1	INTERIM RESOLUTION 2015-003
2	
3	SUPPORTING THE REQUESTS SUBMITTED BY THE GOVERNOR OF ARKANSAS TO
4	THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES TO DECLARE A MAJOR DISASTER
5	FOR THE STATE OF ARKANSAS AND TO THE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE TO
6	DECLARE A SECRETARIAL DISASTER DESIGNATION FOR CERTAIN ARKANSAS
7	COUNTIES AFFECTED BY RECENT SEVERE WEATHER CONDITIONS, FLOODING,
8	AND TORNADOES.
9	
10	WHEREAS, the joint meeting of the Senate Committee on Insurance and
11	Commerce; the House Committee on Insurance and Commerce; the Senate Committee
12	on Agriculture, Forestry, and Economic Development; and the House Committee
13	on Agriculture, Forestry, and Economic Development on June 24, 2015,
14	considered levee integrity in the State of Arkansas and the devastation to
15	the state due to recent severe weather conditions and flooding; and
16	
17	WHEREAS, Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson has submitted a request to
18	the President of the United States to declare that a major disaster or
19	emergency exists in the State of Arkansas; and
20	
21	WHEREAS, a Presidential disaster declaration will activate various
22	federal relief programs to provide individual and public assistance needed
23	during recovery efforts in the State of Arkansas; and
24	
25	WHEREAS, Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson has submitted a request to
26	the United States Department of Agriculture for a United States Department of
27	Agriculture Secretarial disaster designation for the following Arkansas
28	counties detrimentally affected by recent severe weather conditions and
29	flooding: Boone, Carroll, Conway, Craighead, Crawford, Cross, Faulkner,
30	Franklin, Fulton, Garland, Greene, Hot Spring, Howard, Independence, Izard,
31	Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Little River, Logan, Madison, Marion,
32	Miller, Monroe, Perry, Phillips, Pike, Poinsett, Pope, Prairie, Scott,
33	Sebastian, Sharp, White, Woodruff, and Yell; and
34	
35	WHEREAS, additional Arkansas counties including Columbia, Hempstead,
36	Lafayette, and Nevada, may be included in the United States Department of

Agriculture Secretarial disaster designation to assist citizens of this state 1 2 in their recovery efforts; and 3 4 WHEREAS, a United States Department of Agriculture Secretarial disaster 5 designation will enable the Farm Service Agency to offer emergency loans to 6 eligible farmers whose lives and livelihoods have been detrimentally affected 7 by recent severe weather conditions and flooding; and 8 9 WHEREAS, it is important that the state take all available action to 10 encourage and support those Arkansas counties affected by recent severe 11 weather conditions and flooding; and 12 WHEREAS, the President of the United States should declare that a major 13 14 disaster or emergency exists in the State of Arkansas due to the devastation 15 caused by recent severe weather conditions and flooding; and 16 17 WHEREAS, the United States Department of Agriculture should declare a 18 United States Department of Agriculture Secretarial disaster designation for 19 certain Arkansas counties that have been detrimentally affected by severe 20 weather conditions and flooding in the State of Arkansas, 21 22 NOW THEREFORE, 23 BE IT JOINTLY RESOLVED BY THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON INSURANCE AND COMMERCE; THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON INSURANCE AND COMMERCE; THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON 24 25 AGRICULTURE, FORESTRY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT; AND THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON 26 AGRICULTURE, FORESTRY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OF THE NINETIETH GENERAL 27 ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: 28 29 THAT the Senate Committee on Insurance and Commerce; the House Committee on Insurance and Commerce; the Senate Committee on Agriculture, 30 31 Forestry, and Economic Development; and the House Committee on Agriculture, 32 Forestry, and Economic Development support Governor Asa Hutchinson's request for a Presidential disaster declaration for the State of Arkansas. 33 34 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the Senate Committee on Insurance and 35 36 Commerce; the House Committee on Insurance and Commerce; the Senate Committee

1 on Agriculture, Forestry, and Economic Development; and the House Committee 2 on Agriculture, Forestry, and Economic Development urge the President of the 3 United States to declare a major disaster or emergency exists in the State of 4 Arkansas and provide a Presidential disaster declaration for the State of 5 Arkansas. 6 7 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the Senate Committee on Insurance and 8 Commerce; the House Committee on Insurance and Commerce; the Senate Committee 9 on Agriculture, Forestry, and Economic Development; and the House Committee on Agriculture, Forestry, and Economic Development support Governor Asa 10 11 Hutchinson's request for a United States Department of Agriculture 12 Secretarial disaster designation for certain Arkansas counties affected by severe weather conditions and flooding. 13 14 15 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the Senate Committee on Insurance and 16 Commerce; the House Committee on Insurance and Commerce; the Senate Committee 17 on Agriculture, Forestry, and Economic Development; and the House Committee on Agriculture, Forestry, and Economic Development urge the United States 18 19 Department of Agriculture to declare a United States Department of 20 Agriculture Secretarial disaster designation for certain Arkansas counties 21 affected by severe weather conditions and flooding. 22 23 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption of this resolution, the staff 24 of the Bureau of Legislative Research transmit a copy to the President of the 25 United States, the United States Secretary of Agriculture, and the Governor of the State of Arkansas. 26 27 28 Respectfully submitted, 29 30 31 32 Senator Jason Rapert, Chair, Senate Committee on Insurance and Commerce 33 District 35 34 35

36

```
1
     Senator Ronald Caldwell, Chair, Senate Committee on Agriculture, Forestry,
 2
     and Economic Development
3
     District 23
 4
5
 6
7
     Representative Charlie Collins, Chair, House Committee on Insurance and
8
     Commerce
9
     District 84
10
11
12
     Representative Dan M. Douglas, Chair, House Committee on Agriculture,
13
14
     Forestry, and Economic Development
15
     District 91
16
17
18
19
     Representative David Hillman, Vice Chair, House Committee on Agriculture,
20
     Forestry, and Economic Development
21
     District 13
22
23
24
25
     Senator Bruce Maloch
26
     District 12
27
28
29
     By: ANS/ANS
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
```