# REPORT OF THE EXECUTIVE SUBCOMMITTEE OF THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

July 21, 2022

Senator Terry Rice, Co-Chair Senator Missy Irvin, Vice Co-Chair Senator Cecile Bledsoe Senator Jimmy Hickey, Jr Representative Jeff Wardlaw, Co-Chair Representative Jim Dotson, Vice Co-Chair Representative Matthew J. Shepherd Representative Kenneth B. Ferguson

## **June 27, 2022 Emergency Action**

On June 24, 2022, Senator Terry Rice and Representative Jeff Wardlaw, Co-Chairs of the Executive Subcommittee, received an emergency rule request by the Arkansas Department of Agriculture, Livestock and Poultry Commission pertaining to Avian Influenza. This emergency rule revised a March emergency rule filed by the Department to exempt free range and backyard poultry from the original emergency rule due to the heat.

Arkansas Code § 10-3-309(d)(2)(B) and ALC Rule 22(f)(2)(B) provide that a proposed emergency rule may be considered reviewed and approved by the Executive Subcommittee in either of the following ways: (1) at a meeting of the Executive Subcommittee or (2) if a "majority or more of the members of the Executive Subcommittee approve the proposed emergency rule in writing."

The emergency rule was reviewed and approved in writing by the Executive Subcommittee members, and the review and approval was effective at 12:00 noon on Monday June 27, 2022. The action was reported to all ALC members and alternates via email, in accordance with ALC Rule 22(f)(3)(B), and in the Executive Subcommittee report presented to the Legislative Council meeting.

Below is a summary of the request given emergency review:

Department of Agriculture – Livestock and Poultry Commission: Emergency Amendment to the Amendment to the emergency Avian Influenza Rule.

#### July 20, 2022 Meeting

We, the Executive Subcommittee of the Arkansas Legislative Council, met Wednesday, July 20, 2022, in Room B of the Big MAC Building, Little Rock, Arkansas. Co-Chair Terry Rice called the meeting to order and saw a quorum of members present.

#### **Department of Human Services – Division of Children & Family Services:**

Co-Chair Rice recognized Ms. Mischa Martin, Director, DCFS, and Ms. Christin Harper, Asst. Director, DCFS, to present the request for review and approval of the following emergency rule:

• Department of Human Services – Division of Children and Family Services (DHS - DCFS): Support Payments to Provisional Resource Parents.

After questions from members, the emergency rule was reviewed and approved, and the review and approval shall be effective upon adjournment of the Arkansas Legislative Council meeting, Thursday, July 21, 2022.

### **Department of Commerce – Arkansas Economic Development Commission:**

Co-Chair Rice recognized Mr. Jim Hudson, Chief of Staff, General Counsel, and Mr. Stephen Porch, Broadband Director, Chief Legal Counsel, AEDC, to present the request for review and approval of the following emergency rule:

• Department of Commerce – Arkansas Economic Development Commission (AEDC): Addendum 2 to Arkansas Rural Connect – ARPA.

After questions from members, the emergency rule was reviewed and approved, and the review and approval shall be effective upon adjournment of the Arkansas Legislative Council meeting, Thursday, July 21, 2022.

## **Department of Finance & Administration - Office of Intergovernmental Services:**

Co-Chair Rice recognized Ms. Doris Smith, Administrator, and Mr. Paul Gehring, Assistant Commissioner of Revenue – Policy & Legal, DF&A to present the request for review and approval of the following emergency rule:

• Department of Finance & Administration (DF&A) – Office of Intergovernmental Services: Pregnancy Resource Centers Grant Program.

After questions from members, the emergency rule was reviewed and approved, and the review and approval shall be effective upon adjournment of the Arkansas Legislative Council meeting, Thursday, July 21, 2022.

#### The Segal Group, Inc.:

Co-Chair Rice recognized Ms. Jill Thayer, Legal Counsel, Bureau of Legislative Research (BLR), Mr. Ken Vieira, Account Executive, Mr. Patrick Klein, Account Manager, Mr. Matthew Kersting, Lead Actuary, and Ms. Kirsten Schatten, Strategic Consultant, The Segal Group, Inc., to present the proposals in response to RFP No. BLR-220001 – Employee Health Benefits Actuarial Consulting Services.

After the presentation, members were recognized for questions and discussion. Upon conclusion of questions and discussions, Senator Missy Irvin was recognized for a motion.

Senator Missy Irvin moved that the ALC – Executive Subcommittee award the contract for Employee Health Benefits Actuarial Consulting Services to The Segal Group, Inc. and authorize the Bureau of Legislative Research to enter contract negotiations with Segal, with approval of the draft contract by the ALC Co-Chairs, so that a final contract may be brought before the Policy-Making Subcommittee and the ALC at their August 2022 meetings. The motion was seconded and passed by voice vote.

There being no further business before the subcommittee, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Senator Terry Rice and Representative Jeff Wardlaw, Executive Subcommittee Co-Chairs

TR/JW/MG:sla