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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION

TANDURA JEAN HADLEY CLAIMANT

V. CLAIM NO. 190201

UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR

MEDICAL SCIENCES RESPONDENT
ORDER

Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission”) is the
claim of Tandura Jean Hadley (the “Claimant”) against the University of Arkansas for Medical
Sciences (the “Respondent™). At the hearing held on April 12, 2019, Claimant appeared pro se.
Sherri L. Robinson appeared on behalf of Respondent.

Based upon a review of the pleadings, testimony, and the law of Arkansas, the Claims
Commission hereby finds as follows:

1. Claimant filed her claim seeking compensation for personal injuries sustained when

an elevator door on Respondent’s Little Rock campus closed on her on July 2, 2018.

2. Respondent filed an answer denying liability.
3. The Claims Commission scheduled a hearing to consider Claimant’s claim.
4. At the hearing, Claimant testified that in addition to the damages listed in her claim,

she also cut her foot on the elevator and is seeing medical providers regarding her foot. Claimant
stated that she has co-pays related to those visits. Claimant appeared at the hearing wearing a
medical boot on one foot. Claimant stated that after the incident on July 2, 2018, Claimant went
home because her mother was with her and did not go to Respondent’s emergency room until the
next morning when she was unable to get out of bed. Claimant also testified that she was pinned
between the elevator doors and estimated the time that she was pinned at “5 to 10 minutes” or “a

few minutes.” Claimant stated that two people helped to pry her from the elevator but that she did
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not get their names and that no one reported the incident to Respondent after she was freed from
the elevator. On cross-examination, Claimant admitted that there was no mention of her foot injury
in her claim documents.

5. Upon a question from a commissioner, Claimant testified that $10,000.00-
$15,000.00 would compensate her for this incident.

6. Claimant’s mother, Rosie Montgomery, testified briefly that two people had to help
get Claimant out of the elevator.

7. Robert Airo, business manager for Respondent, testified that he oversees all 109
elevators on the Little Rock campus, including elevator maintenance. He stated that he investigates
incident, sends reports to the State Elevator Safety Division, and oversees the annual inspections
of the elevators and the inspections that occur upon a complaint. Airo testified that Respondent
has two full-time elevator mechanics on campus. Airo stated that he received a report regarding
Claimant’s incident on July 3, 2018, after which he checked all of the B-Bank elevators in the
patient towers, including checking the elevators on multiple floors, and found no issues. Airo stated
that the elevator mechanics also checked the elevators and found no issues. However, Airo testified
that, pursuant to procedure, he notified the State Elevator Safety Division of the incident. Airo also
testified that he spoke with Claimant to confirm which elevator was involved, after which time he
and the elevator mechanics all checked the elevator. Airo stated that there have been no other
complaints or similar incidents with the elevator. Airo also stated that, in the more than five years
that he has been in his position, he has never heard of a situation where an elevator closed on a
person and did not immediately re-open. On cross-examination, Claimant disagreed with Airo
which elevator was involved in her incident.

8. Candace Conners, a patient representative for Respondent, testified that she has a

masters degree in nursing administration and a bachelor degree in nursing. She testified that on
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July 3, 2018, she reviewed the incident, including the elevator report and Claimant’s charts, x-
rays, and emergency room records, to determine whether there was an injury. Conners testified
that Claimant has previously suffered from back pain and has been diagnosed with disc
degeneration and arthralgia through previous visits to Respondent in 2015 and 2016. Conners
testified that Claimant had no swelling in the emergency room and that the charts reflected that
she was in “no apparent distress.” Conners stated that there was no mention of her foot in any of
the incident records. Conners testified that, as a courtesy, Claimant’s emergency room bills were
written off, such that she had no out-of-pocket expenses for her emergency room visit. On cross-
examination, Claimant stated that she was not lying and that her bladder started leaking after this
incident.

9. The elements of a negligence claim are duty, breach of duty, and damages
proximately caused by the breach. See Chambers v. Stern, 347 Ark. 395, 406, 64 S.W.3d 737, 744
(2002). The Arkansas Supreme Court stated that “negligence is never presumed . . . [even] from
proof of the happening of an accident and resulting injury.” Missouri Pac. R. Co. v. Baum, 196
Ark. 237,117 S.W.2d 31 (1938); see also Arkansas Model Jury Instruction 603 (“The fact that an
injury . . . . occurred is not, of itself, evidence of negligence . . . on the part of anyone”).

10. In Otis Elevator Co. v. Faulkner, 288 Ark. 344, 705 S.W.2d 428 (1986), the
Arkansas Supreme Court considered whether there was sufficient evidence of the elevator
company’s negligence to support the jury’s verdict against the elevator company. In finding that
there was sufficient evidence to support the verdict, the Arkansas Supreme Court relied on
testimony that there had been prior incidents with the elevator and that, although the elevator
company had recommended that an essential elevator part be repaired or replaced, the work had
not been completed prior to the incident. The Arkansas Supreme Court referenced two other cases,

in which plaintiffs injured by elevators were awarded damages based on prior incidents on the
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elevators that justified a finding of negligence. Otis Elevator v. Robinson, 287 F.2d 62 (5th Cir.
1961); Otis Elevator Co. v. Jackson, 325 F.2d 260 (5th Cir. 1963).

11.  Applying this law to the instant claim, the Claims Commission finds that there is
no evidence of negligence. There was no testimony to establish that the elevator had any prior
issues. In fact, Airo testified to the contrary that in the five years he has worked in his position, he
has not heard of any similar situation or had any other similar incidents involving those elevators.
Moreover, Airo’s testimony regarding the stringent elevator maintenance protocol was persuasive.
As such, the Claims Commission does not have any evidence to determine that Respondent was
negligent in its maintenance of the elevators.

12. Because the Claims Commission cannot conclude that Respondent was negligent
in maintaining the elevators, the Claims Commission need not analyze Claimant’s damages.

13. Claimant’s claim is hereby DENIED and DISMISSED.



IT IS SO ORDERED.

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION
Courtney Baird

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION
Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION
Sylvester Smith

DATE: April 18, 2019

(1) A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal
with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(b). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that party
then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of Appeal
with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. 8 19-10-211(b)(3). A decision of the Claims Commission may only
be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a).

)

(3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval
and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b).

Notice(s) which may apply to your claim

If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40)
days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(b). Note: This
does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements.
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