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Subtitle TO CREATE THE OFFENSE OF KNOWINGLY EXPOSING ANOTHER PERSON TO
FENTANYL.

Impact Summary! Cannot be determined. The proposed bill creates a new offense for which the number of
likely convictions cannot be determined.

Change from Current Law? Amends Title 5, Chapter 13 of the Arkansas Criminal Code to create the new
criminal offense of Knowingly exposing another person to fentanyl, § 5-13-214.

Under the proposed bill, a person commits the offense of Knowingly exposing another person to fentanyl in the
first degree if the person knowingly exposes another person to fentanyl and the other person suffers serious
physical injury as a result of the exposure to fentanyl. Knowingly exposing another person to fentanyl in the
first degree is a Class Y felony if the other person is a first responder or employee of a correctional facility, or a
Class A felony if otherwise committed.

Under the proposed bill, a person commits the offense of Knowingly exposing another person to fentanyl in the
second degree if the person knowingly exposes another person to fentanyl and the other person suffers physical
injury as a result of the exposure to fentanyl. Knowingly exposinganother person to fentanyl in the first degree
is a Class A felony if the other person is a first responder or employee of a correctional facility, or a Class B
felony if otherwise committed.

The proposed bill also contains relevant exceptions and definition language.

Impact Information Because the proposed bill creates new courses of conduct for which the likely number of
convictionsis unavailable, the projected impact cannotbe determined. The following data on the similar criminal
offense of A.C.A. 8 5-13-210, Introduction of controlled substance into body of another person, is provided for
informational purposes only.

The Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) reports that for the three (3) year period beginning on 1/1/2020

1 This impact assessment was prepared 3/28/2023 9:05 AM by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. § 16-
90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Corrections and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-simulation
model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following designations will be
used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs;
and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds.

2 Standard punishment ranges: Misdemeanors
Class Y 10-40 years or life Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000 Class A Upto 1 year; up to $2,500
Class A 6-30 years; up to $15,000 Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000 Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000

Class B 5-20 years; up to $15,000 Unclassified As specified in statute Class C Up to 30 days; up to $500



and ending on 12/31/2022, there were 29 felony convictions of A.C.A. § 5-13-210, Introduction of controlled
substance into body of another person. The Division of Correction (ADC) reports that as of December 2, 2022,
there are currently 18 offendersservingaterm of incarceration fora violation of A.C.A. 8§ 5-13-210, Introduction
of controlled substance into body of another person. Of these, 9 are serving a term of incarceration for which
A.C.A. 8 5-13-210 is the primary offense.



A.C.A §8 5-13-210. Introduction of controlled substance into body of another person.

(a) It is unlawful for any person to inject any controlled substance as defined by the Uniform Controlled
Substances Act, 8 5-64-101 et seq., into the human body of another person, unless the controlled substance
has been ordered for the person receiving the controlled substance by a licensed practitioner, licensed by the
state to prescribe controlled substances in the schedule involved and this being for a legitimate medical
purpose.

(b) It is unlawful for any person to administer or cause to be ingested, inhaled, or otherwise introduced into the
human body of another person a controlled substance as defined by the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, §
5-64-101 et seq., unless the controlled substance has been ordered for the person receiving the controlled
substance by a licensed practitioner, licensed by the state to prescribe controlled substances in the schedule
involved and this being for a legitimate medical purpose.

(c) Any person who violates this section with respect to:

(1) A controlled substance in Schedule | or Schedule I1, which is a narcotic drug, is guilty of a Class Y felony;
(2) Any other controlled substance in Schedule I, Schedule 11, or Schedule 111 is guilty of a Class B felony; or
(3) Any other controlled substance in Schedule 1V, Schedule V, or Schedule VI is guilty of a Class C felony.
(d) The provisions of this section and any criminal penalty provided for in this section are in addition to any
other criminal penalty a person may be subjected to under a provision of the Arkansas Criminal Code or the
Uniform Controlled Substances Act, 8 5-64-101 et seq.

(e) Itis not a defense under a provision of this section that a person:

(1) Consented to being injected with the controlled substance; or

(2) Ingested, inhaled, or otherwise introduced the controlled substance into his or her human body knowingly
and voluntarily.

(f) Notwithstanding a provision of subsection (c) of this section, any person is guilty of a Class Y felony who
violates this section by introducing a controlled substance into the body of another person without that other
person's knowledge or consent with the purpose of:

(1) Committing any felony sexual offense, as defined in Arkansas law;

(2) Engaging in any unlawful sexual act, as defined in § 5-14-101 et seq.;

(3) Engaging in any unlawful sexual contact, as defined in § 5-14-101; or

(4) Engaging in any act involving a child engaging in sexually explicit conduct, as defined in § 5-27-302.

History

Acts 1987, No. 848, 88 1-3;1999, No. 516, § 1.



