```
1
                               INTERIM RESOLUTION 2013-005
 2
           REQUESTING THAT THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL EXPRESS ITS
 3
 4
           SUPPORT OF AMENDMENT 83 TO THE ARKANSAS CONSTITUTION DEFINING
 5
           MARRIAGE AS CONSISTING ONLY OF THE UNION OF ONE MAN AND ONE
 6
           WOMAN.
 7
8
           WHEREAS, Amendment 83 to the Arkansas Constitution provides that
9
     marriage consists only of the union of one man and one woman; and
10
11
           WHEREAS, marriage between one man and one woman is the building block
12
     upon which our society is based; and
13
14
           WHEREAS, at the November 2004 general election, the people of the state
15
     of Arkansas overwhelmingly approved Amendment 83 by a vote of 75% to 25%; and
16
17
           WHEREAS, certain provisions of Arkansas law also provide that marriage
18
     shall be only between a man and a woman and that marriage licenses shall not
19
     be issued to persons of the same sex (Arkansas Code §§ 9-11-107, 9-11-109, 9-
20
     11-208); and
21
22
           WHEREAS, the power to regulate marriage is a power reserved to the
23
     people that lies within the domain of state legislatures and not with the
24
     courts; and
25
           WHEREAS, on May 9, 2014, Pulaski County Circuit Court Judge Chris
26
27
     Piazza declared that Amendment 83 and certain similar statutes were
28
     unconstitutional; and
29
30
           WHEREAS, Judge Piazza's decision is in direct contradiction to his oath
31
     to uphold the Arkansas Constitution and the overall right of the State of
32
     Arkansas to declare policy on such matters; and
33
34
           WHEREAS, Judge Piazza's decision disregards the clear wishes of the
35
     state's electorate when approving Amendment 83; and
36
```

I.R. 2013-005

1 WHEREAS, the decision also fails to acknowledge the longstanding 2 precedent of the United States Supreme Court that individual states have the 3 authority to define marriage within their states, as evidenced by 4 Hollingsworth v. Perry, 133 S.Ct. 2652 (2013); and 5 6 WHEREAS, while the Arkansas Legislative Council recognizes that 7 families take many forms, the institution of marriage itself is sacred and 8 must be upheld between one man and one woman; and 9 10 WHEREAS, Judge Piazza has overstepped his judicial authority and the Arkansas Legislative Council should take all possible actions to correct this 11 12 overreach and ensure that this erroneous decision does not negatively impact 13 the state and its citizens, 14 15 NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL OF THE EIGHTY-NINTH 16 17 GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: 18 19 THAT the Arkansas Legislative Council affirms its support for Amendment 20 83 and its declaration that marriage consists of only the union of one man 21 and one woman. 22 23 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the Arkansas Legislative Council views the actions of Pulaski County Circuit Judge Chris Piazza as an abuse of his 24 25 judicial authority. 26 27 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the Arkansas Legislative Council encourages 28 the Arkansas Supreme Court to uphold Amendment 83 which represents the will 29 of the people of Arkansas and to find that all marriages entered into after 30 Judge Piazza's decision that would otherwise have been prohibited by 31 Amendment 83 are null and void. 32 33 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the Arkansas Legislative Council encourages 34 the Attorney General to vigorously defend Amendment 83 with the full weight 35 and power of his office. 36

2

```
1
           BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the Arkansas Legislative Council shall
2
    explore legislative remedies to prevent the Arkansas Constitution and the
    will of the people of this state from being negated by judicial activism
3
4
    which violates the separation of powers ensured in our form of government.
 5
6
    Respectfully submitted,
7
8
9
10
     Senator Jason Rapert
11
    District 35
12
13
14
15
     Senator Cecile Bledsoe
16
    District 3
17
18
19
20
     Senator Ronald Caldwell
21
    District 23
22
23
24
25
     Senator Alan Clark
26
    District 13
27
28
29
30
     Senator John Cooper
31
    District 21
32
33
34
35
     Senator Jane English
36
    District 34
```

```
1
 2
 3
 4
     Senator Jake Files
 5
    District 8
 6
 7
 8
 9
     Senator Jim Hendren
10
     District 2
11
12
13
14
     Senator Bart Hester
15
     District 1
16
17
18
19
     Senator Jimmy Hickey
20
     District 11
21
22
23
24
     Senator Bruce Holland
25
     District 9
26
27
28
29
     Senator Missy Irvin
30
     District 18
31
32
33
34
     Senator David J. Sanders
35
     District 15
36
```

```
1
 2
 3
     Senator Gary Stubblefield
 4
     District 6
 5
 6
 7
 8
     Senator Jon Woods
 9
     District 7
10
11
12
13
     Representative Bob Ballinger
14
     District 97
15
16
17
18
     Representative Scott Baltz
19
     District 61
20
21
22
23
     Representative Nate Bell
24
     District 20
25
26
27
28
     Representative Ken Bragg
29
     District 15
30
31
32
33
     Representative David L. Branscum
34
     District 83
35
36
```

```
1
 2
     Representative John Burris
 3
     District 98
 4
 5
 6
 7
     Representative Robert E. Dale
 8
     District 68
 9
10
11
12
     Representative Jim Dotson
13
     District 93
14
15
16
     Representative Charlotte Douglas
17
18
     District 75
19
20
21
22
     Representative Jon S. Eubanks
23
     District 74
24
25
26
27
     Representative Joe Farrer
28
     District 44
29
30
31
     Representative Jeremy Gillam
32
33
     District 45
34
35
36
```

```
1
     Representative Justin T. Harris
 2
     District 81
 3
 4
 5
 6
     Representative John K. Hutchison
 7
     District 52
 8
 9
10
11
     Representative Sheilla E. Lampkin
12
     District 9
13
14
15
16
     Representative Homer Lenderman
17
     District 53
18
19
20
21
     Representative Kelley Linck
22
     District 99
23
24
25
26
     Representative Andy Mayberry
27
     District 27
28
29
30
31
     Representative James McLean
32
     District 63
33
34
35
36
     Representative David Meeks
```

```
District 70
 1
 2
 3
 4
 5
     Representative Josh Miller
 6
     District 66
 7
 8
 9
10
     Representative John Payton
11
     District 64
12
13
14
15
     Representative Jeff Wardlaw
16
     District 8
17
18
19
20
     Representative Bruce Westerman
21
     District 22
22
23
24
25
     Representative Tommy Wren
26
     District 62
27
28
29
     By: MBM/KFW
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
```