Department of Finance and Administration

Legislative Impact Statement

Bill: SB49 Amendment Number: S2

Bill Subtitle: TO REGULATE DRIVER LICENSING; TO IMPROVE DRIVER'S LICENSING PRACTICES AND PROCEDURES; AND TO DECLARE AN EMERGENCY.

.....

Basic Change:

Currently, an applicant for an Arkansas driver's license that has not previously been licensed in another jurisdiction must pass a written examination regarding traffic laws, be issued an instruction permit at least 30 days prior to the date of application for the license, and pass the skills portion of the examination. An instruction permit is issued to an individual at least 14 years old after passage of the written portion of the driving exam and entitles the individual to operate a motor vehicle only if accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old. No license may be issued to an applicant between 16 and 18 without the applicant having been issued a restricted license for at least 6 months prior to the application for license. This bill as amended deletes the requirement that a person between 16 and 18 years old drive with a licensed adult for at least 6 months before that restriction is removed.

After completion of the skills portion of the driving exam, a person may obtain either a learner's license which will expire when the person reaches 16, an intermediate license when a person reaches 16, or an unrestricted license, as outlined in state law. This bill as amended will not change any of the current requirements for persons 14 to 16. Applicants who are age 16 to 18, but are not required to have either a valid instruction permit or learner's license prior to applying for an intermediate license. Current law requires applicants 16 to 18 to have either a valid instruction permit or learner's license prior to the issuance of an intermediate license. Current practice is that instruction permits are issued by the Arkansas State Police, not the Office of Driver Services. This amendment will correct the current law.

This amendment also deletes the Emergency Clause.

Revenue Impact :

If instruction permits and learner's licenses are optional for applicants of an intermediate license, then revenue may be reduced.

Taxpayer Impact:

License holders between the ages of 16 and 18 years of age would no longer be restricted to driving with an adult driver for six (6) months. Applicants for the intermediate license will no longer be required to have a valid instruction permit or learner's license.

Resources Required:

Programming changes and training would be required for DFA to implement these changes.

Time Required :

This amendment deletes the Emergency Clause; No additional time is needed to implement this bill. **Procedural Changes:**

DFA would no longer place the restriction on driver's licenses issued to persons 16 years of age to 18 years of age requiring them to be accompanied by a licensed adult for six (6) months. DFA would no longer require a valid instruction permit or learner's license before issuing an intermediate license.

Legal Analysis:

Amendment No. 2 to SB49 amends SB49 as originally filed by adding additional sponsors, removing the emergency clause, removing the thirty (30) day waiting period between issuance of an instruction permit and the ability to take the skills portion of the driving exam for applicants sixteen (16) years of age and older, and allowing the Arkansas State Police to issue instruction permits for applicants to take the skills portion of the driving exam. Amendment No. 2 as filed is incorporates changes to the bill that were requested by DFA.

1/30/2015 3:51 PM 1

Department of Finance and Administration

Legislative Impact Statement

Bill: SB49 Amendment Number: S2
Bill Subtitle: TO REGULATE DRIVER LICENSING; TO IMPROVE DRIVER'S LICENSING PRACTICES AND PROCEDURES; AND TO DECLARE AN EMERGENCY.

1/30/2015 3:51 PM 2