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Subtitle AMENDING THE SENTENCING RANGE FOR THE OFFENSE OF BATTERY IN THE
SECOND DEGREE.

Impact Summary® Cannot be determined.

Change from current law® Amends Arkansas Code Annotated § 5-13-202, Battery in the second degree, to
increase the penalty when a person recklessly causes serious physical injury to another person while operating
or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle or motorboat if, at the time, the person is intoxicated or the
alcohol concentration in the person’s breath or blood is eight-hundredths (0.08) or more based upon the
definition of alcohol concentration in § 5-65-204. Currently, this conduct is a Class D felony. Under the
proposed bill, this conduct is a Class C felony.

Impact Information

While the increase from a Class D felony to a Class C felony will likely have an effect on prison sentences for
the conduct covered by the proposed bill, charging practices across the State vary. Some sentencing data is
available for battery in the second degree - motor vehicle or motor boat, but there are three (3) other courses of
conduct by which a person can commit battery in the second degree. Because the course of conduct covered
by this proposed bill is not uniformly notated by its individual sub-section in available data, the impact cannot
be determined. The following data is provided for informational purposes only.

The Arkansas Department of Correction reports that there are currently seven (7) inmates serving a term of
incarceration for which A.C.A. § 5-13-202(a)(3)(B), Battery in the second degree - motor vehicle or motor
boat, is the primary offense. There are an additional 188 inmates serving a term of incarceration for which
A.C.A. § 5-13-202, Battery in the second degree, is the primary offense.

The Administrative Office of the Courts reports that for the three (3) year period beginning January 1, 2015
and ending December 31, 2017, there were 33 convictions for a violation of A.C.A. § 5-13-202(a)(3)(B),
Battery in the second degree - motor vehicle or motor boat. Only eighteen (18) counties reported any
convictions for A.C.A. § 5-13-202(a)(3)(B), Battery in the second degree - motor vehicle or motor boat. There
were an additional 1,146 convictions for a violation of A.C.A. § 5-13-202, Battery in the second degree
(covering all courses of conduct).

b This impact assessment was prepared (3/7/2019, 3:52 p.m.) by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A.
C. A. § 16-90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Correction and the Administrative Office of the
Courts. A micro-simulation model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources.
The following designations will be used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require
budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs; and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and
construction costs for additional beds.

2 Standard punishment ranges: Misdemeanors

Class Y 10-40 years or life Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000 Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500
Class A 6-30 years; up to $15,000 Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000 Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000
Class B 5-20 years; up to $15,000  Unclassified As specified in statute Class C  Up to 30 days; up to $500



According to the Arkansas State Police Traffic Crash Statistics for 2014 (the most recent year for which a
report has been published), there were 206 crashes resulting in an “incapacitating injury” and in which alcohol
was a factor. [See below for definition of “incapacitating injury” as used in the 2014 report]. This data does
not differentiate between those crashes in which the driver was legally intoxicated and those in which alcohol
was otherwise a factor. Data also does not indicate whether the person injured was the driver or another
person. Further, the definition of “incapacitating injury” includes some injuries which may not rise to the level
of “serious physical injury” as required in this proposed bill.

Incapacitating Injury (code 2) — Any injury, other than a fatal injury, which prevents the injured
person from walking, driving or normally continuing the activities the person was capable of
performing before the injury occurred.
Inclusions:
e Severe lacerations
Broken or distorted limbs
Skull or chest injuries
Abdominal injuries
Unconsciousness at or when taken from the scene
Unable to leave the scene without assistance
e And others
Exclusions:
e Momentary unconsciousness
e And others



