# **Department of Finance and Administration**

# **Legislative Impact Statement**

# Bill: HB2179 Bill Subtitle: TO PROVIDE FREE SPECIAL LICENSE PLATES TO EX-PRISONERS OF WAR.

#### Basic Change :

#### **Representative Fielding**

Under current law, a fee of one dollar (\$1.00) is charged for an ex-prisoner of war license plate and an additional ex-prisoner of war license plate may be obtained for a fee of one dollar (\$1.00). Additional fees of two dollars seventy-five cents (\$2.75) are charged, one dollar fifty cents (\$1.50) of which is deposited to the Arkansas Development Finance Authority, one dollar (\$1.00) to the State Central Services Fund to support the vehicle streamline renewal program, and twenty-five cents (.25¢) postage. The bill would make both ex-prisoner of war plates free of charge.

#### Revenue Impact :

Very minimal decreases in revenues to the Highway and Transportation Department, the State Central Services Fund, and the Arkansas Development Finance Authority.

# Taxpayer Impact :

Ex-prisoners of war could register two (2) vehicles free of charge.

#### Resources Required :

No additional resources required.

# Time Required :

Adequate time is provided.

# Procedural Changes :

Program the motor vehicle computer system for issuance of the plates at no charge.

#### Other Comments :

None

# Legal Analysis :

HB2179 allows a person who is entitled to be issued an Ex-prisoner of War special license plate to obtain a plate and an additional plate without any charge for the issuance or the renewal of either plate.