1	INTERIM STUDY PROPOSAL 2015-076
2	State of Arkansas
3	90th General Assembly A Bill
4	Regular Session, 2015 HOUSE BILL 1400
5	
6	By: Representatives B. Overbey, Gossage
7	By: Senator G. Stubblefield
8	Filed with: House Committee on Judiciary
9	pursuant to A.C.A. §10-3-217
10	For An Act To Be Entitled
11	AN ACT CONCERNING THE REORGANIZATION OF THE LOCAL
12	DISTRICT COURTS TO STATE DISTRICT COURTS IN THE
13	SEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.
14	
15	
16	Subtitle
17	CONCERNING THE REORGANIZATION OF THE
18	LOCAL DISTRICT COURTS TO STATE DISTRICT
19	COURTS IN THE SEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT.
20	
21	
22	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
23	
24	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 16-17-1112(b)(3), concerning reorganization
25	of local district courts to state district courts in the Seventh District as
26	of January 1, 2017, is repealed.
27	(3)(A) The Seventh District shall be composed of the
28	counties of Franklin and Johnson.
29	(B) The Seventh District shall have six (6) departments as
30	follows:
31	(i) One (1) located in Charleston;
32	(ii) One (1) located in Ozark;
33	(iii) One (1) located in Altus;
34	(iv) One (1) located in Clarksville;
35	(v) One (1) located in Coal Hill; and
36	(vi) One (1) located in Lamar.

1	(C) The Seventh District shall be served by one (1) state
2	district court judge.
3	(D) The Seventh District judge shall be elected
4	districtwide.
5	(E) The Seventh District court shall have district-wide
6	jurisdiction.
7	
8	SECTION 2. Arkansas Code Title 16, Chapter 17, Subchapter 11, is
9	amended to add a new section to read as follows:
10	16-17-1113. Reorganization of local district courts to a state
11	district court of the Seventh Judicial District as of January 1, 2025.
12	(a)(1) Beginning January 1, 2025, the cities and counties of the
13	Seventh Judicial District that are currently served by local district courts
14	under § 16-17-901 et seq. shall be reorganized into a state district court
15	district and served by a state district court judge as provided in subsection
16	(b) of this section.
17	(2) The new state district court judgeship created in the
18	Seventh Judicial District by this section shall become effective January 1,
19	2025, and shall be placed on the ballot to be elected in the 2024 nonpartisan
20	judicial election from the newly constructed state district court district.
21	(3) The cities and counties of the Seventh Judicial District
22	which were previously served by local district courts and will be served by a
23	state district court shall comply with the cost-sharing requirements
24	established in § 16-17-1106, effective January 1, 2025.
25	(b)(1) The Seventh Judicial District shall be composed of the counties
26	of Franklin and Johnson.
27	(2) The Seventh District shall have six (6) departments as
28	follows:
29	(A) One (1) located in Charleston;
30	(B) One (1) located in Ozark;
31	(C) One (1) located in Altus;
32	(D) One (1) located in Clarksville;
33	(E) One (1) located in Coal Hill; and
34	(F) One (1) located in Lamar.
35	(3) The Seventh Judicial District shall be served by one (1)
36	state district court judge.

1		(4)	The	Seventh	Judicial	District	judge	shall	be e	<u>lected</u>
2	districtwid	le .								
3		<u>(5)</u>	The	Seventh	Judicial	District	court	shall	have	district-wide
4	jurisdictio	n.								
5										
6										
7	Referred by	the	Arka	nsas Hou	se of Rep	resentativ	ves			
8	Prepared by	· VJF	•							
9										
10										
11										
12										
13										
14										
15										
16										
17										
18										
19										
20										
21										
22										
23										
24										
25										
26										
27										
28										
29 30										
31										
32										
33										
34										
35										
36										