1	INTERIM RESOLUTION 2019-004
2	
3	REQUESTING THAT THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL ENCOURAGE THE
4	UNITED STATES SENATE TO EXERCISE ITS FULL CONSTITUTIONAL
5	AUTHORITY AS QUICKLY AS POSSIBLE REGARDING THE IMPEACHMENT
6	PROCESS AGAINST PRESIDENT DONALD J. TRUMP AND CONDEMNING THE
7	ACTIONS OF THE UNITED STATES HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES IN PASSING
8	AND HOLDING ARTICLES OF IMPEACHMENT AGAINST PRESIDENT DONALD J.
9	TRUMP.
10	
11	WHEREAS, each member of the United States Congress took an oath to
12	uphold the United States Constitution and serve the people of the United
13	States; and
14	
15	WHEREAS, the United States Constitution limits the use of impeachment
16	to the rare cases of high crimes and misdemeanors; and
17	
18	WHEREAS, in the Federalist Papers, Alexander Hamilton warned of the
19	danger of impeachment becoming a partisan exercise based on the comparative
20	strength of the parties instead of actual guilt or innocence; and
21	
22	WHEREAS, the articles of impeachment passed by some members of the
23	United States House of Representatives against President Trump fail to rise
24	to the constitutional requirement of high crimes and misdemeanors and, for
25	the first time in history, cite no alleged violation of federal law; and
26	
27	WHEREAS, the articles of impeachment were passed over bipartisan
28	opposition in a rushed, partisan manner without providing President Trump the
29	opportunity to call witnesses; and
30	
31	WHEREAS, there are many serious issues that the United States Congress
32	is responsible for and should be addressing, including protecting taxpayers'
33	money from waste, maintaining our military for times of declared war,
34	securing our borders through proper immigration and naturalization laws, and
35	leaving all unenumerated powers to the control of the individual states; and

36

1 WHEREAS, this resolution commends the four (4) members of the Arkansas 2 congressional delegation to the United States House of Representatives, all 3 of whom voted against the articles of impeachment; and 4 5 WHEREAS, this resolution urges the two (2) United States Senators 6 representing Arkansas to continue focusing on serving the people of Arkansas 7 and to work to end this partisan impeachment process as quickly as possible; 8 9 10 WHEREAS, the United States House of Representatives, having exercised its full authority, should immediately transmit the articles of impeachment 11 12 to the United States Senate; and 13 14 WHEREAS, President Donald J. Trump was duly elected by the people of 15 this great nation in accordance with the requirements of the United States 16 Constitution, and members of the United States Congress should respect their 17 oath of office and the will of the people, 18 19 NOW THEREFORE, 20 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL OF THE NINETY-SECOND 21 GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: 22 23 THAT the Arkansas Legislative Council encourage the United States 24 Senate to exercise its full constitutional authority as quickly as possible 25 regarding the impeachment process against President Donald J. Trump. 26 27 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Arkansas Legislative Council hereby 28 condemn the actions of the members of the United States House of 29 Representatives in passing and holding the articles of impeachment against 30 President Donald J. Trump, the duly elected President of the United States, 31 instead of performing the serious work required by the United States 32 Constitution that the American people elected them to fulfill and that each 33 member swore an oath to uphold. 34

2

President Donald J. Trump, the Clerk of the United States House of

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this resolution be delivered to

35

36

```
1
     Representatives, the Secretary of the United States Senate, and the members
 2
     of the Arkansas congressional delegation.
 3
 4
 5
     Respectfully submitted,
 6
 7
 8
 9
     Senator Missy Irvin
10
     District 18
11
12
13
14
     Senator Alan Clark
15
     District 13
16
17
18
19
     Senator Bob Ballinger
20
     District 5
21
22
23
24
     Senator Bart Hester
25
     District 1
26
27
28
29
     Senator Mark Johnson
30
     District 15
31
32
33
34
     Senator Lance Eads
35
     District 7
36
```

1	
2	
3	Senator Jonathan Dismang
4	District 28
5	
6	
7	
8	Senator Breanne Davis
9	District 16
10	
11	
12	
13	Senator Kim Hammer
14	District 33
15	
16	
17	
18	Senator Ricky Hill
19	District 29
20	
21	
22	
23	Senator David Wallace
24	District 22
25	
26	
27	
28	Senator Terry Rice
29	District 9
30	
31	
32	
33	Senator Jane English
34	District 34
35	
36	

1	
2	Senator Trent Garner
3	District 27
4	
5	
6	
7	Senator Jason Rapert
8	District 35
9	
10	
11	
12	Senator Jim Hendren
13	District 2
14	
15	
16	
17	Senator Mathew Pitsch
18	District 8
19	
20	
21	
22	Senator Scott Flippo
23	District 17
24	
25	
26	
27	Senator Gary Stubblefield
28	District 6
29	
30	
31	
32	Senator Cecile Bledsoe
33	District 3
34	
35	
36	

1	Senator Blake Johnson
2	District 20
3	
4	
5	
6	Senator John Cooper
7	District 21
8	
9	
10	
11	Senator James Sturch
12	District 19
13	
14	
15	
16	Senator Jimmy Hickey, Jr
17	District 11
18	
19	
20	
21	Senator Ronald Caldwell
22	District 23
23	
24	
25	
26	Senator Bill Sample
27	District 14
28	
29	Prepared by: JLL/JLL
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	