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Subtitle CONCERNING THE CRIMINAL OFFENSES INVOLVING MISDEMEANOR THEFT
Impact Summary* Medium impact requiring budgetary increases for cost of care.

Change from current law” Amends A.C.A. § 5-36-103(b)(3)(A) to say that theft of property is a Class D felony
if the value of the property is more than five hundred dollars ($500) but less than five thousand dollars ($5000).
Under current law, theft of property is a Class D felony if the value of the property is more than one thousand
dollars ($1000) but less than five thousand dollars ($5000).

Amends A.C.A 8§ 5-36-103(b)(4)(A) to say that theft of property is a misdemeanor if the value of the property is
five hundred dollars ($500) or less. Under current law theft of property is a misdemeanor if the value of the
property is one thousand dollars ($1000) or less.

Amends A.C.A. § 5-36-104(c)(3) to say that theft of services is a Class D felony if the value of the service is more
than five hundred dollars ($500) but less than five thousand dollars ($5000). Under current law, theft of services
is a D felony if the value of the service is more than one thousand dollars ($1000) but less than five thousand
dollars ($5000).

Amends A.C.A 8§ 5-36-105(b) to say that theft of property that is lost, mislaid, or delivered by mistake is a Class
D felony if the value of the property is more than five hundred dollars ($500). Under current law, theft of
property that is lost, mislaid, or delivered by mistake is a Class D felony if the value of the property is more than
one thousand dollars ($1000).

Amends A.C.A. §5-36-106 to say that theft by receiving is a Class D felony if the value of the property is more
than five hundred dollars ($500) but less than five thousand dollars ($5000). Under current law, theft by
receiving is a Class D felony if the value of the property is more than one thousand dollars ($1000) but less than
five thousand dollars ($5000).

See attached for current version of each of these statutes (with emphasis added on relevant subsections).

! This impact assessment was prepared (3/3/2015 at 2:44 p.m.) by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. §
16-90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Correction and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-
simulation model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following
designations will be used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for
ADC inmate costs; and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds.

2 Standard punishment ranges: Misdemeanors

Class Y 10-40 years or life Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000 Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500
Class A 6-30 years; up to $15,000 Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000 Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000
Class B 5-20 years; up to $15,000 Unclassified As specified in statute Class C  Up to 30 days; up to $500



Impact Information

The following projection was prepared with the help of JFA Associates, Denver, CO, using the Wizard Micro-
simulation Projection Model. This impact assessment is based on data from the current prison population
projection using Arkansas Department of Correction (ADC) data from the calendar year ending December 31,
2013.

The projected impact on the resources of ADC is shown in the following table. The impact represents the increase
in the current baseline ADC population over the next ten-year period. Additional budgetary requirements are
calculated using $23,105.72 as the average annual cost of care per inmate. This impact assumes the same level of
admissions through the ten-year period.

Annual
Increase in Annual Increase
Year Population in Cost of Care

2015 0 $0.00
2016 17 $392,797.24
2017 18 $415,902.96
2018 20 $462,114.40
2019 18 $415,902.96
2020 18 $415,902.96
2021 17 $392,797.24
2022 17 $392,797.24
2023 18 $415,902.96
2024 21 $485,220.12
2025 17 $392.797.24
Total $4,182,135.32




A.C.A. 8 5-36-103. Theft of property.

(a) A person commits theft of property if he or she knowingly:

(1) Takes or exercises unauthorized control over or makes an unauthorized transfer of an interest in the
property of another person with the purpose of depriving the owner of the property; or

(2) Obtains the property of another person by deception or by threat with the purpose of depriving the owner of
the property.

(b) Theft of property is a:
(1) Class B felony if:
(A) The value of the property is twenty-five thousand dollars ($ 25,000) or more;
(B) The property is obtained by the threat of serious physical injury to any person or destruction of the
occupiable structure of another person;
(C) The property is obtained by threat and the actor stands in a confidential or fiduciary relationship to the
person threatened;
(D) The property is:
(i) Anhydrous ammonia in any form; or
(i) A product containing any percentage of anhydrous ammonia in any form; or
(E) (i) The property is utility property and the value of the property is five hundred dollars ($ 500) or more.
(ii) As used in subdivision (b)(1)(E)(i) of this section:

(a) "Utility" means any person or entity providing to the public gas, electricity, water, sewer, telephone,
telegraph, radio, radio common carrier, railway, railroad, cable and broadcast television, video, or Internet
services; and

(b) "Utility property" means any component that is reasonably necessary to provide utility services,
including without limitation any wire, pole, facility, machinery, tool, equipment, cable, insulator, switch, signal,
duct, fiber optic cable, conduit, plant, work, system, substation, transmission or distribution structure, line, street
lighting fixture, generating plant, equipment, pipe, main, transformer, underground line, gas compressor, meter, or
any other building or structure or part of a building or structure that a utility uses in the production or use of its
services;

(2) Class C felony if:
(A) The value of the property is less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($ 25,000) but more than five
thousand dollars ($ 5,000);
(B) The property is obtained by threat;
(C) The property is a firearm valued at two thousand five hundred dollars ($ 2,500) or more;
(D) (i) The property is building material obtained from a permitted construction site and the value of the
building material is five hundred dollars ($ 500) or more.
(ii) As used in subdivision (b)(2)(D)(i) of this section:
(a) "Building material" means lumber, a construction tool, a window, a door, copper tubing or wire, or
any other material or good used in the construction or rebuilding of a building or a structure; and
(b) "Permitted construction site™ means the site of construction, alteration, painting, or repair of a
building or a structure for which a building permit has been issued by a city of the first class, a city of the second
class, an incorporated town, or a county; or
(E) The value of the property is five hundred dollars ($ 500) or more and the theft occurred in an area



declared to be under a state of emergency pursuant to proclamation by the President of the United States, the
Governor, or the executive officer of a city or county;

(3) Class D felony if:

(A) The value of the property is five thousand dollars ($ 5,000) or less but more than one thousand dollars
($ 1,000);

(B) The property is a firearm valued at less than two thousand five hundred dollars ($ 2,500);

(C) The property is a:

(i) Credit card or credit card account number; or
(ii) Debit card or debit card account number;

(D) The value of the property is at least one hundred dollars ($ 100) or more but less than five hundred
dollars ($ 500) and the theft occurred in an area declared to be under a state of emergency pursuant to
proclamation by the President of the United States, the Governor, or the executive officer of a city or county;

(E) The property is livestock and the value of the livestock is in excess of two hundred dollars ($ 200); or

(F) The property is an electric power line, gas line, water line, wire or fiber insulator, electric motor, or
other similar apparatus connected to a farm shop, on-farm grain drying and storage complex, heating and
cooling system, environmental control system, animal production facility, irrigation system, or dwelling; or

(4) Class A misdemeanor if:
(A) The value of the property is one thousand dollars ($ 1,000) or less; or
(B) The property has inherent, subjective, or idiosyncratic value to its owner or possessor even if the
property has no market value or replacement cost.

(c) (1) Upon the proclamation of a state of emergency by the President of the United States or the Governor or
upon the declaration of a local emergency by the executive officer of any city or county and for a period of thirty
(30) days following that declaration, the penalty for theft of property is enhanced if the property is:
(A) A generator intended for use by:
(i) A public facility;
(ii) A nursing home or hospital;
(iii) An airport;
(iv) A public safety device;
(v) A communication tower or facility;
(vi) A public utility;
(vii) A water system or sewer system;
(viii) A public safety agency; or
(ix) Any other facility or use providing a vital service; or
(B) Any other equipment used in the transmission of electric power or telephone service.
(2) As used in this subsection:
(A) "Public safety agency" means an agency of the State of Arkansas or a functional division of a political
subdivision that provides:
(i) Firefighting and rescue;
(ii) Natural or human-caused disaster or major emergency response;
(iii) Law enforcement; or
(iv) Ambulance or emergency medical services; and



(B) "Public safety device" includes, but is not limited to, a traffic signaling device or a railroad crossing
device.
(3) The penalty is enhanced as follows:
(A) (i) The fine for the offense shall be at least five thousand dollars ($ 5,000) and not more than fifty
thousand dollars ($ 50,000).
(ii) The fine is mandatory; and
(B) The offense is a Class D felony if it would have been a Class A misdemeanor.

HISTORY': Acts 1975, No. 280, § 2203; 1977, No. 360, § 8; 1979, No. 592, § 1; 1983, No. 719, § 1; AS.A.
1947, § 41-2203; Acts 1987, No. 934, § 3; 1991, No. 712, 8 1; 1995, No. 277, § 1; 1997, No. 516, § 1; 2001, No.
157, § 1; 2001, No. 1195, § 1; 2003, No. 838, § 1; 2005, No. 1442, § 1; 2007, No. 693, § 1; 2007, No. 827, § 39;
2009, No. 1295, § 2; 2011, No. 570, § 23; 2011, No. 1120, § 8; 2011, No. 1227, § 1, 2013, No. 1125, § 7.

A.C.A. § 5-36-104. Theft of services.

() A person commits theft of services if, with purpose to defraud:

(1) The person purposely obtains a service that he or she knows to be available only for compensation, by
deception, threat, or other means to avoid payment for the service; or

(2) Having control over the disposition of a service to which he or she is not entitled, the person purposely
diverts the service to his or her own benefit or to the benefit of another person not entitled to the service.

(b) In a circumstance in which payment is ordinarily made immediately upon the rendering of a service,
absconding without payment or offer to pay gives rise to a presumption that the actor obtained the service with the
purpose of avoiding payment.

(c) Theft of services is a:
(1) Class B felony if:
(A) The value of the service is twenty-five thousand dollars ($ 25,000) or more;
(B) The service is obtained by the threat of serious physical injury to any person or destruction of the
occupiable structure of another person;
(C) The service is obtained by threat, and the actor stands in a confidential or fiduciary relationship to the
person threatened; or
(D) The theft of services involves a theft of a utility service that results in:
(i) Any contamination of a line, pipe, waterline, meter, or other utility property; or
(ii) A spill, dumping, or release of any hazardous material into the environment;
(2) Class C felony if:
(A) The value of the service is less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($ 25,000) but more than five thousand
dollars ($ 5,000); or
(B) The service is obtained by threat;
(3) Class D felony if the value of the service is five thousand dollars ($ 5,000) or less but more than one
thousand dollars ($ 1,000); or
(4) Class A misdemeanor if the theft of services:
(A) Involves a theft of a utility service that results in the destruction or damage to a line, pipe, waterline,
meter, or any other property of the utility; or
(B) Is otherwise committed.



(d) (1) In addition to any other fine that may be levied under 8 5-4-201, any person found guilty of theft of
services under this section is required to make full restitution to the utility from which the service was obtained if
the theft of services involves the theft of a utility service such as a gas, electricity, water, telephone, or cable
television service.

(2) For a prosecution brought under this subsection to enable the court to properly fix the amount of restitution,
after appropriate investigation the prosecuting attorney shall recommend an amount that would make the utility
whole with respect to:

(A) The value of the service received;
(B) The cost of repair of any damage to any:
(i) Line;
(i) Pipe;
(iii) Waterline;
(iv) Meter; or
(v) Other utility property; and
(C) Any other measurable monetary damage directly related to the offense, including the expense of
investigation.

(3) If the defendant disagrees with the recommendation of the prosecuting attorney, he or she is entitled to
introduce evidence in mitigation of the amount recommended.

(4) The monetary judgment for restitution, as provided in this section, becomes a judgment against the
offender and has the same force and effect as any other civil judgment recorded in this state.

HISTORY: Acts 1975, No. 280, § 2204; 1977, No. 360, § 9; 1983, No. 719, § 2; A.S.A. 1947, § 41-2204; Acts
1997, No. 518, § 1; 1999, No. 986, § 1; 2011, No. 570, § 24; 2011, No. 1120, § 15.

A.C.A. § 5-36-105. Theft of property lost, mislaid, or delivered by mistake.

() A person commits theft of property lost, mislaid, or delivered by mistake if the person:

(1) Comes into control of property of another person;

(2) Retains or disposes of the property when the person knows the property to have been lost, mislaid, or
delivered under a mistake as to the identity of the recipient or as to the nature or amount of the property; and

(3) With the purpose of depriving any person having an interest in the property, the person fails to take a
reasonable measure to restore the property to a person entitled to it.

(b) Theft of property lost, mislaid, or delivered by mistake is a:
(1) Class D felony if the value of the property is one thousand dollars ($ 1,000) or more;
(2) Class B misdemeanor if:
(A) The value of the property is less than one thousand dollars ($ 1,000) but more than five hundred dollars
($ 500); or
(B) The property is a:
(i) Credit card or credit card account number; or
(ii) Debit card or debit card account number; or
(3) Class C misdemeanor if otherwise committed.



HISTORY:: Acts 1975, No. 280, § 2205; A.S.A. 1947, § 41-2205; Acts 1997, No. 516, § 2; 1997, No. 518, § 2;
2003, No. 838, § 2.

A.C.A. §5-36-106. Theft by receiving.

() A person commits the offense of theft by receiving if he or she receives, retains, or disposes of stolen property
of another person:

(1) Knowing that the property was stolen; or

(2) Having good reason to believe the property was stolen.

(b) As used in this section, "receiving" means acquiring possession, control, or title or lending on the security of
the property.

(c) The following give rise to a presumption that a person knows or believes that property was stolen:
(1) The unexplained possession or control by the person of recently stolen property; or
(2) The acquisition by the person of property for a consideration known to be far below the property's
reasonable value.

(d) It is a defense to a prosecution for the offense of theft by receiving that the property is received, retained, or
disposed of with the purpose of restoring the property to the owner or another person entitled to the property.

(e) Theft by receiving is a:
(1) Class B felony if the value of the property is twenty-five thousand dollars ($ 25,000) or more;
(2) Class C felony if:
(A) The value of the property is less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($ 25,000) but more than five
thousand dollars ($ 5,000); or
(B) The property is a firearm valued at two thousand five hundred dollars ($ 2,500) or more;
(3) Class D felony if:
(A) The value of the property is five thousand dollars ($ 5,000) or less but more than one thousand dollars
($ 1,000);
(B) The property is a:
(i) Credit card or credit card account number;
(ii) Debit card or debit card account number; or
(iii) Firearm valued at less than two thousand five hundred dollars ($ 2,500); or
(4) Class A misdemeanor if otherwise committed.

(F) A person convicted of a felony offense under this section is subject to an enhanced sentence of an additional
term of imprisonment of five (5) years at the discretion of the court if the finder of fact finds that the stolen
property was nonferrous metal, as it is defined in § 17-44-101.

HISTORY: Acts 1975, No. 280, § 2206; 1977, No. 360, § 10; 1983, No. 719, § 3; A.S.A. 1947, § 41-2206; Acts
1997, No. 303, § 1; 1997, No. 516, § 3; 2003, No. 838, § 3; 2011, No. 570, § 25; 2013, No. 548, § 1; 2013, No.
1354, § 1.



