstances 
justifying an exception to these prohibitions.”  [emphasis 
added]. 

 
The bond forfeiture provision of Regulation 15.312(B) 
states “No operator shall be eligible to receive a new, 
renewed, transferred, or modified permit who has had a 
permit revoked, unless the Department finds, upon review, 
a demonstrable change of circumstances justifying an 
exception to these prohibitions.”   

 
The comment expressed a concern that the difference in the 
language contained in the statute and regulation may have 
unintended consequences.  Under the statutory language, 
an applicant for a new permit could not receive a permit if 
the applicant had a prior bond forfeiture or any 
outstanding substantial unmitigated violations. Because the 
same statutory language was not included in the language 
of the regulation, an applicant for a permit transfer or 
modification arguably may have had a bond revocation or 
substantial unmitigated violations, but would still be 
eligible to receive a permit whereas a new applicant could 
not. This result was not the Department’s intention.  The 
Department agrees that an application for a permit transfer 
or modification should be denied if the applicant has had a 
prior bond forfeiture or has had substantial unmitigated 
violations.  Therefore, the Department will make the 
necessary changes to the proposed regulation as a logical 
outgrowth of this comment. 
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Comment No. 6: Ark. Code Ann. § 15-57-310(e) and (f) could be interpreted to set two 

different processes, one for gravel mining from land and another for 
stream bed mining. 

 
Response to Comment No. 6: The Department also recognized the difference between 

open-cut mining outside a stream channel and mining 
inside a stream channel, however not based on Ark. Code 
Ann. §15-57- 310(e), but on Ark. Code Ann. § 15-57-310(f) 
and the definition of open-cut mining in 1995 when Ark. 
Code  Ann.§ 15-310(f) was added to the law. The 1996 
version of Regulation No. 15 incorporated that difference 
by having two sets of standards (Reg.15.402 and 
Reg.15.403) for the two types of mining operations. 

 
Comment No. 7: I can't tell if the new phrase about requiring permitting even if 

certain activities are allowed, would apply to stream bed mining. 
Landowners don't need to be removing gravel from stream beds. There is 
plenty in surrounding areas outside of the ordinary high water mark. 
Allowing landowners to mine in a strem with no standards whatsoever 
should be stopped.  

 
At the very least, landowners should not be allowed to muck around in the 
stream beds with dozers and build subdivisions on land that is not 
continuous to the stream itself. 

 
 
Response to Comment No. 7: The Department assumes the commenter is referring to the 

additional language that has been added to the exemptions 
to make it clear that there are other permits from the 
Department that may be required for the described activity 
regardless of the exemption from obtaining an open-cut 
mining permit.  However, this new language would apply to 
material being removed from a stream under any of the 
mining law exemptions. The remainder of the comment 
appears to address the ability of landowners to removal 
material for their own uses on their own property. This 
exemption is listed in  Ark. Code Ann. § 15-57-310(e). 
Neither the Department nor APC&EC has the authority to 
remove this exemption from the statutory language. 

 
 
Comment No.  8: ADEQ has an inherent dilemma given you are supposed to be protecting 

our streams under federal law and you can't possibly do that and allow 
stream bed mining.  Frankly, I'm not sure what should be done and 
perhaps the issue should be referred to PCEC urging they obtain special 
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funding to set up a working group to sort this out and make 
recommendations. 

 
Response to Comment No. 8: In 1995, the General Assembly passed Act 1110. This act 

created the Arkansas Gravel Mining Task Force with the 
charge to study the impact of stream bed mining in 
Arkansas. The Task Force was to develop a report and 
make recommendations to the Governor and the Legislative 
Council by December 1, 1996. The Task Force held 
monthly meetings and with funds from the Governor’s 
Office, paid for an economic study of in-stream gravel 
mining produced by Arkansas State University. The task 
force completed its work and delivered a report in 
November 1996. All but one of the Task Force’s 
recommendations can be found incorporated in within the 
Stream Bed Mining Standards of Reg.15.403. Another task 
force to address the comment would necessary need to be 
established and funded by the General Assembly. 

 
 
 


