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Subtitle  TO BE KNOWN AS “SHANNON’S LAW”; AND CONCERNING THE POSSESSION AND 

SALE OF BLUE LIGHTS AND LAW ENFORCEMENT INSIGNIA. 
 

Impact Summary1  Minimal, affecting fewer than ten offenders per year. 

  

Change from current law2 Amends Arkansas Code Annotated § 5-77-201, Unlawful possession, purchase, 

sale or transfer of a blue light or blue lens cap, to expand the scope and penalty of the statute.  Under current 

law, it is unlawful to sell or transfer a blue light or blue lens cap to any person other than a law enforcement 

officer or county coroner and unlawful to buy a blue light or blue lens cap unless the purchaser is a law 

enforcement officer or county coroner.  Under the proposed bill, it is unlawful for a person to knowingly (1) 

possess or purchase a blue light or blue lens cap unless that person is a law enforcement officer, auxiliary law 

enforcement officer, county coroner, or legitimate seller of blue lights or blue lens caps, (2) sell or transfer a 

blue light or blue lens cap to another person who is not a law enforcement officer, auxiliary law enforcement 

officer, county coroner, or legitimate seller of blue lights or blue lens caps. The proposed bill also raises the 

penalty for a violation of A.C.A. § 5-77-201 from a Class D felony to a Class C felony. 
 

Amends A.C.A. § 5-77-202, Law enforcement insignia sales, to raise the penalty from a Class A 

misdemeanor to a Class D felony, allow for a currently appointed auxiliary law enforcement officer to 

lawfully purchase insignia, and add a requirement that a law enforcement officer lawfully purchasing 

insignia be currently employed as a law enforcement officer. 

  

Impact Information  
The Arkansas Department of Correction reports that as of January 30, 2017, there are no inmates serving a 

sentence for A.C.A. § 5-77-201, Blue light or blue lens caps sales, Class D felony, as currently written. The 

Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) reports that from January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2015 there 

was one (1) conviction for A.C.A. § 5-77-201, Blue light or blue lens caps sales, Class D felony, as currently 

written.  AOC reports that for the same time period, there were no convictions for A.C.A. § 5-77-202, Law 

enforcement insignia sales, Class A misdemeanor, as currently written.  Because of the small number of 

convictions for the statutes amended by this bill, the projected impact is minimal. 

                                                           
1  This impact assessment was prepared (2/2/2017, 7:40 a.m.) by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. § 

16-90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Correction and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-

simulation model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following 

designations will be used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for 

ADC inmate costs; and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds. 

 
2   Standard punishment ranges:        Misdemeanors 

Class Y 10-40 years or life   Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000   Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500 

Class A  6-30 years; up to $15,000   Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000  Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000 

Class B  5-20 years; up to $15,000   Unclassified  As specified in statute  Class C Up to 30 days; up to $500 
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