## **ARKANSAS SENATE**

84th General Assembly - Regular Session, 2003

## **Amendment Form**

## Subtitle of Senate Bill No. 921

"AN ACT TO MAINTAIN THE CURRENT ELECTORAL DISTRICTS FOR THE ARKANSAS COURT OF APPEALS AND SET ELECTION DATES."

## Amendment No. 1 to Senate Bill No. 921.

Amend Senate Bill No. 921 as originally introduced:

Page 1, line 30 add the following new sections:

"SECTION 2. <u>Court of Appeals Districts.</u>

(a) Court of Appeals District 1 shall continue to be composed of Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett, St. Francis, and Woodruff Counties.

(b) Court of Appeals District 2 shall continue to be composed of Boone, Marion, Baxter, Fulton, Sharp, Randolph, Newton, Searcy, Stone, Izard, Lawrence, Van Buren, Cleburne, Independence, Jackson, Faulkner, White, Lonoke, and Prairie Counties.

(c) Court of Appeals District 3 shall continue to be composed of Benton, Carroll, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Madison, Pope, Sebastian, and Washington Counties.

(d) Court of Appeals District 4 shall continue to be composed of Clark, Conway, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Lafayette, Little River, Logan, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Pike, Polk, Saline, Scott, Sevier, and Yell Counties.

(e) Court of Appeals District 5 shall continue to be composed of Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Jefferson, Lincoln, Ouachita, and Union Counties.

(f) Court of Appeals District 6 shall continue to be composed of Perry and Pulaski Counties.

SECTION 3. Court of Appeals Elections.

(a) The elections under this section shall be for eight-year terms, except as otherwise provided by this act.

(b) The date of election for each of the twelve (12) judges of the Court of Appeals shall be according to the following schedule:

(1) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 1, Position 1, shall be subject to election in 2008;

(2) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 1, Position 2, shall be subject to election in 2004;

(3) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 2,



Position 1,	shall be subject to election in 2010;
	(4) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 2,
Position 2,	shall be subject to election in 2004;
	(5) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 3,
Position 1,	shall be subject to election in 2010;
	(6) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 3,
Position 2,	shall be subject to election in 2004;
	(7) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 4,
Position 1,	shall be subject to election in 2004;
	(8) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 4,
Position 2,	shall be subject to election in 2004;
	(9) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 5,
Position 1,	shall be subject to election in 2004;
	(10) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 5,
Position 2,	shall be subject to election in 2004;
	(11) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 6,
Position 1,	shall be subject to election in 2008; and
	(12) The judgeship that is currently designated as District 6,
Position 2,	shall be subject to election in 2004.

SECTION 4. Transition.

Each currently serving judge of the Court of Appeals shall continue in office until his or her position is subject to election, as provided under this act, regardless of the date otherwise set as the expiration of his or her term."

The Amendment was read the first time, rules suspended and read the second time and **By: Senator J. Jeffress** JDF/CDS - 031120031548 CDS356 Secretary