1	INTERIM STUDY PROPOSAL 2013-064
2	State of Arkansas
3	89th General Assembly A Bill
4	Regular Session, 2013HOUSE BILL 1263
5	
6	By: Representatives Steel, Wright
7	Filed with: Interim House Committee on Judiciary
8	pursuant to A.C.A. §10-3-217.
9	For An Act To Be Entitled
10	AN ACT TO CEASE THE TRANSFER OF SOME DISTRICT COURTS
11	TO THE STATE DISTRICT COURT SYSTEM UNTIL FURTHER
12	LEGISLATIVE ACTION; TO PRESERVE THE ADMINISTRATION OF
13	JUSTICE FUND; TO PROTECT STATE TRIAL COURT ASSISTANTS
14	BY REPEALING JUDICIAL POSITIONS NOT YET FILLED; AND
15	FOR OTHER PURPOSES.
16	
17	
18	Subtitle
19	TO CEASE THE TRANSFER OF SOME DISTRICT
20	COURTS TO THE STATE DISTRICT COURT
21	SYSTEM; TO PRESERVE THE ADMINISTRATION OF
22	JUSTICE FUND; TO PROTECT STATE TRIAL
23	COURT ASSISTANTS BY REPEALING JUDICIAL
24	POSITIONS NOT YET FILLED.
25	
26	
27	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
28	
29	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 16-17-1112 is repealed.
30	16-17-1112. Reorganization of local district courts to state district
31	courts as of January 1, 2017.
32	(a)(1) Beginning January 1, 2017, the following cities and counties
33	that are currently served by local district courts pursuant to § 16-17-901 et
34	seq. shall be reorganized as state district courts and served by a state
35	district court judge.

.

1	(2) The new state district court judgeships created by this
2	section shall become effective January 1, 2017, and shall be placed on the
3	ballot to be elected in the 2016 nonpartisan judicial election from the newly
4	constructed judicial district.
5	(3) The cities and counties which were previously served by
6	local district courts and will be served by state district courts shall
7	comply with the cost-sharing requirements established in § 16-17-1106,
8	effective January 1, 2017.
9	(b)(l)(A) The Second District shall be composed of Washington County
10	and the city limits of Springdale as of January 1, 2011, including that
11	portion of the City of Springdale which extends into Benton County.
12	(B) The Second District shall have ten (10) departments as
13	follows:
14	(i) One (1) located in Springdale;
15	(ii) One (1) located in Elm Springs;
16	(iii) One (1) located in Johnson;
17	(iv) One (1) located in Fayetteville;
18	(v) One (1) located in Elkins;
19	(vi) One (1) located in West Fork;
20	(vii) One (1) located in Greenland;
21	(viii) One (1) located in Prairie Grove;
22	(ix) One (1) located in Lincoln; and
23	(x) One (1) located in Farmington.
24	(C) The Second District shall be served by four (4) state
25	district court judges;
26	(i) One (l) judgeship first to be elected in 2016
27	and to become effective January 1, 2017, shall be designated as Division 1;
28	(ii) One (1) judgeship first to be elected in 2016
29	and to become effective January 1, 2017, shall be designated as Division 2;
30	(iii) One (1) judgeship first to be elected in 2016
31	and to become effective January 1, 2017, shall be designated as Division 3;
32	and
33	(iv) One (1) judgeship first to be elected in 2016
34	and to become effective January 1, 2017, shall be designated as Division 4.

I.S.P. 2013-064

1	(D) The presiding judge of the departments under
2	subdivision (b)(3)(B) of this section shall be determined by the mutual
3	agreement of the state district court judges.
4	(E) The Second District judges shall be elected
5	districtwide.
6	(F) The Second District court shall have district wide
7	jurisdiction.
8	(2)(A) The Third District shall be composed of the counties of
9	Carroll and Madison.
10	(B) The Third District shall have three (3) departments as
11	follows:
12	(i) One (1) located in Berryville;
13	(ii) One (1) located in Eureka Springs; and
14	(iii) One (1) located in Huntsville.
15	(C) The Third District shall be served by one (1) state
16	district court judge.
17	(D) The Third District judge shall be elected
18	districtwide.
19	(E) The Third District court shall have district-wide
20	jurisdiction.
21	(3)(A) The Seventh District shall be composed of the counties of
22	Franklin and Johnson.
23	(B) The Seventh District shall have six (6) departments as
24	follows:
25	(i) One (1) located in Charleston;
26	(ii) One (1) located in Ozark;
27	(iii) One (1) located in Altus;
28	(iv) One (1) located in Clarksville;
29	(v) One (1) located in Coal Hill; and
30	(vi) One (1) located in Lamar.
31	(C) The Seventh District shall be served by one (1) state
32	district court judge.
33	(D) The Seventh District judge shall be elected
34	districtwide.
35	(E) The Seventh District court shall have district wide
36	jurisdiction.

I.S.P. 2013-064

1	(4)(A) The Twenty-Seventh District shall be composed of the
2	counties of Desha and Chicot.
3	(B) The Twenty-Seventh District shall have five (5)
4	departments as follows:
5	(i) One (1) located in Dermott;
6	(ii) One (1) located in Eudora;
7	(iii) One (1) located in Lake Village;
8	(iv) One (1) located in Dumas; and
9	(v) One (1) located in McGehee.
10	(C) The Twenty-Seventh District shall be served by one (1)
11	state district court judge.
12	(D) The Twenty-Seventh District judge shall be elected
13	districtwide.
14	(E) The Twenty-Seventh District court shall have district-
15	wide jurisdiction.
16	(5)(A) The Thirtieth District shall be composed of Lonoke
17	County.
18	(B) The Thirtieth District shall have seven (7)
19	departments as follows:
20	(i) One (1) located in Cabot;
21	(ii) One (1) located in Ward;
22	(iii) One (1) located in Austin;
23	(iv) One (1) located in Lonoke;
24	(v) One (1) located in England;
25	(vi) One (1) located in Carlisle; and
26	(vii) One (1) located in Allport.
27	(C) The Thirtieth District shall be served by one (1)
28	state district court judge.
29	(D) The Thirtieth District judge shall be elected
30	districtwide.
31	(E) The Thirtieth District court shall have district-wide
32	jurisdiction.
33	(6)(A) The Forty-First District shall be composed of Garland
34	County.
35	(B) The Forty-First District shall have three (3)
36	departments as follows:

I.S.P. 2013-064

1	(i) Two (2) located in Hot Springs; and
2	(ii) One (1) located in Mountain Pine.
3	(C) The Forty-First District shall be served by two (2)
4	state district court judges.
5	(D) The Forty-First District judges shall be elected
6	districtwide.
7	(E) The Forty-First District court shall have district-
8	wide jurisdiction.
9	
10	
11	Referred by the Arkansas House of Representatives
12	Prepared by: BPG/VJF
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	