Biography of THE HONORABLE LARRY R. TEAGUE ARKASNAS STATE SENATOR



PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE-ELECT SENATE DISTRICT 20

Senator Larry Teague represents Senate District 20, which is comprised of Howard and Pike counties and portions of Hempstead, Polk and Sevier counties. He is serving his first term in the Arkansas Senate. On April 1, 2011, he was elected President Pro Tempore for the 89th General Assembly, which will convene in January 2013.

In the current 88th General Assembly, he is chairman of the Senate Revenue and Tax Committee and the Federal Stimulus Money Subcommittee of Arkansas Legislative Council (ALC). He is vice-chairman of ALC-Policy Making and holds membership on several other committees, including Arkansas Legislative Council; Joint Budget Committee; Legislative Joint Auditing; Senate Insurance and Commerce; Senate Rules, Resolutions and Memorials; JBC-Personnel; Girls State; and Economic and Tax Policy.

During the 87th General Assembly, Teague was chairman of the Senate Subcommittee on Economic and Tax Policy, Senate Waterways and Aeronautics Subcommittee, and the Electronic Records Study Commission. He held membership on Arkansas Legislative Council; Legislative Joint Auditing; Senate Transportation, Technology and Legislative Affairs; Senate Revenue and Tax; Joint Advanced Communications and Information Technology; ALC-Peer; ALC-Personnel; Rural Fire Department Study Committee; and the Task Force on Reducing Poverty and Promoting Economic Opportunity.

Senator Teague is active with several key national organizations, including the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), where he serves on the Environment and Budgets and Review committees, and the Southern Legislative Conference (SLC), where he serves on the Fiscal Affairs and Government Operations Committee.

In 1997, Senator Teague was elected to the Arkansas House of Representatives and served three consecutive terms. During his political career, he has been recognized by many organizations and groups, including:

- Outstanding State Legislator of 2011, Arkansas State Employees Association,
- 2011 Community Service Award, Mental Health Council,
- 2011 Freedom Champion Award from Arkansas Bikers Aiming towards Education (ABATE),
- 2011 Kids Count Coalition Champion, Arkansas Advocates for Children and Families,
- 2002 Rural Advocate of the Year,
- Named by the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette as one of the Ten Best Legislators of the 2001 General Assembly,
- Arkansas Municipal League Distinguished Service Award in 1997 and 2001,
- Legislator of the Year, Arkansas School Counselors Association Southwest Region, and
- Statesmanship Award, Arkansas Hospital Association.

A native of Nashville, Arkansas, Senator Teague is a graduate of the University of Arkansas and Texarkana Community College. He attends First United Methodist Church in Nashville, where he teaches Sunday school and is a lay speaker. He and his wife of over 30 years, Debbie, have one son, one daughter and one granddaughter.