State of Arkansas

Department of Finance and Administration
Fiscal Impact Statement

Bill: HB1435

Bill Subtitle: TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING INCOME TAX CREDITS FOR CHILD CARE; TO
AMEND THE INCOME TAX CREDIT FOR EMPLOYER-PROVIDED CHILD CARE; TO PROVIDE AN
INCOME TAX CREDIT FOR LICENSED CHILDCARE PROVIDERS; AND TO DECLARE AN
EMERGENCY.

Sponsaors:

Rep. Achor and Sens. English and Irvin

Basic Change:

HB1435 restructures the income tax credit for employer-provided childcare and creates an income tax
credit for childcare providers.

Income Tax Credit for Employer-Provided Childcare --- Under current law, an employer who
provides childcare for employees is allowed an income tax credit equal to either:

o 3.9% of the annual salary paid by the employer to its employees who are employed exclusively in
providing childcare services; or
e A $5,000 credit for the first tax year the business provides a childcare facility for its employees.

HB1435 replaces the current employer-provided childcare tax credit with a new non-refundable income
tax credit for an employer that provides childcare services for an employee. The new income tax credit
is equal to the expenses incurred by the employer to:

e Construct, renovate, expand, or repair a childcare facility to provide childcare services for
employees;

e Pay a licensed childcare facility to provide childcare services for employees;
Pay a licensed childcare facility to reserve childcare services for employees; and
50% of the amount contributed by the employer for dependent care assistance under a dependent
care assistance program as provided in 25 U.S.C. 8129, provided that, the employer shall not
receive more than $2,500 per employee that benefits from a dependent care assistance program.

HB1435 limits the credit to $500,000 per taxpayer per tax year and the total aggregate amount of
credits for all employers to $15 million per calendar year. $3.75 million of the $15 million is annually
reserved to provide tax credits to rural employers or small businesses. A business is a rural employer if
it is not located in a city having a population of more than 25,000. A business is a small business if it
has fewer than 250 employees and less than $5 million in annual revenue.

HB1435 requires the Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) to establish a form and an
administrative process for an employer to use when claiming the tax credit. This form shall be used by
the taxpayer to apply for the credit, to certify the expenses for which the credit is claimed, and to
provide documentation substantiating the amount of credit claimed. If the employer is a tax-exempt
entity, the employer may sell the tax credits it earned.

2/18/2025 12:18 PM 1



State of Arkansas

Department of Finance and Administration
Fiscal Impact Statement

Bill: HB1435

Bill Subtitle: TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING INCOME TAX CREDITS FOR CHILD CARE; TO
AMEND THE INCOME TAX CREDIT FOR EMPLOYER-PROVIDED CHILD CARE; TO PROVIDE AN
INCOME TAX CREDIT FOR LICENSED CHILDCARE PROVIDERS; AND TO DECLARE AN
EMERGENCY.

Income Tax Credit for Childcare Providers --- HB1435 creates a non-refundable income tax credit
for a person or facility that owns or operates a childcare facility licensed by the Department of Human
Services. The credit is calculated by multiplying the average monthly number of eligible children
enrolled in the childcare facility during the tax year by $1,500. The credit may not exceed $25,000 per
taxpayer per tax year.

HB1435 provides that the total amount of credits issued to all childcare facilities in a calendar year
cannot exceed $5 million. Also, $1.125 million of the $5 million is annually reserved for childcare
facilities located in cities having a population of 25,000 or less.

HB1435 requires DFA to establish a form and application process to be used by a childcare provider to
apply for the credit. If the childcare facility is a tax-exempt entity, it may sell the income tax credits it
earned.

HB1435 is effective for tax years beginning on and after January 1, 2026.

Fiscal Impact:

FY2026 - $20 Million General Revenue Reduction

[ Fiscal impact was determined using information obtained from the Arkansas Division of Elementary
and Secondary Education showing the capacity for childcare was sufficient to reach the maximum caps

for both tax credits in the bill. ]

Taxpayer Impact:

An employer who invests in the construction, renovation, expansion, or repair of a childcare facility for
use by their employees or provides childcare benefits for employees may qualify for an income tax
credit up to $500,000 per year. A licensed childcare provider may qualify for an income tax credit up to
$25,000 per year. For either credit, a taxpayer shall apply to DFA and provide supporting
documentation.

Resources Required:

Computer programs, tax forms, and instructions will need to be updated. Programming costs for the
Arkansas Integrated Revenue System (AIRS) are estimated to be $20,000. DFA would require
additional staff to review employer expenses and to award and track tax credit maximums. The
anticipated cost for one Fiscal Support Analyst is $50,000 per year.

Time Required:

Adequate time is provided for implementation.
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Procedural Changes:

Department employees will need to be educated as well as the tax community. DFA will create a
standardized form for the taxpayer to use to apply for the income tax credit. DFA may promulgate rules
to administer the section.

Other Comments:

The bill references the Arkansas Better Chance program and facility licensing under the Department of
Human Services starting on page 4, line 15. That function is now under the Department of Education.

The bill includes detailed eligibility requirements and application procedures to ensure compliance.
DFA will need to establish a process for allocating tax credits and verifying expenses. The caps on
available credits may result in denied claims if demand exceeds supply.

Legal Analysis:

HB1435 may benefit from an amendment to address how the annual limitations are to be administered
if income tax credits are claimed in excess of the provided limitations. HB1435 may benefit from an
amendment to clarify the treatment of any portion of the tax credit a taxpayer is unable to use because
the amount of the credit exceeds their tax liability. HB1435 may also benefit from an amendment to
change the annual aggregate limitation for both credits to a limitation per tax year rather than per
calendar year.

HB1435 may benefit from an amendment to define "licensed childcare provider" on page 6, line 20, to
include a "person or entity" rather than a "person or facility." An entity, such as a corporation or LLC,
files tax returns.

HB1435 appears to contain a drafting error. Page 6, line 30, states, "Subject to the limitations stated
this section, the". The bill should likely state, "Subject to the limitations stated in this section, the".
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