REPORT OF THE EXECUTIVE SUBCOMMITTEE OF THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL January 26, 2024

Senator Terry Rice, Co-Chair Senator Ben Gilmore, Vice Co-Chair Senator Missy Irvin Senator Bart Hester Representative Jeff Wardlaw, Co-Chair Representative Bruce Cozart, Vice Co-Chair Representative Matthew J. Shepherd Representative Kenneth B. Ferguson F.

January 25, 2024 Meeting

We, the Executive Subcommittee of the Arkansas Legislative Council, met Thursday, January 25, 2024, in Room B of the Big MAC Building, Little Rock, Arkansas. Co-Chair Terry Rice called the meeting to order and saw a quorum of members present.

Co-Chair Rice referred members to the proposed emergency rule from the Arkansas Department of Education, Division of Elementary & Secondary Education (DESE), regarding Rules Governing Literacy Tutoring Grants. He recognized Mr. Andrés Rhodes, Chief Legal Counsel, Mr. Daniel Schultz, Legal Counsel, and Ms. Courtney Silas-Ford, Chief of Staff, all of the Department of Education, to present the rule. He then recognized Representative Brian Evans to provide the House and Senate Education Committees' recommendation on the emergency rule. After questions and discussion, Co-Chair Rice made a motion.

Co-Chair Terry Rice moved, without objection, the proposed emergency rule is reviewed and approved and the review and approval shall be effective upon adjournment of Arkansas Legislative Council, Friday, January 26, 2024.

Co-Chair Jeff Wardlaw moved to recommend Arkansas Legislative Council authorize drafting special language to require an annual report, due beginning July 1, 2024, from the Department of Education, on the utilization of the Literacy Tutoring Program, and to also provide a report of the test results to show the effectiveness of the program. The motion was seconded and passed by voice vote.

Lastly, the Subcommittee heard a presentation related to the Education Facilities Property Insurance Study from Roberts Lee, Clint Lamberth, and Kyle Morgan, Meadors, Adams & Lee Insurance, Inc.

There being no further business before the subcommittee, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Representative Jeff Wardlaw, Co-Chair and Senator Terry Rice, Co-Chair