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Subtitle  CONCERNING CREDIT OR DEBIT CARD “SKIMMING”; AND AMENDING THE OFFENSE OF 

FINANCIAL IDENTIFY FRAUD. 
 

Impact Summary
1
  Cannot be determined. 

  

Change from current law
2
 Amends Arkansas Code Title 5, Chapter 37, Subchapter 2, to add an additional 

section, § 5-37-218, Unlawful possession of a skimmer. Under the proposed bill, a person commits the offense of 

unlawful possession of a skimmer if, he or she knowingly possesses a skimmer with the purpose to commit an 

offense under Title 5, Chapter 37, Subchapter 2. The proposed offense is a Class C felony. 

 

The proposed bill also amends A.C.A. § 5-37-227, Financial identify fraud to amend the elements of the offense 

and add definitions of “Check,” “Debit card,” “Financial sight order or payment card information,” “Payment 

card,” and “Skimmer.”  

 

Under current law, a person commits financial identity fraud if, with the purpose to create, obtain, or open a credit 

account, debit account, or other financial resource for his or her benefit or for the benefit of a third party, he or she 

accesses, obtains, records, or submits to a financial institution another person’s identifying information for the 

purpose of opening or creating a credit account, debit account, or financial resource without the authorization of 

the person identified by the information; or appropriate a financial resource of another person to his or her own 

use or to the use of a third party without the authorization of that other person, the actor uses a scanning device; or 

uses a re-encoder.  

 

Under the proposed bill, a person commits financial identify fraud if (1) for his or her benefit, or the benefit of a 

third party, he or she accesses, obtains records, or submits to a financial institution, another person’s identifying 

information with the purposes to create, obtain, or open a credit account, debit account, or financial resource 

without the authorization of the other person; (2) he or she uses a scanning device, re-encoder, or a skimmer for 

the purpose of appropriating a financial resource, financial sight order information, or payment card information 

of another person to his or her own use or to the use of a third party without the authorization of the other person; 

or (3) he or she transfers to another person a financial resource, a financial sight order, or payment card 

                                                           
1  This impact assessment was prepared (3/14/2017, 12:26 p.m.) by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. § 

16-90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Correction and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-

simulation model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following 

designations will be used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for 

ADC inmate costs; and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds. 

 
2   Standard punishment ranges:        Misdemeanors 

Class Y 10-40 years or life   Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000   Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500 

Class A  6-30 years; up to $15,000   Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000  Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000 

Class B  5-20 years; up to $15,000   Unclassified  As specified in statute  Class C Up to 30 days; up to $500 
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information knowing that the other person is not entitled to obtain or possess the financial resource, financial sight 

order, or payment card information. Financial identity fraud remains a Class B felony if the victim is an elder 

person or a disabled person or a Class C felony if otherwise committed. 

  

Impact Information  

The proposed bill creates a new offense for which data on the number of occurrences does not exist.  The 

proposed bill also adds a new course of conduct for which data on the number of occurrences does not exist. 

Therefore, the impact on the financial resources of the State cannot be determined.  The following data is for 

informational purposes only. 

 

The Arkansas Department of Correction reports that as of January 31, 2017, there are eighteen (18) inmates 

serving a sentence for A.C.A. § 5-37-227, Financial Identity Fraud, a Class C felony.  There are another four (4) 

inmates serving a sentence for A.C.A. § 5-37-227, Financial Identity Fraud, where the victim is elderly or 

incompetent, a Class B Felony. 
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A.C.A. § 5-37-227.  Financial identity fraud -- Nonfinancial identity fraud -- Restitution -- Venue. 

 

  (a) A person commits financial identity fraud if, with the purpose to: 

   (1) Create, obtain, or open a credit account, debit account, or other financial resource for his or her benefit or for the benefit 

of a third party, he or she accesses, obtains, records, or submits to a financial institution another person's identifying 

information for the purpose of opening or creating a credit account, debit account, or financial resource without the 

authorization of the person identified by the information; or 

   (2) Appropriate a financial resource of another person to his or her own use or to the use of a third party without the 

authorization of that other person, the actor: 

      (A) Uses a scanning device; or 

      (B) Uses a re-encoder. 

 

(b) A person commits nonfinancial identity fraud if he or she knowingly obtains another person's identifying information 

without the other person's authorization and uses the identifying information for any unlawful purpose, including without 

limitation: 

   (1) To avoid apprehension or criminal prosecution; 

   (2) To harass another person; or 

   (3) To obtain or to attempt to obtain a good, service, real property, or medical information of another person. 

 

(c) As used in this section: 

   (1) "Disabled person" means the same as defined in § 4-88-201; 

   (2) "Elder person" means the same as defined in § 4-88-201; 

   (3) "Financial institution" includes, but is not limited to, a credit card company, bank, or any other type of lending or credit 

company or institution; 

   (4) "Financial resource" includes, but is not limited to, a credit card, debit card, or any other type of line of credit or loan; 

   (5) "Identifying information" includes, but is not limited to, a: 

      (A) Social security number; 

      (B) Driver's license number; 

      (C) Checking account number; 

      (D) Savings account number; 

      (E) Credit card number; 

      (F) Debit card number; 

      (G) Personal identification number; 

      (H) Electronic identification number; 

      (I) Digital signature; or 

      (J) Any other number or information that can be used to access a person's financial resources; 

   (6) "Re-encoder" means an electronic device that places encoded information from the magnetic strip or stripe of a payment 

card onto the magnetic strip or stripe of a different card; and 

   (7) "Scanning device" means a scanner, reader, or any other electronic device that is used to access, read, scan, obtain, 

memorize, or store, temporarily or permanently, information encoded on the magnetic strip or stripe of a payment card. 

(d) The provisions of this section do not apply to any person who obtains another person's driver's license or other form of 

identification for the sole purpose of misrepresenting the actor's age. 

 

(e)  (1) Except as provided in subdivision (e)(2) of this section, financial identity fraud is a Class C felony. 

   (2) Financial identify fraud is a Class B felony if the victim is an elder person or a disabled person. 

 

(f)  (1) Except as provided in subdivision (f)(2) of this section, nonfinancial identity fraud is a Class D felony. 

   (2) Nonfinancial identity fraud is a Class C felony if the victim is an elder person or a disabled person. 
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(g)  (1) In addition to any penalty imposed under this section, a violation of this section constitutes an unfair or deceptive act 

or practice as defined by the Deceptive Trade Practices Act, § 4-88-101 et seq. 

   (2) Any remedy, penalty, or authority granted to the Attorney General or another person under the Deceptive Trade 

Practices Act, § 4-88-101 et seq., is available to the Attorney General or that other person for the enforcement of this section. 

 

(h)  (1)  (A) In addition to any penalty imposed under this section, upon conviction for financial identity fraud or nonfinancial 

identity fraud, a court may order the defendant to make restitution to any victim whose identifying information was 

appropriated or to the estate of the victim under § 5-4-205. 

      (B) In addition to any other authorized restitution, the restitution order described in subdivision (h)(1)(A) of this section 

may include without limitation restitution for the following financial losses: 

         (i) Any costs incurred by the victim in correcting the credit history or credit rating of the victim; and 

         (ii) Any costs incurred in connection with any civil or administrative proceeding to satisfy any debt, lien, or other 

obligation resulting from the theft of the victim's identifying information, including lost wages and attorney's fees. 

      (C) The court also may order restitution for financial loss to any other person or entity that suffers a financial loss from a 

violation of subsection (a) or (b) of this section. 

   (2) A judgment entered under this section and § 5-4-205 does not bar a remedy available in a civil action to recover 

damages relating to financial identity fraud or nonfinancial identity fraud. 

 

(i) Venue for any criminal prosecution under this section or any civil action to recover damages relating to financial identity 

fraud or nonfinancial identity fraud is proper in any of the following venues: 

   (1) In the county where the violation occurred; 

   (2) If the violation was committed in more than one (1) county, or if the elements of the offense were committed in more 

than one (1) county, then in any county where any violation occurred or where an element of the offense occurred; 

   (3) In the county where the victim resides; or 

   (4) In the county where property that was fraudulently used or attempted to be used was located at the time of the violation. 

 

HISTORY: Acts 1999, No. 568, § 1; 1999, No. 1578, § 1; 2005, No. 280, § 1; 2005, No. 1018, § 1; 2007, No. 85, § 1; 2009, 

No. 748, § 20. 


