1 **INTERIM RESOLUTION 2007-003** 2 COMMEMORATING THE 50TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE HISTORIC INTEGRATION OF 3 4 CENTRAL HIGH SCHOOL. 5 6 WHEREAS, September 25, 2007, will mark the 50th anniversary of the 7 integration of Little Rock's historic Central High School; and 8 9 WHEREAS, numerous local and national events are planned through late September 2007, including a festival and a series of educational and judicial 10 11 forums, culminating with a ceremony on the front lawn of Central High School 12 on September 25, 2007; and 13 14 WHEREAS, dozens of organizations and institutions, including the 15 National Park Service Central High School National Historic Site, the 16 Arkansas Repertory Theatre, the Central Arkansas Library System, the UALR 17 William H. Bowen School of Law, the Clinton School of Public Service, and the William J. Clinton Presidential Center and Park will be participating in the 18 19 commemoration through their own events; and 20 21 WHEREAS, on the morning of September 23, 1957, nine African-American 22 teenagers, Minnijean Brown Trickey, Elizabeth Eckford, Ernest Green, Thelma 23 Mothershed Wair, Melba Pattillo Beals, Carlotta Walls LaNier, Terrence 24 Roberts, Jefferson Thomas, and Gloria Cecelia Ray Karlmark, now commonly and 25 affectionately known as the "Little Rock Nine" held the line against an angry 26 mob protesting integration in front of Little Rock's Central High School; and 27 28 WHEREAS, as the students met their new classmates for the first time 29 inside the school, violence escalated outside, and the Little Rock police 30 removed the Little Rock Nine from the school for their safety. The next day President Dwight D. Eisenhower ordered the United States Army's 101st 31 32 Airborne Division into Little Rock to escort the nine (9) students into 33 Central High School the following day, and each student was assigned his or 34 her own guard; and 35 36 WHEREAS, the integration of Central High School on September 25, 1957,

I.R. 2007-003

1 broadcast across the nation and around the world; was the site of the first 2 important test for the implementation of the United States Supreme Court's historic decision in the case of Brown v. Board of Education in 1954; became 3 4 the epitome of state resistance to desegregation when Governor Orval Faubus 5 directly questioned the authority of the federal court system and the 6 validity of desegregation; and forced the nation to resolve to enforce 7 African-American civil rights in the face of massive southern defiance during 8 the years following the Brown v. Board of Education decision; and 9

10 WHEREAS, the Little Rock Nine should be commended for their courage, 11 determination, and significant roles in the civil rights movement; and 12

1 .

13 WHEREAS, the members of the 50th Anniversary Commission are Co-chair Virgil Miller, Co-chair Nancy Rousseau, Annie Abrams, Dr. Edith Altheimer, 14 15 Ralph Brodie, Senator Irma Hunter Brown, Shannon Butler, Dale Charles, 16 Cynthia East, Ashley Fisher, Dr. Andre' Guerrero, Schawnee Hightower, Carlotta 17 Walls LaNier, Representative Wilhelmina Lewellen, Mike Madell, Dr. Kathryn Mitchell, Blake Rutherford, Derrick Smith, Senator Tracy Steele, Minnijean 18 19 Brown Trickey, Darrin Williams, Reginald Wright, Representative Fred Allen, and Joy Secuban; and 20

21

WHEREAS, the trials and tribulations of the Little Rock Nine and their families should always be remembered as beacons of strength in the face of overwhelming odds, dignity in the face of adversity, courage in the face of hostility, and perseverance for the betterment of their fellow man and the ultimate success of the civil rights movement,

27

28 NOW THEREFORE,

29 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL OF THE EIGHTY-SIXTH30 GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

31

32 THAT the Arkansas Legislative Council of the Eighty-Sixth General 33 Assembly of the State of Arkansas respectfully commemorates the 50th 34 anniversary of the historic integration of Central High School and honors the 35 courage and achievements of the Little Rock Nine.

36

```
1
 2
     Respectfully submitted,
 3
 4
 5
 6
     Senator Tracy Steele
 7
     District 34
 8
 9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
     Filed Date: 09/13/2007 By: DLP/sml
36
```