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Subtitle TO REQUIRE THAT A PERSON WHO IS REQUIRED TO REGISTER AS A SEX OFFENDER 

NOTIFY CERTAIN CHURCHES OR PLACES OF WORSHIP THAT HE OR SHE IS A REGISTERED SEX 

OFFENDER. 

 

Impact Summary
1
 Undetermined. 

 

Change from current law
2
 Amends Arkansas Code Title 12, Chapter 12, Subchapter 9 by adding a new 

provision,  A.C.A. § 12-12-928, Duty of a sex offender to notify certain churches or places of worship.  The 

proposed bill creates a Class D felony for knowingly violating this section.  The proposed bill defines “organized 

function or activity” as not to include a church service, Catholic mass, or other formalized period of communal 

worship. 

 

Under A.C.A. § 12-12-928(b), a person who is required to register as a sex offender under this subchapter shall 

notify a religious leader of a church or other place of worship that the person is required to register as a sex 

offender if the person: 

1. Is a member of the congregation of the church or other place of worship;  

2. Participates in an organized function or activity administered, supervised or operated by a church or 

other place of worship; or 

3. Participates in any activity on the grounds of the church or other place of worship that is primarily 

intended for a minor. 

 

Under A.C.A. § 12-12-928(c), if the religious leader of a church or other place of worship is a person who is 

required to register as a sex offender under this subchapter, the religious leader shall notify the governing body of 

the church or other place of worship, if applicable. 

 

Impact Information  

 

Arkansas Crime Information Center (ACIC) reports the following as of March 12, 2015: There are 1,124 level 

one sex offenders on the Arkansas Sex Offender Registry.  There are 5,478 level two sex offenders on the 

                                                           
1  This impact assessment was prepared (3/16/15 at 4:07 p.m.) by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. § 

16-90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Correction and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-

simulation model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following 

designations will be used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for 

ADC inmate costs; and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds. 

 
2   Standard punishment ranges:        Misdemeanors 

Class Y 10-40 years or life   Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000   Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500 

Class A  6-30 years; up to $15,000   Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000  Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000 

Class B  5-20 years; up to $15,000   Unclassified  As specified in statute  Class C Up to 30 days; up to $500 
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Arkansas Sex Offender Registry.  There are 4,722 level three sex offenders on the Arkansas Sex Offender 

Registry.  There are 368 level four sex offenders on the Arkansas Sex Offender Registry.  This would serve as the 

potential pool of offenders under the proposed bill. The impact of this proposed bill cannot be determined. 

 


