Biography of THE HONORABLE LARRY R. TEAGUE ARKANSAS STATE SENATOR



CHAIRMAN – JOINT BUDGET COMMITTEE SENATE DISTRICT 10

Senator Larry R. Teague represents Senate District 10, which is comprised of Howard, Montgomery, Pike and Polk counties as well as portions of Clark, Hempstead, Nevada and Sevier counties. He was re-elected to the Senate in 2012. He is chairman of Joint Budget Committee and Girls State and vice chairman of the Senate Revenue and Tax Committee. In the current 90th General Assembly, his committee memberships include: Senate Insurance & Commerce; Senate Rules, Resolutions & Memorials; Arkansas Legislative Council (ALC)-Review; Joint Public Retirement & Social Security Programs; Legislative Joint Auditing; ALC-Peer; Legislative Joint Auditing-State Agencies; Rural Fire Department Study Committee; Legislative Joint Auditing-Medicaid Subcommittee; ALC-Lottery Oversight Subcommittee and Economic and Tax Policy. He is an ex-officio of five other committees.

During the 89th General Assembly, he was chairman of Joint Budget Committee (JBC) and vice chairman of Senate Revenue and Tax. His other memberships included: Senate Transportation, Technology and Legislative Affairs; Senate Efficiency; Arkansas Legislative Council (ALC); Legislative Joint Auditing; ALC-Administrative Rules & Regulations; Legislative Facilities; Joint Performance Review; Legislative Joint Auditing-State Agencies; ALC-Review; Joint Advanced Communications and Information Technology; ALC-Peer; Legislative Joint Auditing-Medicaid Subcommittee; Rural Fire Departments Study Committee; and Economic and Tax Policy. In the 88th General Assembly, he was chairman of the Senate Revenue and Tax Committee and the Federal Stimulus Money Subcommittee of Arkansas Legislative Council (ALC). He was vice-chairman of ALC - Policy Making and held membership on several other committees, including Arkansas Legislative Council; Joint Budget Committee; Legislative Joint Auditing; Senate Insurance and Commerce; Senate Rules, Resolutions and Memorials;

JBC-Personnel; Girls State; and Economic and Tax Policy. During the 87th General Assembly, Teague was chairman of the Senate Subcommittee on Economic and Tax Policy, Senate Waterways and Aeronautics Subcommittee, and the Electronic Records Study Commission. He held membership on Arkansas Legislative Council; Legislative Joint Auditing; Senate Transportation, Technology and Legislative Affairs; Senate Revenue and Tax; Joint Advanced Communications and Information Technology; ALC - Peer; ALC - Personnel; Rural Fire Department Study Committee; and the Task Force on Reducing Poverty and Promoting Economic Opportunity.

Senator Teague is active with several key national organizations, including the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), where he serves on the Budgets and Review Standing Committee; the Southern Legislative Conference (SLC), where he serves on the Fiscal Affairs and Government Operations Committee; and the Council of State Governments where he serves on the Fiscal & Economic Development Public Policy Committee. Senator Teague is a 2012 graduate of the Henry Toll Fellowship Program sponsored by the Conference of State Governments.

A former alderman for the City of Nashville, Senator Teague was elected to the Arkansas House of Representatives in 1997 and served three consecutive terms. During his political career, he has been recognized by many organizations and groups:

- 2013 Champion of Advanced Energy, Arkansas Advanced Energy Association
- 2013 Legislator of the Year, Arkansas Forestry Association
- 2011 Arkansas Prosecuting Attorneys Association Advocate of Justice Award
- 2011 Appreciation Award for Legislative Efforts and Support, Arkansas Dental Association
- Outstanding State Legislator of 2011, Arkansas State Employees Association
- 2011 Community Service Award, Mental Health Council
- 2011 Freedom Champion Award from Arkansas Bikers Aiming towards Education
- 2011 Kids Count Coalition Champion, Arkansas Advocates for Children and Families
- 2002 Rural Advocate of the Year
- 2001 Named by the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette as one of the Ten Best Legislators of the General Assembly

- Arkansas Municipal League Distinguished Service Award in 1997 and 2001
- Legislator of the Year, Arkansas School Counselors Association Southwest Region
- Statesmanship Award, Arkansas Hospital Association

A native of Nashville, Arkansas, Senator Teague attended the University of Arkansas and Texarkana Community College. He attends First United Methodist Church in Nashville, where he teaches Sunday school and is a lay speaker. He and his wife of over 30 years, Debbie, have one son, one daughter and two granddaughters.