1	INTERIM STUDY PROPOSAL 2011-079	
2	State of Arkansas As Engros	ssed: S3/15/11 S3/17/11
3	88th General Assembly	A Bill
4	Regular Session, 2011	SENATE BILL 347
5		
6	By: Senator R. Thompson	
7		Filed with: Interim Senate Committee on Judiciary
8		pursuant to A.C.A. §10-3-217.
9	For An	Act To Be Entitled
10	AN ACT TO REAPPORTION THE COURT OF APPEALS DISTRICTS;	
11	AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.	
12		
13		
14		Subtitle
15	TO REAPPORTION THE COURT OF APPEALS	
16	DISTRICTS.	
17		
18		
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:	
20		
21	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code §	16-12-201 is amended to read as follows:
22	16-12-201. Court of Appeals — Districts.	
23	The State of Arkansas is div	rided into the following seven (7) districts
24	for the election of judges to the Court of Appeals:	
25	(l) District l shall	be composed of:
26	<u>(A)</u> Clay, Craig	head, <del>Crittenden</del> , Cross, Greene, <u>Lawrence,</u>
27	Lonoke, <del>Mississippi</del> , Monroe, Poins	sett, Prairie, <u>Randolph,</u> White, and Woodruff
28	counties; <u>and</u>	
29	<u>(B) The portion</u>	ns of Crittenden County and Mississippi
30	County that are not a part of subd	district 2.1 that was created under Hunt v.
31	State of Arkansas, consent decree	# PB-C-89-406;
32	(2) District 2 shall	be composed of Baxter, Boone, Carroll,
33	Cleburne, Conway, Faulkner, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence,	
34	Marion, Newton, Pope, <del>Randolph,</del> Se	earcy, Sharp, Stone, and Van Buren counties;
35	(3) District 3 shall be composed of Benton, Carroll, Crawford,	
36	Franklin, Johnson, Madison, and Wa	ashington counties;

1	(4) District 4 shall be composed of <del>Clark,</del> <u>Franklin,</u> Garland,		
2	Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, <u>Johnson,</u> Little River, Logan, <u>Madison,</u> Miller		
3	Montgomery, Pike, Polk, Scott, Sebastian, Sevier, and Yell counties;		
4	(5) District 5 shall be composed of Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun,		
5	Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Drew, Grant, Lafayette, Lincoln, Nevada,		
6	Ouachita, Pike, and Union counties;		
7	(6) District 6 shall be composed of Pulaski, Perry, and Saline		
8	counties; and		
9	(7) District 7 shall be composed of:		
10	(A) Arkansas, Chicot, Desha, Jefferson, Lee, Phillips, and		
11	St. Francis counties: and		
12	(B) The portions of Crittenden County and Mississippi		
13	County that are a part of subdistrict 2.1 that was created under Hunt v.		
14	State of Arkansas, consent decree # PB-C-89-406.		
15			
16	/s/R. Thompson		
17			
18	Referred by the Arkansas Senate		
19	Prepared by: MBM/VJF		
20			
21			
22			
23			
24			
25			
26			
27			
28			
29			
30			
31			
32			
33			
34			
35			
36			