State of Arkansas

Department of Finance and Administration
Fiscal Impact Statement

Bill: HB1135

Bill Subtitle: TO ALLOW THE ISSUANCE OF A DIGITIZED IDENTIFICATION CARD; TO AMEND
THE LAW CONCERNING THE FEE FOR ISSUANCE OF A DIGITIZED DRIVER'S LICENSE OR
DIGITIZED IDENTIFICATION CARD; AND TO DECLARE AN EMERGENCY.

Sponsaors:

Rep. Achor and Sen. Boyd

Basic Change:

Act 261 of 2023 required the Office of Driver Services of DFA (ODS) to offer an applicant with a valid
Arkansas driver's license the additional option to access a digitized or mobile driver's license (mDL)
upon payment of $10. The "digitized driver's license" or mDL is a data file:

e Available on a mobile device that has connectivity to the internet through an application that allows
the mobile device to download the data file from ODS or its authorized representative;

e Containing all of the same data elements visible on the face and back of the identification card,;
and

e Displaying the current status of the identification card.

Act 261 of 2023 is effective on February 1, 2025. HB1135 seeks to amend the requirements of Act 261

by:

e Providing for the issuance of a digitized state identification card in addition to a digitized driver's
license; and

e Authorizing ODS to collect less than the required $10 fee for the issuance of the digitized driver's
license or state identification card.

Fiscal Impact:
None.

Taxpayer Impact:

The holder of Arkansas state identification card would have the option to access a digitized version of
his or her identification card.

Resources Required:

None.

Time Required:

Adequate time is provided for implementation.
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Procedural Changes:

Updates will be required to the Motor Vehicle manual and the DFA website. Training and review
sessions will be conducted for employees of State Revenue offices, the Office of Driver Services, and
the Office of Motor Vehicle. Notification will also be provided to the taxpayer community.

Other Comments:

None.

Legal Analysis:

None.
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