Department of Finance and Administration

Legislative Impact Statement

Bill: HB1857

Bill Subtitle: TO AMEND THE SPECIAL LICENSE PLATE ACT OF 2005 CONCERNING THE
AUTHORIZATION AND ISSUANCE OF SPECIAL LICENSE PLATES FOR AND IN SUPPORT OF
LAW ENFORCEMENT.

Basic Change:

Representatives Shepherd, Copenhaver

The bill creates a new revenue fund, the Fallen Law Enforcement Officer's Beneficiary Fund, to be
used by the Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training. The bill adds new
definitions to the code to define "Certified law enforcement officer" and "Law enforcement agency".

The bill adds new sections to the Arkansas Code to create three (3) new special license plates as
follows:

1. A new plate for certified law enforcement officers;
2. A Support Law Enforcement license plate;
3. An Arkansas Sheriffs Association plate.

Plate Number 1:

The Department is required to seek the advice of the Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement
Standards and Training with regard to design. Fees for initial issuance of plate Number 1 are the
regular registration fee, a ten-dollar handling and administrative fee to be deposited to the State
Central Services Fund, and a twenty-five dollar ($25.00) fund raising fee. Fees for renewal of plate
number 1 are the regular registration fee and the twenty-five dollar ($25.00) fund raising fee. The fund
raiser fees are to be remitted monthly with seventy-five percent (75%) deposited to the Arkansas Law
Enforcement Training Academy Cash Fund, and twenty-five percent (25%) to the Fallen Law
Enforcement Officers' Beneficiary Fund.

To be eligible for plate Number 1, the law enforcement officer must provide proof the he or she is a
certified law enforcement officer or retired from active service as a certified law enforcement officer, as
defined in the bill. Such proof is not required for renewal of the plate. The Department is required to
offer a banner or tape to state "Retired" to be attached to the plate, if the applicant is retired as a
certified law enforcement officer.

Plate Number 2:

The Department is required to seek the advice of the Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement
Standards and Training with regard to design. The department is authorized to establish fees, the
number of applications that must be submitted, or combination thereof for the initial order of the plates.
Fees are the regular registration fee, a ten-dollar administrative fee to be deposited to the State Central
Services Fund, and a fund raising fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00). The fund raising fee is to be
deposited monthly in the same manner as described for plate Number 1.

Plate Number 3:
The Arkansas Sheriff's Association is to design plate number 3 upon approval of the Department. The

department is authorized to establish fees, the number of applications that must be submitted, or
combination thereof for the initial order of the plates.
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Fees are the regular registration fee, a ten-dollar ($10.00) administrative fee to be deposited to the
State Central Services Fund, and a fund raising fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00). All fees are
annual. The fund raiser fees are to be remitted monthly with seventy-five percent (75%) deposited to
the Arkansas Sheriffs' Association and twenty-five percent (25%) to the Fallen Law Enforcement
Officers' Beneficiary Fund.

Revenue Impact :

Unknown increases in the State Central Services Fund, the Fallen Law Enforcement Officers'
Beneficiary Fund, the Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy Cash Fund, and the Arkansas
Sheriffs' Association, depending on how many vehicle owners choose to register the vehicles with the
new plates.

Taxpayer Impact :

Certified Law Enforcement Officers as defined in the bill can register their vehicles to support the
Fallen Law Enforcement Officers' Beneficiary Fund, the Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy
Cash Fund, and the Arkansas Sheriffs' Association

Resources Required :

A supply of each new plate must be acquired and maintained.

Time Required :

Adequate time is provided.

Procedural Changes :

Program the motor vehicle system for the new plates. Revise Motor Vehicle Procedures Manual and
distribute to Revenue Offices.

Other Comments :

None

Legal Analysis :

HB1857 creates two of the three plates that are created in this bill in Title 27, Chapter 24, Subchapter
14. Under Arkansas law, there is a special application process that must be followed to create a new
special interest license plate in Subchapter 24. . See generally, 88 27-24-1404 and 1405. If the
applicants for the "Support Law Enforcement" group and the "Arkansas Sheriffs' Association" qualify
under § 27-24-1404, they can apply for a license plate under that procedure and one will be issued. If
they do not qualify, then the license plates should be created under a different subchapter of Title 27,
Chapter 24, rather than in Subchapter 14.

Page 4, line 6, the word "to" should be deleted.
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