## Hall of the House of Representatives

85th General Assembly - Regular Session, 2005 **Amendment Form** 

## Subtitle of Senate Bill No. 194

"AN ACT TO AMEND ARKANSAS CODE 12-80-103(b), PERTAINING TO SEISMIC ZONES. TO REFER TO THE ARKANSAS FIRE PREVENTION CODE."

## Amendment No. 1 to Senate Bill No. 194.

Amend Senate Bill No. 194 as originally introduced:

Page 1, line 10, delete "§ 12-80-103(b)" and substitute "§ 12-80-103"

AND

Page 1, line 17, delete "103(b)" and substitute "103"

AND

Delete everything following the enacting clause and substitute the following: "SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 12-80-103 is amended to read as follows: 12-80-103. Seismic zones established.

(a)(1) Areas within the boundaries of this state shall be divided into zones of anticipated damage that will occur in various locations with respect to the New Madrid Seismic Zone.

(2) This will be based on Av and Aa values the Arkansas Fire Prevention Code.

(b)(1)(A Zone 3, the area of greatest anticipated seismic damage, shall include the following counties: Clay, Greene, Craighead, Mississippi, Poinsett, Cross, Crittenden, St. Francis, Randolph, Lawrence, Jackson, Woodruff, and Lee.

(B) This area of the state shall be the area where Av and Aa are to be between 0.2 and 0.3 in a similar manner used in the current Standard Building Code.

(2)(A) Zone 2, the area of moderate anticipated seismic damage, shall include the following counties: Sharp, Independence, White, Lonoke, Prairie, Arkansas, Monroe, Phillips, Fulton, Izard, Stone, and Cleburne.

(B) This area of the state shall be the area where Av and Aa are to be between 0.1 and 0.2 in a similar manner used in the current Standard Building Code.

(3)(A) Zone 1, the area of low anticipated seismic damage, shall include all remaining counties within the boundaries of this state.

(B) This area of the state shall be the area where Av and



Aa are less than 0.1 in a similar manner used in the current Standard Building Code."

The Amendment was read \_\_\_\_\_ By: Representative Dangeau MBM/BKA - 03-01-2005 10:40 MBM235

Chief Clerk