ARKANSAS GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Senator Johnny Key Chairman Representative Mark Perry Chairman

ARKANSAS LOTTERY COMMISSION LEGISLATIVE OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE

April 17, 2012

Senator Mary Ann Salmon, Senate Co-Chair Representative Tommy Lee Baker, House Co-Chair Arkansas Legislative Council 315 State Capitol Little Rock, AR 72201

Dear Senator Salmon and Representative Baker:

The Arkansas Lottery Commission Legislative Oversight Committee met Monday, Aril 9, 2011, at 10:00 a.m., and on Tuesday, April 10 at 1:30 p.m., in Room B, at the Big Mac Building, Little Rock, Arkansas.

These two days of public hearings were held in accordance with Act 1222 of 2011 so that LOC could conduct a conversation about the fairness of distribution. A panel of presenters included Rep. Tracy Steele, Act 1222 sponsor; Shane Broadway, Interim Director of the Arkansas Department of Higher Education; and Dr. Neal Gibson, Director of the Arkansas Research Center at the Arkansas Department of Education. Panelists answered questions from the Committee on the geographic distribution of lottery-funded scholarships and variations in scholarship retention across 2-year and 4-year institutions. These are issues anticipated by the Committee Chairs to be under further discussion in the 2013 Regular Session.

Sincerely,

Sen. Johnny Key ALCLOC Senate Co-Chair Rep. Mark Perry ALCLOC House Co-Chair