REPORT OF THE

HIGHER EDUCATION SUBCOMMITTEE

OF THE

ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

May 18, 2018

Senator Sample and Representative Dotson, Co-Chairs:

The Higher Education Subcommittee met Thursday, May 10, 2018, at 10:00 a.m., in Committee Room B of the MAC Building, Little Rock, Arkansas. The Subcommittee heard testimony from the following regarding campus security:

A. Campus Security

- 1. Arkansas Tech University
 - a. Dr. Keegan Nichols, Vice President for Student Services
 - b. Joshua McMillian, Chief, Department of Public Safety
 - c. Jennifer Fleming, Coordinator of Affirmative Action and Title IX
- 2 Arkansas State University
 - -- Chancellor Kelly Damphousse
- 3. Southern Arkansas University
 - a. Chief Jeff Jester, SAU System
 - b. Sheryl Edwards, Title IX Committee, Assistant to the President, Director of Governmental Relations
- 4. University of Arkansas Pine Bluff
 - a. Elbert Bennett, Vice Chancellor- Student Affairs
 - b. Ralph Owens, Dean of Students
 - c. Maxcie Thomas, Chief of Police
- 5. University of Central Arkansas
 - a. Kelley Erstine, Chief of Staff
 - b. Ms. Mindy Pipkin, Associate General Counsel and Compliance Officer
 - c. Captain Chris Bentley, UCA Police Department
- 6. University of Arkansas Little Rock
 - a. Assistant Police Chief Rommel Benjamin, UALR Police Department
 - b. Joni Lee, Associate Vice Chancellor for University Affairs

ALC Higher Education Subcommittee Report May 18, 2018 Page 2

- 7. University of Arkansas Fort Smith
 - -- Ray Ottman, Chief of University Police, UAFS
- 8. University of Arkansas Fayetteville
 - a. Mr. Randy Massanelli, Vice Chancellor for Government and Community Relations
 - b. Chief Steve Gahagans, Director, University Police
 - c. Captain Gary Crain, University Police
 - d. Mr. Tyler Farrar, Title IX Coordinator
- 9. University of Arkansas Monticello
 - a. John Kidwell, Chief of University Police
 - b. John Davis, Director of Governmental Relations
- 10. Henderson State University
 - a. Dr. Allison Vetter, Title IX Coordinator
 - b. Mr. Johnny Campbell, Chief of Police
- B. Information from Arkansas School Safety Commission
 - --Dr. Cheryl May, Chairman, Arkansas School Safety Commission

Respectfully Submitted,

Senator Jason Rapert, Co-Chair

Representative Greg Leding, Co-Chair