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Subtitle CONCERNING RESTITUTION TO THE DEPENDENTS OF A VICTIM OF A FELONY
INVOLVING VIOLENCE AND CREATING THE OFFENSE OF FAILURE TO NOTIFY
EMERGENCY PERSONNEL OF AN ENDANGERED CHILD IN CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES.

Impact Summary* Undetermined.

Change from current law? Amends Arkansas Code Annotated § 5-4-205(b) to allow restitution
payments to the dependent of a victim of a felony involving violence if the victim dies as a result of the
violent felony.

Amends Arkansas Code Title 5, Chapter 27 by creating a new section: 8 5-27-211, Failure to notify
emergency personnel of an endangered child in certain circumstances. An offender is guilty of a D
felony if:

(1) a person commits a felony involving violence as defined in A.C.A. § 5-4-501(d)(2),

(2) as a result of the commission of the felony involving violence, the offender leaves a child at the
location of the felony, resulting in a dangerous situation, and

(3) the offender fails to notify emergency personnel as to the location and condition of the child within a
reasonable time.

Impact Information
Data is unavailable as to the number of occurrences of conduct prohibited in this proposed bill.

For comparison purposes, see Endangering the welfare of a minor, A.C.A. 8§ 5-27-205, 5-27-206, 5-27-
207. (See attached code provisions, page 3-4.)

! This impact assessment was prepared (2/5/15 7:23 a.m.) by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. § 16-
90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Correction and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-
simulation model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following
designations will be used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for
ADC inmate costs; and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds.

2 Standard punishment ranges: Misdemeanors

Class Y 10-40 years or life Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000 Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500
Class A 6-30 years; up to $15,000 Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000 Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000
Class B 5-20 years; up to $15,000 Unclassified As specified in statute Class C  Up to 30 days; up to $500



According to Arkansas Sentencing Commission data, in 2013 there were 1,054 convictions for felonies
involving violence as defined in A.C.A. 8§ 5-4-501(d)(2). These convictions are broken down as
follows:

Murder in the first degree § 5-10-102 66*
Murder in the second degree 8 5-10-103 45*
Kidnapping § 5-11-102 39*
Aggravated Robbery § 5-12-103 117*
Rape § 5-14-103 105*
Battery in the first degree § 5-13-201 174*
Terroristic Act § 5-13-301 64
Sexual assault in the first degree 8 5-14-124 39
Sexual assault in the second degree 8§ 5-14-125 260
Domestic battering in the first degree § 5-26-303 40*
Aggravated residential burglary § 5-39-204 37*

Unlawful discharge of a firearm from a vehicle § 5-74-107 20
Criminal use of prohibited weapons, B felony 8§ 5-73-104 48

The numbers listed above marked with an asterisk (*) include inchoate (conspiracy, attempt, and solicitation)
convictions. These are the only offenses with inchoate versions included in A.C.A. 8 5-4-501(d)(2).

Note: There is nothing in the data that indicates whether a child was present during the commission of any of the
above crimes.



A.C.A § 5-27-205. Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree.

(a) A person commits the offense of endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree if, being a parent,
guardian, person legally charged with care or custody of a minor, or a person charged with supervision of a minor,
he or she purposely:

(1) Engages in conduct creating a substantial risk of death or serious physical injury to a minor; or

(2) Deserts a minor less than ten (10) years old under circumstances creating a substantial risk of death or
serious physical injury.

(b) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree is a Class D felony.

(c) (1) Itis an affirmative defense to a prosecution under this section that a parent voluntarily delivered a child to
and left the child with, or voluntarily arranged for another person to deliver a child to and leave the child with, a
medical provider or law enforcement agency as provided in § 9-34-201 et seq.

(2) (A) Nothing in subdivision (c)(1) of this section shall be construed to create a defense to any prosecution
arising from any conduct other than the act of delivering a child as described in subdivision (c)(1) of this section.

(B) Subdivision (c)(1) of this section specifically does not constitute a defense to any prosecution arising
from an act of abuse or neglect committed prior to the delivery of a child to a medical provider or law
enforcement agency as provided in 8 9-34-201 et seq.

HISTORY': Acts 1975, No. 280, § 2407; A.S.A. 1947, § 41-2407; Acts 2001, No. 236, § 2; 2005, No. 2207, § 1.

A.C.A §5-27-206. Endangering the welfare of a minor in the second degree.

(@) (1) A person commits the offense of endangering the welfare of a minor in the second degree if he or she
knowingly engages in conduct creating a substantial risk of serious harm to the physical or mental welfare of
another person known by the person to be a minor.

(2) As used in this section, "serious harm to the physical or mental welfare" means physical or mental injury
that causes:

(A) Protracted disfigurement;

(B) Protracted impairment of physical or mental health; or

(C) Loss or protracted impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ.
(b) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the second degree is a Class A misdemeanor.

HISTORY: Acts 1975, No. 280, § 2408; A.S.A. 1947, § 41-2408; Acts 2005, No. 2207, § 2.



A.C.A §5-27-207. Endangering the welfare of a minor in the third degree.

(@) (1) A person commits the offense of endangering the welfare of a minor in the third degree if the person
recklessly engages in conduct creating a substantial risk of serious harm to the physical or mental welfare of a
person known by the actor to be a minor.

(2) As used in this section, "serious harm to the physical or mental welfare" means physical or mental injury
that causes:

(A) Protracted disfigurement;

(B) Protracted impairment of physical or mental health; or

(C) Loss or protracted impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ.
(b) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the third degree is a Class B misdemeanor.

HISTORY: Acts 2005, No. 2207, § 3.



