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Basic Change :  

Representative Love 

The bill establishes an earned income tax credit that is equal to 5% of the federal credit.  The credit 
may offset 100% of the individual income tax liability and any unused credits are refundable.  The bill 
is effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2013. 

Earned income and adjusted gross income (AGI) must each be less than: 

  

· $46,227 ($51,567 married filing jointly) with three or more qualifying children 
· $43,038 ($48.378 married filing jointly) with two qualifying children 
· $37,870 ($43,210 married filing jointly) with one qualifying child 
· $14,340 ($19,680 married filing jointly) with no qualifying children 

Tax Year 2013 maximum credit: 
· $6,044 with three or more qualifying children 
· $5,372 with two qualifying children 
· $3,250 with one qualifying child 
· $487 with no qualifying children  

Investment income must be $3,300 or less for the year. 

   
The American Tax Relief Act of 2012 extends the relief for married taxpayers, the expanded credit for 
taxpayers with three or more qualifying children and other provisions to December 31, 2017.  
Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2013 
Revenue Impact :  
FY2014 - $38.8 M Loss  
FY2015 - $40.0 M Loss  
Taxpayer Impact :  

Taxpayer will attach federal forms to their state return to support the earned income tax credit. 

Resources Required :  

Additional training for personnel, booklet changes, computer program changes.  

Time Required :  

Adequate time is provided. 

Procedural Changes :  

Forms and instructions, computer changes, training, and processing procedures need to be modified. 

Other Comments :  

IRS estimates that between 21% to 26% of EITC claims are paid in error. 

Legal Analysis :  

The federal earned income tax credit (EITC) is a refundable credit enacted in 1975 to provide income 
tax relief to low income taxpayers.  The amount of the credit increases with the number of children that 
a taxpayer has but begins to phase out as a taxpayer's earned income increases.  Depending upon a 
taxpayer's filing status and number of children, for the 2012 tax year the amount of the credit ranged 
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from $2 to $5,891. 

The amount of the Arkansas income tax credit is a percentage (5%) of the amount of the federal 
income tax credit established under IRC Section 32.  The credit is refundable and would be claimed in 
the "Payments" section of the Arkansas return.  There is no federal EITC form upon which the credit is 
calculated to attach to the taxpayer's Arkansas return to substantiate the amount of the credit claimed 
on the Arkansas return.  DFA income tax auditors would have to check the taxpayer's federal income 
tax return to verify the amount of the credit claimed by the taxpayer. 

Arkansas has not adopted IRC Section 32 as of this time.  Arkansas can constitutionally adopt 
provisions of federal law by adopting the law as it existed at a point in time.  This bill establishes the 
amount of the Arkansas credit as a percentage of the federal credit to which the taxpayer is entitled 
based on the law allowing the federal credit as it existed on January 1, 2013.  Although that method 
may avoid issues of constitutionality, it could present practical problems in future years.  For example, 
should federal law change and a taxpayer calculated the federal credit under the new federal law, the 
Arkansas credit would remain based on the calculation under the prior law until the legislature adopted 
the new effective date. 

This is a refundable credit that will apply to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2013.  The bill 
has no Emergency Clause and would therefore become effective 90 days after adjournment of the 
session.  

 
 
 


