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Subtitle  TO BE KNOWN AS “SHANNON’S LAW”; AND CONCERNING THE POSSESSION AND 

SALE OF BLUE LIGHTS AND LAW ENFORCEMENT INSIGNIA. 
 

Impact Summary1  Minimal, affecting fewer than ten offenders per year. 

  

Change from current law2 Amends Arkansas Code Annotated § 5-77-201, to expand the scope and penalty 

of the statute.  Under current law, it is unlawful to sell or transfer a blue light or blue lens cap to any person 

other than a law enforcement officer or county coroner and unlawful to buy a blue light or blue lens cap 

unless the purchaser is a law enforcement officer or county coroner.  Under the proposed bill, it is unlawful 

for a person to (1) knowingly possess or purchase a blue light or blue lens cap with the purpose to unlawfully 

use the blue light or blue lens cap (2) transfer a blue light or blue lens cap to another person whom the actor 

knows or should know has a purpose to unlawfully use the blue light or blue lens cap. The proposed bill also 

raises the penalty for a violation of A.C.A. § 5-77-201 from a Class D felony to a Class C felony and creates 

exceptions for a certain persons who possess a blue light or blue lens cap with a lawful purpose. 
 

Amends A.C.A. § 5-77-202, Law enforcement insignia sales, to raise the penalty from a Class A 

misdemeanor to a Class D felony, allow for a currently appointed auxiliary law enforcement officer to 

lawfully purchase insignia, and add a requirement that a law enforcement officer lawfully purchasing 

insignia be currently employed as a law enforcement officer. 

  

Impact Information  
 

The Arkansas Department of Correction reports that as of January 30, 2017, there are no  inmates serving a 

sentence for A.C.A. § 5-77-201, Blue light or blue lens caps sales, Class D felony, as currently written. The 

Administrative Office of the Courts reports that from 1/1/2013 to 12/31/2014 there was 1 conviction for 

A.C.A. § 5-77-201, Blue light or blue lens caps sales and no convictions for A.C.A. § 5-77-202, law 

enforcement insignia sales, as currently written. Because of the small number of convictions for this bill, the 

impact is minimal. 

                                                           
1  This impact assessment was prepared (2/7/2017, 8:08 a.m.) by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. § 

16-90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Correction and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-

simulation model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following 

designations will be used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for 

ADC inmate costs; and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds. 

 
2   Standard punishment ranges:        Misdemeanors 

Class Y 10-40 years or life   Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000   Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500 

Class A  6-30 years; up to $15,000   Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000  Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000 

Class B  5-20 years; up to $15,000   Unclassified  As specified in statute  Class C Up to 30 days; up to $500 
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