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Subtitle CONCERNING THE CRIMINAL OFFENSE OF ABUSE OF PUBLIC TRUST.

Impact Summary* Minimal, affecting fewer than ten offenders per year.

Change from current law” Amends A.C.A. § 5-52-101, Abuse of public trust, by creating additional
penalties based on the value of the benefit. Under current law, Abuse of public trust is a Class D felony
regardless of the value of the benefit.

Under the proposed bill, Abuse of public trust is penalized as follows: a Class D felony if the value of
the benefit is less than five thousand dollars ($5,000); a Class C felony if the value of the benefit is five
thousand dollars ($5,000) or more but less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000); or a Class B
felony if the value of the benefit is twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) or more.

Impact Information
The Arkansas Department of Correction (ADC) reports there is currently one (1) inmate serving a term
of incarceration for a violation of A.C.A. § 5-52-101, Abuse of public trust, a Class D felony, as

currently written.

The Administrative Office of the Courts reports in the last three years, there were two (2) convictions for
a violation of A.C.A. 8 5-52-101, Abuse of public trust, Class D felony, as currently written.

! This impact assessment was prepared (3/11/2015 at 1:53 p.m.) by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A.
§ 16-90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Correction and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-
simulation model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following
designations will be used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for
ADC inmate costs; and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds.

2 Standard punishment ranges: Misdemeanors

Class Y 10-40 years or life Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000 Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500
Class A 6-30 years; up to $15,000 Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000 Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000
Class B 5-20 years; up to $15,000 Unclassified As specified in statute Class C  Up to 30 days; up to $500



