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Subtitle CONCERNING THE ENTRY UPON A SCHOOL CAMPUS BY A PERSON WHO IS REQUIRED
TO REGISTER AS A SEX OFFENDER.

Impact Summary* Minimal, affecting fewer than ten offenders per year.

Change from current law? Amends Arkansas Code Annotated § 5-14-132, Registered offender prohibited from
entering upon school campus — Exception. Currently, a Level 3 or 4 sex offender is prohibited from knowingly
entering a school campus except in limited circumstances, including when attending a school sponsored event for
which an admission fee is charged or tickets are sold or distributed, if the offender has been assessed as a Level 3
offender and is the parent or guardian of or is related by blood or marriage within the fourth degree of
consanguinity to a student enrolled in the public school. This exception does not apply to Level 4 sex offenders.
Note: This impact focuses solely on the section amended by this bill; for a complete reprint of the code provision,
see attached.

Under the proposed bill, the level of consanguinity found in this exception is amended. A Level 3 offender may
enter the campus for attending a school sponsored event for which an admission fee is charged or tickets are sold
or distributed if he or she is a parent or guardian of or is related by blood or marriage within the second degree of
consanguinity to a student enrolled in the public school.

Impact Information

The proposed bill further restricts the type of sex offender that is prohibited from attending a school-sponsored
event for which an admission fee is charged or tickets are sold. Due to the small number of offenders incarcerated
for a conviction under the current law, the projected impact is minimal. The following numbers are provided for
informational purposes only.

The Arkansas Crime Information Center reports the following as of December 11, 2018: There are 4,975 Level 3
sex offenders on the Arkansas Sex Offender Registry. This would serve as the potential pool of offenders under
the proposed bill.

! This impact assessment was prepared (1/15/2019, 2:41 p.m.) by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. 8§
16-90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Correction and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-
simulation model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following
designations will be used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for
ADC inmate costs; and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds.

2 Standard punishment ranges: Misdemeanors

Class Y 10-40 years or life Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000 Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500
Class A 6-30 years; up to $15,000 Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000 Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000
Class B 5-20 years; up to $15,000 Unclassified As specified in statute Class C  Up to 30 days; up to $500



The Arkansas Department of Correction reports that there are six (6) inmates serving a sentence for A.C.A. § 5-
14-132, Registered offender prohibited from entering upon school campus — Exception, Class D felony, as
currently written. Three (3) of these offenders are serving a sentence for which A.C.A. § 5-14-132 is the most
serious offense.

The Administrative Office of the Courts reports that for the three year period beginning January 1, 2015 and
ending December 31, 2017, there were five (5) convictions for a violation of A.C.A. § 5-14-132, Registered
offender prohibited from entering upon school campus — Exception, Class D felony, as currently written.



A.C.A. §5-14-132. Registered offender prohibited from entering upon school campus -- Exception.
(@) As used in this section:

(1) "Campus" means the real property, a building, or any other improvement in this state owned, leased,
rented, or controlled by or for the operation of a public school;

(2) "Private school" means a school offering instruction for a grade in kindergarten through grade twelve
(K-12) in this state that is not a public school; and

(3) "Public school" means any school in this state that is:

(A) A public school operated by a public school district;

(B) A charter school established under the Public School Funding Act of 2003, § 6-20-2301 et seq.;

(C) A state-funded prekindergarten program operated by a public school or an education service
cooperative;

(D) The Arkansas School for the Blind,;

(E) The Arkansas School for the Deaf;

(F) The Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts;

(G) An educational facility of the Division of Youth Services of the Department of Human Services or
contracting with the Division of Youth Services; or

(H) An educational facility of the Division of Developmental Disabilities Services of the Department of
Human Services.

(b) It is unlawful for a sex offender who is required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act of
1997, 8 12-12-901 et seq., and who has been assessed as a Level 3 or Level 4 offender to knowingly enter
upon the campus of a public school.

(c) Itis not a violation of this section if the sex offender:

(1) Is less than twenty-two (22) years of age and is a student enrolled in a grade kindergarten through twelve
(K-12) program;

(2) Enters upon the campus for the purpose of attending a graduation ceremony or a baccalaureate
ceremony;

(3) Enters upon the campus on a day that is not designated a student contact day by the public school's
calendar or on a day in which no school-sponsored event is taking place upon the campus;

(4) Is the parent or guardian of a student enrolled in a public school and enters upon the campus where the
student is enrolled for the purpose of:

(A) Delivering to the student medicine, food, or personal items if the medicine, food, or personal items are
delivered directly to the public school's office; or

(B) Attending a scheduled parent-teacher conference if the sex offender is escorted to and from the
scheduled parent-teacher conference by a designated public school official or employee; or

(5) Has been assessed as a Level 3 offender and enters upon the campus for the purpose of attending a
school-sponsored event for which an admission fee is charged or tickets are sold or distributed if the sex
offender:

(A)

(i) Isthe parent or guardian of or is related by blood or marriage within the fourth degree of consanguinity to
a student enrolled in the public school.

(if) The degree of consanguinity is computed under § 28-9-212; and

(B) Notifies the administration of the school in writing at least twenty-four (24) hours before the start of the
school-sponsored event for which an admission fee is charged or tickets are sold or distributed that he or she
will be attending the school-sponsored event for which an admission fee is charged or tickets are sold or
distributed.



(d)

(1) A sex offender who is the parent or guardian of a student enrolled in a public school and wishes to enter
upon the campus where the student is enrolled for any other purpose shall give reasonable notice to the
public school principal or his or her designee.

()

(A) The public school principal or his or her designee may allow the parent or guardian sex offender to enter
upon the campus so long as there is a designated public school official or employee available to escort and
supervise the parent or guardian sex offender while he or she remains on campus.

(B) If a designated public school official or employee is not available at the time the parent or guardian sex
offender wishes to enter upon the campus, the parent or guardian sex offender shall not enter upon the
campus until he or she is notified that a designated public school official or employee is available.

(e) Upon conviction, any sex offender who violates this section is guilty of a Class D felony.

(F Itis unlawful for a sex offender who is required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act of
1997, 8 12-12-901 et seq., and who has been assessed as a Level 3 or Level 4 offender to knowingly enter
upon the campus of a private school without:

(1) Notifying the private school; and

(2) Subsequently complying with any terms or conditions the private school requires before the sex offender
is permitted to enter onto the campus.

History: Acts 2007, No. 992, § 1; 2009, No. 748, § 15; 2017, No. 267, § 1; 2017, No. 909, 88 1, 2.



