## **ARKANSAS SENATE**

83rd General Assembly - Regular Session, 2001 **Amendment Form** 

***********
Subtitle of Senate Bill No. 552
"AN ACT TO ESTABLISH THE CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS IN ARKANSAS."
*********
Amendment No. 2 to Senate Bill No. 552.
Amend Senate Bill No. 552 as engrossed, S3/28/01:
Add an additional section immediately following Section 5 to read as follows "SECTION 6. If any provision of section 2, 3, 4 or 5 of this act is held invalid by any court of competent jurisdiction, sections 2 through 5 of this act shall be void and Arkansas Code 7-2-102 through 7-2-105 shall be repealed and the congressional districts of this state shall be as follows:  (1) The First Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of: Arkansas; Baxter; Clay; Cleburne; Craighead; Crittenden; Cross Fulton; Greene; Independence; Izard; Jackson; Lawrence; Lee; Lonoke; Mississippi; Monroe; Phillips; Prairie; Poinsett; Randolph; St. Francis; Searcy; Sharp; Stone; and Woodruff; and the qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the House of Representatives of the United States;  (2) The Second Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of: Conway; Faulkner; Perry; precincts 20, 24, 56, and 57 of Pope County; Pulaski; Saline; Van Buren; White; and Yell; and the qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the House of
Representatives of the United States;  (3) The Third Congressional District shall be composed of the following counties or parts of counties: Benton; Boone; Carroll; Crawford; Franklin (except precincts 20, 23, 24, 26, and 28); Johnson; Madison; Marion Newton; Pope(except precincts 20, 24, 56, and 57); Sebastian; and Washington and the qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the
House of Representatives of the United States; and
(4) The Fourth Congressional District shall be composed of the
following counties or parts of counties: Ashley; Bradley; Calhoun; Chicot;
Clark; Cleveland; Columbia; Dallas; Desha; Drew; precincts 20, 23, 24, 26,
and 28 of Franklin County; Garland; Grant; Hempstead; Hot Spring; Howard;
Jefferson; Lafayette; Little River; Lincoln; Logan; Miller; Montgomery;
Nevada; Ouachita; Pike; Polk; Scott; Sevier; and Union; and the qualified
electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the House of
Representatives of the United States."
* PPS252*

By: Senator Gwatney LH/RRS - 040420011430 **RRS858** Secretary

The Amendment was read the first time, rules suspended and read the second time and \_\_\_\_\_