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Subtitle TO DETER ACTS OF VIOLENCE AGAINST A LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER, A
FIREFIGHTER, A FIRST RESPONDER, OR A FAMILY MEMBER OF A LAW ENFORCEMENT
OFFICER, FIREFIGHTER, OR FIRST RESPONDER; AND TO CREATE A SENTENCE
ENHANCEMENT.

Impact Summary® Cannot be determined.

Change from current law® Amends Arkansas Code Annotated § 5-4-701, Definitions, by defining first
responder and law enforcement officer. Under the proposed bill, a first responder means a firefighter or a
person employed as an emergency medical provider and law enforcement officer includes prosecuting
attorney or a deputy prosecuting attorney, code enforcement officer, and corrections officer.

Amends Arkansas Code Title 5, Chapter 4, Subchapter 7, by creating a new section: § 5-4-704, Sentence
enhancement for offenses committed because of victim’s or a victim’s family’s personal characteristics.
Under the proposed bill, a person is subject to an enhanced sentence if the person purposely selected the
victim of an offense committed by the person because of the victim’s actual or perceived employment as a
law enforcement officer or first responder or because the victim was the actual or perceived spouse or child
of a law enforcement officer or first responder. The proposed enhancement is applied as follows: For a
misdemeanor conviction, an additional fine of not more than $5,000 and an additional term of imprisonment
of up to six (6) months in county jail, to be run consecutively to any other sentence; and for a felony
conviction, an additional fine of not more than $5,000 and an additional term of imprisonment of not more
than five (5) years, to be run consecutively to any other sentence.

The proposed enhancement is not available if the victim of the offense is a law enforcement officer or first
responder and an element of the offense is that the victim is a law enforcement officer or first responder.

Impact Information Because this proposed bill creates a new offense, data is unavailable as to the likely
number of convictions per year. Therefore, the impact of this proposed bill is undetermined.

! This impact assessment was prepared (1/17/2017, 12:02 p.m.) by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. §
16-90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Correction and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-
simulation model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following
designations will be used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for
ADC inmate costs; and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds.

2 Standard punishment ranges: Misdemeanors

Class Y 10-40 years or life Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000 Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500
Class A 6-30 years; up to $15,000 Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000 Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000
Class B 5-20 years; up to $15,000 Unclassified As specified in statute Class C  Up to 30 days; up to $500



Under the proposed bill, the enhancement is not available if the victim of the offense is a law enforcement
officer or first responder and an element of the offense is that the victim is a law enforcement officer or first
responder. These offenses include, but are not limited to, the following:
e Capital Murder, A.C.A. § 5-10-101(a)(3),
Battery I, A.C.A. § 5-13-201,
Battery Il, A.C.A. § 5-13-202(a)(4)(A),
Aggravated assault on a law enforcement officer, A.C.A. 8 5-13-211,
Criminal Impersonation, A.C.A. § 5-37-208,
Filing instrument affecting title or interest in real property, A.C.A. § 5-37-226,
Resisting arrest, A.C.A. 8 5-54-103,
Interference with a law enforcement officer, A.C.A. 8 5-54-104,
Project a laser light on a law enforcement officer, A.C.A. § 5-54-132, and
Terrorism — enhanced penalties, A.C.A. § 5-54-206.

Other States

Currently, Louisiana is the only state that has enacted similar legislation. There are no inmates currently
serving a sentence in the Louisiana Department of Correction under this law. Colorado, lowa, Florida,
Kentucky, New York, Texas and Wisconsin have pending legislation similar to the proposed bill.



