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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION

TOMMIE MASON (ADC 083024) CLAIMANT

V. CLAIM NO. 14-0338-CC

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF

CORRECTION RESPONDENT
ORDER

Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission”) is the
claim of Tommie Mason (the “Claimant”) against Arkansas Department of Correction (the
“Respondent™). At the hearing held November 16, 2018, Claimant was in attendance, along with
Claimant’s counsel, Sheila Campbell. Thomas Burns appeared on behalf of Respondent.

At the beginning of the hearing, Respondent increased its settlement offer to $175.00.
Claimant declined the settlement offer and elected to proceed with the hearing,

Claimant testified that he was sick for three to four days following the August 2012 food
pbisoning incident. Claimant’s symptoms included stomachache, vomiting, and diarrhea. Claimant
stated that he was not able to eat while he was sick and could only drink water for the duration of
his illness. Claimant’s counsel introduced Claimant’s grievance filings regarding the incident as
hearing exhibits,

The Claims Commission found Claimant’s testimony to be credible but agrees with
Respondent’s valuation of Claimant’s damages. As such, upon a review of the pleadings,
testimony, and evidence, the Claims Commission ALLOWS this claim in the amount of $175.00

and directs the Claims Commission clerk to issue a voucher in payment thereof.



IT IS SO ORDERED.

/é&w/% ol W
"I\.._f ¢

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION
Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair

7

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION
Sylvester Smith

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION
Mica Strother

DATE: November 16, 2018

1)

(2)

3

Notice(s) which may apply to vour claim

A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal
with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-21 1(b). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that party
then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of Appeal
with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(b)(3). A decision of the Claims Commission may only
be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a).

If'a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40)
days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-21 1(b). Note: This
does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements,

Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval
and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-1 0-215(b}.




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION

TOMMIE MASON (ADC 083024) CLAIMANT
V. CLAIM NO. 14-0338-CC

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF

CORRECTION RESPONDENT

ORDER ON CLAIMANT’S
MOTION FOR RECONSIDERATION

Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission™) is a
motion filed by Tommie Mason (the “Claimant”) for reconsideration of the Claims Commission’s
November 16, 2018, order awarding Claimant $175.00 on his claim against the Arkansas
Department of Correction (the “Respondent”). Based upon a review of the pleading, the arguments
made therein, and the law of Arkansas, the Claims Commission hereby unanimously finds as
follows:

1. Claimant filed his claim on October 21, 2013, seeking $10,000.00 in damages
related to a food poisoning incident in August 2012.

2. On November 16, 2018, this claim was heard by the Claims Commission. Claimant
attended via videoconference with his counsel, Sheila Campbell. At the beginning of the hearing,
Respondent increased its settlement offer to $175.00, which Claimant declined. The Claims
Commission agreed with Respondent’s valuation of Claimant’s damages and awarded Claimant
$175.00.

3. Claimant thereafter filed the instant pro se motion for reconsideration, arguing that
the Claims Commission “cannot measure the amount of pain and suffering that Claimant
experienced during and after the food poisoning incident.” Claimant also argued that the Claims

Commission did not consider that Respondent “knowing[ly} and willingly denied medial treatment



for Claimant” and that Respondent has “openly admitted [its] failure to exercise the care that a
reasonablfy] prudent person would exercise in like circumstances.” In that motion, Claimant
increased his requested award to $1,000,000.00.

4. In analyzing a motion for reconsideration, Rule 7.1 of the Claims Commission
Rules and Regulations states that motions for reconsideration “will only be entertained if they set
forth new or additional evidence which was not [previously] available . . . .”

5. The Claims Commission finds that the motion does not set forth new or additional
evidence not previously available. The Claims Commission finds that it is improper for the
Claimant to increase his claimed damages at the motion for reconsideration stage. The Claims
Commission finds that there was no evidence that Respondent “knowingl[y] and willingly denied
[Claimant] medical treatment” or that Respondent “failfed] to exercise the care that a reasonabl[y]
prudent person would exercise.”

6. As such, Claimant’s motion for reconsideration is DENIED, and the November 16,
2018, Claims Commission order remains in effect.

7. The Claims Commission is aware that Claimant has filed a notice of appeal. This
order will be transmitted to the parties, and the claim will be transmitted to the Arkanéas General

Assembly pursuant to Ark. Code Ann, § 19-10-211.



IT IS SO ORDERED.

By .

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION

Courtney Baird

Dexter Booth

Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair
Paul Morris, Co-Chair
Sylvester Smith

DATE: April 1, 2019
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Notice(s) which may apply to vour claim

A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file 2 Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal
with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-21 1(b). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that party
then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of Appeal
with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(b)(3). A decision of the Claims Commission may only
be appealed 10 the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-21 i{a).

If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40)
days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(b). Note: This
does not apply to agency admissions of lability and negotiated settlement agreements.

Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval
and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-1 0-215(b).
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