1

(501)682-1619 (501)682-2823 FAX



Questions? Send an email to ascc.new.claims@arkansas.go

#### 101 EAST CAPITOL AVENUE, SUITE 410 LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72201-3823

# **CLAIM FORM**

**1. Claimant.** If a claim involves more than one claimant, additional pages may be attached with the other claimant name(s) and contact information.

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

(title	last name/com	pan	first name		(emai	I)	
4301 W. M	Markham, Slot 860	)					
(address)							
Little Roc	k			AR	72201-		
(city)				(state)		(zip)	(primary phone)
	nt's Legal Counsel	is knov 19-10- a pro s be left	vn as procee 222 for info e claim. If a blank.	eding pi rmatior	ro se). Pleas a about what is procee	se revie en a bus ding pr	own attorney (which w Ark. Code Ann. § siness entity may file to se, this section may
Robinson			Sherri		SLRobi	nson@u	ams.edu
(title)	(last name)		first name)			(er	mail)
(address)							AR bar number
					AR		(501) 686-7964
(city)					(state)	(zip)	(primary phone)
3. State A	gency Involved.	The Commission can only receive claims against agencies of the State of Arkansas. Please review the Commission's jurisdictional statutes, including Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-204 and Ark. Code Ann. § 21-5-701, for more information. This information is required for any claim filed at the Commission.					
Arkansas	Department of Hu	man Serv	/ices				
4. Inciden	t Date						
5. Locatio	n of Incident						
6. CHECK	HERE if this claim	involves	damage to a	motor	vehicle.		
7. CHECK	HERE if this claim	involves	damage to p	roperty	other than	a motor	vehicle. 🗆

# 8. Explanation of Incident Please provide an explanation of your claim, including why you believe the above-listed state agency is liable for your damages under Arkansas law. You may attach additional pages to this form.

The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) was awarded a sub-grant from the Department Human Services (DHS) to develop programs to disburse Naloxone to overdose survivors/families at the point of hospital discharge along with educational instructions on treatment and recovery information. Under the sub-grant UAMS would invoices DHS for the agreed upon expenses. DHS has not paid invoices for costs from October 2021 to February 2022. The costs are represented in 2 invoices - Inv. No. for \$89,398.59 which covers Oct. '21 to Jan. '22 and Inv. No. for \$26,241.30 which covers February '22. DHS has advised UAMS to file with the Claims Commission.

**9. Insurance Coverage.** For a claim involving damage to a vehicle or other property, you must submit a copy of your insurance declarations in effect at the time of the incident. This is not the same as an insurance card. You can obtain a copy of your insurance declarations from your insurance agent. Please review Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-302 for more information.

\*\*If you did NOT have insurance covering the damaged property or motor vehicle at the time of incident, CHECK HERE

#### 10. Additional Required Documents for Property Damage Claim

You must submit (1) invoice(s) documenting the repair costs, (2) three estimates for repair, OR (3) an explanation why this documentation cannot be provided.

#### 11. If a state vehicle was involved, please provide the following information

(type of state vehicle involved)	(license number)	(driver)			
12. If your claim involves personal injuries, please CHECK HERE					
13. Health insurance coverage.		uire a copy of your health insurance me of the incident. Please review Ark. ore information.			
**If you did NOT have healt	h insurance on the date of the	e incident, CLICK HERE			

14. Amount of Damages, if known: \$115,639.89

#### **IMPORTANT!**

A claim filed at the Commission is a lawsuit against a state agency. The Commission is the courthouse for these lawsuits. Please note that Commission staff can answer general questions about the claim process but cannot give legal advice. The Commission rules and a non-exhaustive list of statutes that relate to the Commission can be found on the Commission website (arclaimscommission.arkansas.gov). The Arkansas Rules of Civil Procedure can be found online (arcourts.gov) under "Info Resources."

# STOP!

This signature page must be completed in the presence of a Notary Public. Do not sign until you are directed to do so by the Notary Public. If there is more than one claimant involved in this claim, each claimant must complete a separate signature page.

If you are an ARKANSAS-LICENSED ATTORNEY submitting a claim on behalf of your client, there is a different signature page that must be used. Please call (501)682-1619 and ask for an attorney signature page.

If a BUSINESS OR CORPORATE ENTITY is filing a claim without an attorney (and meets the requirements of Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-222 for doing so), there is a different signature page that must be used. Please call (501)682-1619 and ask for a corporate signature page.

The undersigned certifies that to the best of my knowledge, information, and belief, this claim is not being presented for any improper purpose; this claim is warranted by existing law or by a non-frivolous argument for extending, modifying, or reversing existing law or for establishing new law; and the factual contentions have evidentiary support of, if specifically so identified, will likely have evidentiary support after a reasonable opportunity for further investigation or discovery.

**Claimant Signature** 

#### **ACKNOWLEDGEMENT**

County of

On this the \_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_\_, 20\_\_\_, before me, the undersigned notary, personally appeared \_\_\_\_\_\_ known to me (or satisfactorily proven) to be the person whose name is subscribed to this instrument and acknowledged that he/she executed the same for the purposes therein contained.

In witness whereof I hereunto set my hand and official seal.

Signature of Notary Public

[seal of office]

My Commission Expires:

# C.1

Arkansas State Claims Commission

AUG 1 0 2024

RECEIVED



Sherri L. Robinson Sr. Associate General Counsel Tel.: 501-686-7608 Fax: 501-686-7736 Office of General Counsel 4301 West Markham Street, #860 Little Rock, AR 72205-7199 <u>SLRobinson@uams.edu</u>

August 8, 2024

Arkansas State Claims Commission 101 East Capitol, Suite 410 Little Rock, AR 72201

#### Re: New claim filed by University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Dear Directory Irby:

Enclosed please find the signature page and invoices to support the above referenced claim which was submitted online on August 1, 2024.

Should you have any questions or need additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Sherri L. Robinson Sr. Associate General Counsel

Arkansas State Claims Commission

AUG 1 0 2024

#### RECEIVED

### ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION

(501) 682-1619 FAX (501) 682-2823



KATHRYN IRBY DIRECTOR

101 EAST CAPITOL AVENUE SUITE 410 LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72201-3823

#### CLAIM SUBMISSION SIGNATURE PAGE

The undersigned attorney certifies that to the best of my knowledge, information, and belief, this claim is not being presented for any improper purpose; this claim is warranted by existing law or by a nonfrivolous argument for extending, modifying, or reversing existing law or for establishing new law; and the factual contentions have evidentiary support or, if specifically so identified, will likely have evidentiary support after a reasonable opportunity for further investigation or discovery.

Attorney Name (must be printed legibly)

Attorney Signature

Acknowledgement

State of ( County of Pulance

On this the <u>day of <u>lung</u></u>, 2024, before me, the undersigned notary, personally appeared <u>Sherri Robinson</u> known to me (or satisfactorily proven) to be the person whose name is subscribed to this instrument and acknowledged that he/she executed the same for the purposes therein contained.

In witness whereof I hereunto set my hand and official seal.

Signature of Notary Public

My Commission expires: <u>1-21-23</u>

SHELLY V. MCGHEE Notary Public - Arkansas Pulaski County Commission # 12394895 [Seal of Of Coordission Expires Jul 27, 2033

From:	ASCC New Claims
То:	Jim Brader; OCC Claims Commission Cases
Cc:	Kathryn Irby
Subject:	CLAIM: University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences v. DHS, Claim No. 250154
Date:	Thursday, August 29, 2024 1:03:00 PM
Attachments:	University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences vs DHS agency Itr.pdf
	University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Elct Claim Form - 250154.pdf
	University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Signature Page and Supporting Docs - 250154.pdf

Please see attached. Contact Kathryn Irby with any questions.

Thank you, Caitlin

#### **Caitlin McDaniel**

Administrative Specialist II Arkansas State Claims Commission 101 East Capitol Avenue, Suite 410 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201 (501) 682-1619 August 29, 2024

(via email)

Mr. Jim Brader Arkansas Department of Human Services 700 Main Street, Slot S260 Little Rock, Arkansas 72203

#### RE: University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences v. Arkansas Department of Human Services Claim No. 250154

Dear Mr. Brader,

Enclosed please find a copy of the above-styled claim filed against the Arkansas Department of Human Services. Pursuant to the Arkansas Rules of Civil Procedure, as well as Claims Commission Rule 2.2, you have **thirty days from the date of service** in which to file a responsive pleading.

Your responsive pleading should include your agency number, fund code, appropriation code, and activity/section/unit/element that this claim should be charged against, if liability is admitted, or if the Claims Commission approves this claim for payment. This information is necessary even if your agency denies liability.

Sincerely,

Kathryn Irby

ES: cmcdaniel

cc: Sherri Robinson, counsel for Claimant (w/o encl.) (via email)

From:	ASCC New Claims
То:	SLRobinson@uams.edu
Bcc:	Kathryn Irby
Subject:	University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences v. DHS, Claim No. 250154
Date:	Thursday, August 29, 2024 1:03:00 PM
Attachments:	University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences vs DHS agency ltr.pdf

Dear Ms. Robinson,

Attached please find a copy of the letter sent with the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences claim to the Arkansas Department of Human Services.

Thank you, Caitlin

#### Caitlin McDaniel

Administrative Specialist II Arkansas State Claims Commission 101 East Capitol Avenue, Suite 410 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201 (501) 682-1619

From:	Daiquiri Carter
To:	ASCC Pleadings; Abbey Trussell; SLRobinson@uams.edu
Cc:	Daiquiri Carter
Subject:	CC # 250154
Date:	Monday, September 23, 2024 8:15:04 AM
Attachments:	CC 250154 Answer UAMS v DHS.pdf image001.png image002.png image003.jpg

Attached is DHS' Answer to the above mentioned case. I have copied Claimant's attorney on this e-mail.

Thank you,

Daiquiri D. Carter, M.Ed. Legal Services Specialist Office of Chief Counsel PO Box 1437, Slot S260 Little Rock, AR 72203-1437 501-320-6338 phone 501-682-6720 fax Daiquiri.carter@dhs.arkansas.gov



#### **NOTE - This email may contain sensitive or confidential information.**

CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: The information contained in this email message and any attachment(s) is the property of the State of Arkansas and may be protected by state and federal laws governing disclosure of private information. It is intended solely for the use of the entity to which this email is addressed. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that reading, copying or distributing this transmission is STRICTLY PROHIBITED. The sender has not waived any applicable privilege by sending the accompanying transmission. If you have received this transmission in error, please notify the sender by return email and delete the message and attachment(s) from your system.

### BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION

### UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR MEDICAL SCIENCES (UAMS)

CLAIMANT

VS.

#### **CLAIM NO. 250154 CC**

# STATE OF ARKANSAS DHS

#### RESPONDENT

#### ANSWER

Comes the Respondent, State of Arkansas, Department of Human Services ("DHS"), by its

attorney, Abbey Trussell, and for its Answer states:

1. Respondent admits liability for claim 250154 in the requested amount of

\$115,639.89.

2. The account information is:

Agency Number: Cost Center: Fund: Fund: Fund Center:

WHEREFORE, Respondent moves that claim 250154 be admitted in the amount stated

above, and for all other just and proper relief to which it may be entitled.

Respectfully Submitted,

Arkansas Department of Human Services Office of Chief Counsel

/s/ Abbey Trussell

Abbey Trussell Attorney Supervisor, AR Bar No. 2020235 P.O. Box 1437, Slot S260 Little Rock, AR 72203 Phone: (501) 534-4149 Email: abbey.trussell@dhs.arkansas.gov

## **CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE**

I, undersigned, do hereby certify that on September 23, 2024 a true and correct copy of the

foregoing was sent via email to the following:

Sherri Robinson, Esq. University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences 4301 W. Markham, Slot 860 Little Rock, AR 72201 <u>SLRobinson@uams.edu</u>

/s/ Abbey Trussell\_

Abbey Trussell

#### BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION

#### UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR MEDICAL SCIENCES

CLAIMANT

V.

#### CLAIM NO. 250154

#### ARKANSAS DEARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

#### RESPONDENT

#### **ORDER**

This claim was filed by University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences against the Arkansas Department of Human Services (the "Respondent") for an unpaid bill in the amount of \$115,639.89.

Respondent filed an answer on September 23, 2024, admitting liability in full.

The Arkansas State Claims Commission (the "Claims Commission") unanimously allows this claim in the amount of \$115,639.89 and refers this claim to the General Assembly for review and placement on an appropriation bill pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b).

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Servy C. Kinslow

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION Henry Kinslow

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION Paul Morris, Chair

filte That

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION Sylvester Smith

DATE: October 2, 2024

#### Notice(s) which may apply to your claim

- (1) A party has forty (40) days from transmission of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that party then has twenty (20) days from the transmission of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of Appeal with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1)(B)(ii). A decision of the Claims Commission may only be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(3).
- (2) If a Claimant is awarded less than \$15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40) days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. *See* Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a). <u>Note</u>: This does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements.
- (3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of \$15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b).