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Su.btitle TO PROHIBIT A REGISTERED SEX OFFENDER FROM RECORDING A PERSON UNDER
FOURTEEN (14) YEARS OF AGE IN CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES; AND TO PROHIBIT THE
UNLAWFUL USE OF A RECORDING OF A PERSON UNDER FOURTEEN (14) YEARS OF AGE
ONLINE.

Impact Summary® Cannot be determined.

Change from current law? Amends Arkansas Code Title 5, Chapter 14, Subchapter 1, by creating Arkansas
Code Annotated § 5-14-135, Registered offender prohibited from recording a person under 14 years of age -
Unlawful use of recording online. The proposed offense is classified as a Class D felony. Please note that
this impact focuses solely on the provision which creates a new felony offense.

Under the proposed bill, it is unlawful for a person who is required to register under the Sex Offender
Registration Act of 1977, A.C.A. § 12-12-901 et seq., and who has been assessed as a Level 3 or Level 4
offender to knowingly:
(1) record a person under fourteen (14) years of age and post the recording on an online social media
platform or other internet website that allows the using or posting of a recording in any form after the
person has previously been warned of his or her possible criminal exposure by a judge at his or her
sentencing for the offense for which he or she is required to register as a sex offender, or by his or
her parole of probation officer that recording a person under fourteen (14) years of age is a violation
of his or her terms and conditions of his or her probation or parole, or
(2) record a person under fourteen (14) years of age and post the recording on an online social media
platform or other internet website that allows the using or posting of a recording in any form in a
manner that would suggest to a reasonable person that the person recording and posting the recording
was doing so to unlawfully incite the prurient interest of himself, herself, or another person.

The proposed bill also defines “record”, creates affirmative defenses to prosecution for this offense, creates
notice requirements at sentencing and assessment, and requires that this prohibition be a term and condition
of probation or parole for all Level 3 and 4 sex offenders under felony probation or parole.

! This impact assessment was prepared (2/5/2019, 10:38 a.m.) by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. §
16-90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Correction and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-
simulation model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following
designations will be used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for
ADC inmate costs; and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds.

2 Standard punishment ranges: Misdemeanors

Class Y 10-40 years or life Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000 Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500
Class A 6-30 years; up to $15,000 Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000 Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000
Class B 5-20 years; up to $15,000 Unclassified As specified in statute Class C  Up to 30 days; up to $500



Impact Information
Because this proposed bill creates a new offense, data is unavailable as to the likely number of convictions

per year. Therefore, the impact of this proposed bill cannot be determined. The following numbers are
provided for informational purposes only. The Arkansas Crime Information Center reports the following as
of December 11, 2018: There are 4,975 Level 3 and 432 Level 4 sex offenders on the Arkansas Sex
Offender Registry. This would serve as the potential pool of offenders under the proposed bill.



