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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

 

BELINDA FLOYD CLAIMANT 

 

V. CLAIM NO. 220652 

 

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF 

TRANSPORTATION   RESPONDENT 

 

 

ORDER 

 

Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission”) is a 

motion filed by Arkansas Department of Transportation (the “Respondent”) for summary 

judgment as to the claim of Belinda Floyd (the “Claimant”). Claimant did not respond to the 

motion. Based upon a review of the motion, the arguments made therein, and the law of Arkansas, 

the Claims Commission hereby finds as follows: 

1. Claimant filed the instant claim on November 10, 2021, alleging that Claimant’s 

vehicle was damaged by Respondent’s wet road paint. 

2. Respondent filed an answer and motion for summary judgment recommending 

payment in the amount of $200.00, which represents the Claimant’s uninsured motorist property 

damage insurance deductible. 

3. Claimant did not respond or object. 

4. Pursuant to Rule 56(c)(2), summary judgment is appropriate when there are no 

genuine issues as to any material fact, and the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of 

law. See Hisaw v. State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co., 353 Ark. 668, 122 S.W.3d 1 (2003). 

Summary judgment motions are subject to a shifting burden, in that once the moving party has 

made a prima facie showing of entitlement to summary judgment, “the burden then shifts to the 

nonmoving party to show that material questions of fact remain.” Flentje v. First National Bank 

of Wynne, 340 Ark. 563, 569, 11 S.W.3d 531, 536 (2000). Summary judgment is useful “when 
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there is no real issue of fact to be decided.” Hughes Western World, Inc. v. Westmoore 

Manufacturing Co., 269 Ark. 300, 301, 601 S.W.2d 826, 826 (1980). 

5. The Claims Commission finds that Respondent did make a prima facie showing in 

its motion that it was entitled to judgment as a matter of law as to the limited recovery available to 

Claimant under Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-302. 

6. By not responding, Claimant failed to demonstrate that there were any genuine 

issues of material fact precluding summary judgment.  

7. The Claims Commission has reviewed the pleadings and agrees with Respondent 

that it is entitled to judgment as a matter of law on Claimant’s recoverable damages. Ark. Code 

Ann. § 19-10-302 limits Claimant’s recovery to the amount of out-of-pocket expenses that 

Claimant would have if Claimant exhausted her insurance remedies, i.e. Claimant’s deductible. 

8. As such, the Claims Commission herein AWARDS Claimant $200.00 and orders 

the Respondent to pay claim out of current fiscal year revenue. Claimant’s claim for any other 

amount is DENIED and DISMISSED. 
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 IT IS SO ORDERED. 

      
     _______________________________________ 

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 
 
Courtney Baird 
Dexter Booth 
Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair 
Paul Morris, Co-Chair 
Sylvester Smith 

 
      DATE: March 21, 2022 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Notice(s) which may apply to your claim 

 

(1) A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal 
with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that 
party then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of 
Appeal with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1)(B)(ii). A decision of the Claims 
Commission may only be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(3). 
 

(2) If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40) 
days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a). Note: This 
does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements. 
 

(3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval 
and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b). 
 



From:
To: ASCC New Claims
Subject: Claim no. 220652
Date: Friday, May 13, 2022 12:03:21 PM

Dear Ms. Kathryn Irby,

I am here begging the commission to hear my plea.  

I have been in KY caring for an ailing parent but do want to appeal the decision made by the
commission in regards to ARDOT.

This accident was no fault of mine as evident by the respondent agreeing to pay what they
thought was a $200 deductible on my insurance under uninsured motorist.  However; Mrs.
Sparks would not take the paperwork sent to her. Which was All I could get from my
insurance company.  This went on for months until I could finally get the insurance company
to send me the whole policy.  I knew then she was looking for a particular clause or wording
in that policy per speaking with two attorneys.  

It was after this, she agreed to pay the $200.  My insurance policy states the claim CANNOT
be filed under uninsured motorist if it involves a state entity, therefore the claim is a collision
claim with a $500 deductible. If she had read the entire policy, she would have seen this.

I feel that under this jurisdiction where ARDOT is not required to be insured ( even though I
do believe they are self insured) and cannot be sued, it is only right and pertinent that they pay
the collision deductible of $500. I should not be out any money for a destruction to my vehicle
that was at no fault of mine.

I earnestly plea that the right decision is made, and the great state of AR does not  work
against the people of this great state.

Thank you for all you do. 

Sincerely,

Belinda Floyd

Please send all correspondence to my home address, my phone or email: 
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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

 
BELINDA FLOYD CLAIMANT 

 

V. CLAIM NO. 220652 

 

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF 

TRANSPORTATION  RESPONDENT 

 
 

ORDER 

Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission”) is email 

correspondence from Belinda Floyd (the “Claimant”) received on May 13, 2022. On March 21, 

2022, the Claims Commission granted the motion for summary judgment filed by the Arkansas 

Department of Transportation (the “Respondent”) and awarded Claimant $200.00. When Claimant 

did not file a notice of appeal within 40 days, as required by Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1), 

the Claims Commission closed this claim. 

However, on May 13, 2022, the Claims Commission received an email from Claimant 

seeking to appeal the Claims Commission’s decision. Claimant stated that she had been out of state 

caring for a parent. 

In light of Claimant’s request to appeal, order, the Claims Commission will transmit this 

claim file to the Arkansas General Assembly, as Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211 does not permit the 

Claims Commission to reject an appeal for untimeliness. 
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IT IS SO ORDERED. 

      
      _______________________________________ 

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 
 
Courtney Baird 
Dexter Booth 
Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair 
Paul Morris, Co-Chair 
Sylvester Smith 

 
      DATE: May 13, 2022 

 

Notice(s) which may apply to your claim 

 

(1) A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal 
with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that 
party then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of 
Appeal with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1)(B)(ii). A decision of the Claims 
Commission may only be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(3). 
 

(2) If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40) 
days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a). Note: This 
does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements. 
 

(3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval 
and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b). 

  




