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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

 

LEON COLLINS CLAIMANT 

 

V. CLAIM NO. 200951 

 

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF 

TRANSPORTATION  RESPONDENT 

 

 

ORDER 

 Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission”) is the 

motion filed by the Arkansas Department of Transportation (the “Respondent”) to dismiss the 

claim of Leon Collins (the “Claimant”). Based upon a review of Respondent’s motion, the 

arguments made therein, and the law of Arkansas, the Claims Commission hereby finds as follows: 

1. The Claims Commission has jurisdiction to hear this claim pursuant to Ark. Code 

Ann. § 19-10-204(a). 

2. Claimant filed the instant claim, alleging that Claimant’s vehicle was damaged after 

hitting a pothole on a state highway. 

3. Respondent filed a motion to dismiss, arguing that Claimant failed to show that 

Respondent had prior knowledge of a pothole yet failed to respond within a reasonable amount of 

time to repair it. Respondent seeks dismissal pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6) of the Arkansas Rules of 

Civil Procedure. 

4. Claimant responded to the motion, arguing: 

It is not my problem that the road[s] are not safe even the bridge is not safe it is 

falling and I own a home there and I have a child and we travel that road Please 

help for saf[e]ty Thanks. 

 

5. In reviewing this motion to dismiss, the Claims Commission must treat the facts 

alleged in the complaint as true and view them in a light most favorable to the Claimant. See 

Hodges v. Lamora, 337 Ark. 470, 989 S.W.2d 530 (1999). All reasonable inferences must be 
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resolved in favor of the Claimant, and the complaint must be liberally construed. See id. However, 

the Claimant must allege facts, not mere conclusions. Dockery v. Morgan, 2011 Ark. 94 at *6, 380 

S.W.3d 377, 382. The facts alleged in the complaint will be treated as true, but not “a plaintiff’s 

theories, speculation, or statutory interpretation.” See id. (citing Hodges, 337 Ark. 470, 989 S.W.2d 

530 (1999)). 

6. The Claims Commission agrees with Respondent that dismissal of this claim is 

proper. Claimant did not allege any facts regarding Respondent’s prior knowledge of a pothole or 

failure to repair it within a reasonable amount of time. Respondent is unable to monitor every part 

of the nearly 16,000 miles of state highways at all times. Respondent is also unable to monitor 

every section of the nearly 16,000 miles of state highways that have had a pothole at one time. As 

stated by Respondent in the motion to dismiss, encountering a pothole is a risk assumed by the 

public in general as a part of travel. In the absence of evidence that Respondent had prior 

knowledge of the pothole that caused Claimant’s damage and failed to repair it in a reasonable 

amount of time, the existence of a pothole is insufficient to establish liability. 

7. As such, Respondent’s Motion to dismiss is GRANTED, and Claimant’s claim is 

DISMISSED WITHOUT PREJUDICE. 
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IT IS SO ORDERED.       

       
      _______________________________________ 

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

 

Courtney Baird 

Dexter Booth 

Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair 

Paul Morris, Co-Chair 

Sylvester Smith 

 

      DATE: July 1, 2020 

 

Notice(s) which may apply to your claim 

 

(1) A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal 

with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that 

party then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of 

Appeal with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1)(B)(ii). A decision of the Claims 

Commission may only be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(3). 

 

(2) If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40) 

days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a). Note: This 

does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements. 

 

(3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval 

and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b). 



From: Leon Collins
To: ASCC Pleadings
Subject: Appeal
Date: Wednesday, July 8, 2020 3:13:23 PM

I Leon Collins is requesting for an appeal.
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