

Arkansas Department of Higher Education

114 East Capitol • Little Rock, Arkansas • 72201-3818 • (501) 371-2000 • Fax (501) 371-2001

Mike Beebe Governor Shane Broadway Interim Director

May 5, 2011

The Honorable Mary Anne Salmon, Chair The Honorable Tommy Lee Baker, Chair Arkansas Legislative Council State Capitol Building Little Rock, AR 72201

Dear Senator Salmon and Representative Baker:

According to the provisions of A.C.A. §19-5-1018, state institutions of higher education share in the distribution of monies received by the state from the United States government from the sale or lease of minerals, oil, and gas on federal property located in the state. Section 22 of Act 286 of 2010 states "After the sum of \$13,200,000 has been deposited into the Higher Education Building Maintenance Fund, the next \$10,000,000 or so much as is collected, is to be transferred to the Research Development Fund there to be used as provided by law."

According to A.C.A. §6-61-801 et. seq., the Arkansas Research Development Program is established for providing Arkansas Research Development Program Grants to publicly-supported universities in Arkansas by the Department of Higher Education. The statute requires that the funds be disbursed by the Director of the Department of Higher Education after review by the Legislative Council.

The Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board approved the distribution of \$1,000,000 from the Research Development Fund to the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville at its regular board meeting on April 15, 2011. Therefore, in accordance with A.C.A. §6-61-808, we submit this distribution of funds for review by the Legislative Council.

Sincerely

Senator Shane Broadway Interim Director