Department of Finance and Administration

Legislative Impact Statement

Bill: HB1580 As Engrossed: 3/14/2013

BIII Subtitle: CONCERNING AN ARKANSAS BOVINE ANIMAL DISEASE PROGRAM AND THE USE OF THE LIVESTOCK AND POULTRY COMMISSION DISEASE AND PEST CONTROL FUND; AND TO MAKE TECHNICAL CORRECTIONS.

Basic Change:

Representative Talley

Engrossment 03/14/13 --- House Amendment 2 --- The amendment changes the fee for funding the Arkansas bovine animal disease program from the current fee of \$1.00 per head on all cattle sold in the state to a fee not to exceed \$2.00 per head on cattle. The amendment prohibits the Arkansas Livestock and Poultry Commission from increasing the fee allowed unless the balance of the Livestock and Poultry Commission Disease and Pest Control Fund is less than five hundred thousand dollars (\$500,000).

<u>Engrossment 03/08/13 --- House Amendment 1 --- The amendment reinstates the current fee of \$1.00 per head of cattle sold in the state to support the bovine animal disease program in Arkansas.</u>

Original Bill --- The bill changes the fee for funding the Arkansas bovine animal disease program from the current fee of \$1.00 per head on all cattle sold in the state to a fee not to exceed \$2.00 per head on cattle. The Arkansas Livestock and Poultry Commission would establish the amount of the fee necessary to operate and continue the Arkansas bovine animal disease program. The fee is to be deposited as special revenues and credited to the Livestock and Poultry Commission Disease and Pest Control Fund. The bill also changes the purpose for which the funds raised are to be used. The funds will be used to fund the bovine animal disease program. Current law provides that the funds are used for brucellosis control and eradication.

Revenue Impact :

No Impact to State General Revenue

Unknown increase to the Livestock and Poultry Commission Disease and Pest Control Fund depending on increases in the fee enacted by the Livestock and Poultry Commission.

Taxpayer Impact :

No change in monthly reporting of fees collected.

Resources Required:

None

Time Required:

Adequate time is provided for implementation.

Procedural Changes:

Returns will have to be amended to reflect any increase in the rate and there will be some minor programming changes.

Legal Analysis:

HB1580, as engrossed 3/14/13 levies a fee not to exceed \$2.00 per head of cattle to be remitted by the purchaser to DFA and deposited in the Livestock and Poultry Commission Disease and Pest Control Fund (Fund). The Arkansas Livestock and Poultry Commission can establish the amount of the fee by rule but cannot increase the fee unless the balance in the Fund is less than \$500,000.

3/17/2013 3:57 PM 1