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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLATMS COMMISSION

KEN BERG CLAIMANT

V. CLAIM NO. 190405

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF

HUMAN SERVICES RESPONDENT
ORDER

Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission™) is a
motion filed by the Arkansas Department of Human Services (the “Respondent”) to dismiss the
claim of Ken Berg (the “Claimant”). Claimant did not respond to the motion. Based upon a review
of the motions, the arguments made therein, and the law of Arkansas, the Claims Commission
hereby finds as follows:

L. Claimant filed the instant claim on September 26, 2018, alleging $1,690.65 in
damages to Claimant’s vehicle. Claimant alleged that another vehicle backed into his vehicle while
his vehicle was parked by the curb.

2. Respondent filed a motion to dismiss pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6), arguing, inter alia,
that Claimant’s vehicle was damaged while he was parked in a no parking zone, such that the
responsibility for any damage lies solely with Claimant.

3. Claimant did not respond to the motion to dismiss.

4, In reviewing this motion to dismiss, the Claims Commission must treat the facts
alleged in the complaint as true and view them in a light most favorable to the Claimant. See
Hodges v. Lamora, 337 Ark. 470, 989 S.W.2d 530 (1999). All reasonable inferences must be
resolved in favor of the Claimant, and the complaint must be liberally construed. See id. However,
the Claimant must allege facts, not mere conclusions. Dockery v. Morgan, 2011 Ark. 94 at *6, 380

S.W.3d 377, 382. The facts alleged in the complaint will be treated as true, but not “a plaintiff’s
1



theories, speculation, or statutory interpretation.” See id. (citing Hodges, 337 Ark, 470,989 S.W.2d

530 (1999)).

5. Applying the Hodges standard to this claim, dismissal is appropriate. Claimant has

not alleged sufficient facts to support a claim against Respondent.

6. Respondent’s motion to dismiss is GRANTED pursuant to Ark. R. Civ. Proc. 12(b),

and Claimant’s claim is DISMISSED without prejudice.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION

Courtney Baird

Dexter Booth

Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair
Paul Morris, Co-Chair
Sylvester Smith

DATE: March 15, 2019

Notice(s) which may apply to vour elaim

(1) A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file 2 Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal

(2

(3)

with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-21 1(b). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that party
then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of Appeal
with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-21 1(L)(3). A decision of the Claims Commission may only
be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code An. § 19-10-211(a).

If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40)
days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(b). Note: This
does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements.

Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 ot more are referred to the General Assembly for approval

and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann, § 19-10-21 5(b).




Arkansas

State Clainss Comaninsion
To Whom it may concern
APR 5201
From Ken Berg
RECERVER

Date: 4/03/2019
Subject: Claim No. 190405

I am filing for a Notice of Appeal and or Reconsideration.

I never receive any paper work in the mail other than the first little |
received that had the claim number on it and to hold for reference
and the second letter I received had the motion of to dismiss the
claim stating | never responded to a previous letter that | never
received.

| do not want to dismiss the claim and would like to receive the
money for the damages to my car.

Ken Ber

P ol floro 4775 70057
s/ w7 | '



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION

KEN BERG CLAIMANT

V. CLAIM NO. 190405

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF

HUMAN SERVICES RESPONDENT
ORDER ON CLAIMANT’S

MOTION FOR RECONSIDERATION

Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission™) is a
motion filed by Ken Berg (the “Claimant”) for reconsideration of the Claims Commission’s March
15, 2019, order denying and dismissing Claimant’s claim against the Arkansas Department of
Human Services (the “Respondent™). Based upon a review of the pleading, the arguments made
therein, and the law of Arkansas, the Claims Commission hereby unanimously finds as follows:

1. Claimant filed his original claim on September 26, 2018, claim seeking $1,690.65
in damages to his vehicle at the Booneville Human Development Center.

2. Respondent filed a motion to dismiss, arguing that Claimant’s vehicle was damaged
while he was parked in a no-parking zone, such that the responsibility for any damage lies solely
with Claimant. The Claims Commission agreed and granted Respondent’s motion on March 15,
2019.

3. Claimant thereafter filed the instant motion for reconsideration, arguing that he did
not receive the motion to dismiss, does not want to dismiss the claim, and would like to receive
the money for the damage to his vehicle.

4. In analyzing a motion for reconsideration, Rule 7.1 of the Claims Commission
Rules and Regulations states that motions for reconsideration “will only be entertained if they set

forth new or additional evidence which was not [previously] available . , . .”



5. The Claims Commission finds that the motion does not set forth new or additional
evidence not previously available. Claimant’s motion does not.provide any substantive response
to Respondent’s motion to dismiss. As such, Claimant’s motion for reconsideration is DENIED,
and the March 15, 2019, Claims Commission order remains in effect.

6. In light of the fact that Claimant’s motion for reconsideration was alternatively
identified as a Notice of Appeal, the Claims will enter this order and transmit the claim to the
Arkansas General Assembly pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION

Courtney Baird

Dexter Booth

Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair
Paul Morris, Co-Chair
Sylvester Smith

DATE: April 25, 2019

Notice(s) which may apply to vour claim

(1) A party has forty (40} days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal
with the Claims Commission, Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(b). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that party
then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of Appeal
with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(b)(3). A decision of the Claims Commission may only
be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a).

(2) 1f a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Comumission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40)
days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Amn. § 19-10-211 (b). Note: This
does not apply to agency admissions of lability and negotiated settlement agreements.

(3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval
and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b).




