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11712020 01.00-E -- Statute of Limitations and Conviction Defined

01.00-E -- Statute of Limitations
and Conviction Defined

Proposed Regulation

A. A prosecution of an action alleging a violation of a Commission regulation may be
commenced within the periods of limitation set forth in Ark. Code Ann. § 5-1-109, as
follows:

1. 1 year after the commission of an offense that carries less than 9 points; or
2. 3 years after the commission of an offense that carries 9 points or greater.

Certain exceptions as set forth in the Arkansas Code may extend the period of limitations
in specific circumstances, including where the offense involves fraud or the accused
cannot reasonably be located within Arkansas.

B. For the purposes of this Code of Regulations, “conviction” or “convicted” means any of
the following:

1. An adjudication of guilt, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere accepted by a
court of competent jurisdiction;

2. Forfeiture of bail or collateral deposited to secure the person’s appearance
in court; or

3. Payment of a fine, court cost, or court order, regardless of whether
sentencing or imposition of sentencing has been deferred or suspended or
the adjudication of guilt or the sentence is withheld by the court.

https://apps.agfc.com/regulations/detail/ffe2c98a-fd55-4ed8-8e7d-33e865b80127/
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01.00-K -- Point System For
Violations of Commission
Regulations

Proposed Regulation

A. The Commission has determined that certain violations of its regulations, or a series
of violations, are so harmful to the fish and wildlife resources of the State that they
warrant a suspension of an individual’s hunting and fishing rights, privileges and
related licenses. The Commission regards such action as a valid means of protecting
the fish and wildlife resources of the State. Under subsection B of this Code, points
are assigned for the various offenses. When a person cited for such an offense pleads
guilty or no contest, forfeits an appearance bond, or otherwise is convicted by a court
of competent jurisdiction, the Commission assesses the points on that person’s
hunting and fishing violation record. The accumulation of a certain number of points
within the time specified can result in administrative suspension of hunting and fishing
rights, privileges and related licenses for a specific period of time.

B. The Commission shall assign violation points to:

1. A person convicted of violating a Commission regulation;

2. A person convicted of violating a federal wildlife law or regulation in
Arkansas; and

3. In accordance with Code 01.00 (/regulations/01.00)-Q, an Arkansas resident
convicted of a wildlife offense in another state that is a member of the
Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact.

Violation point values for Commission regulations are as follows:

= Class 1 Offense = 6 Points

« (Class 2 Offense = 12 Points

« (Class 3 Offense = 18 Points

« Class 4 Offense = 30 Points

« Class 5 Offense = 99 Points

= Unclassified Offense = 0 points

https://apps.agfc.com/regulations/detail/7ed13f27-e801-4c5d-a524-d4000f4 37606/
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The violation point value for a federal wildlife law or regulation violation shall be equal to
the violation point value for the most similar Commission regulation violation. If a court
imposes an enhanced penalty pursuant to Code 01.00 (/regulations/01.00)-J, the
Commission shall assign corresponding violation points for the higher class of offense.

C. For administration of this Point System, the Commission shall assign violation points
as of the date of a person’s conviction for an offense, and such convictions and
violation points will remain on a person’s AGFC violation record indefinitely. However,
violation points associated with an offense for which a conviction resulted will expire 5
years after the date of conviction for that offense and shall not thereafter be
considered by the Commission for the purpose of determining a person’s eligibility for
suspension or revocation under Code 1.00-L.

https://apps.agfc.com/regulations/detail/7ed13f27-e801-4c5d-a524-d4000f437606/
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01.00-L -- Denial, Suspension, Or Revocation Of Licenses, Permits, Tags, And Stamps

01.00-L -- Denial, Suspension,
Or Revocation Of Licenses,
Permits, Tags, And Stamps

Proposed Regulation

A. The Director of the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission, or his or her designated

representative, is authorized to suspend or revoke the hunting and fishing rights and

privileges and any Commission-issued license, permit, tag, or stamp of any person

and to deny the application of any applicant in accordance with due process, upon
reasonable cause or a showing through the Commission’s records or other sufficient

evidence that the person has met 1 or more of the following criteria:

1.

Accumulated 18 or more violation points within the past 5 years for violations
of Commission regulations;

. Made a material misrepresentation or practiced fraud or deceit in an attempt

to obtain or use a license, permit, tag, or stamp;

. Permitted a fraudulent or unlawful use of his license, permit, tag, or stamp;

4. Under either federal law or another state’'s law, has received a lifetime

revocation of his or her hunting or fishing rights or privileges or any related
licenses, or been convicted within the past 5 years of a hunting or fishing
violation, which, if the conviction had been pursuant to Arkansas law, would
have been grounds for suspension or revocation;

. Failed to comply with any term of a license, permit, tag or stamp;
. Failed to comply with any term of a citation for a hunting or fishing violation

(including, without limitation, failure to appear in court or to otherwise resolve
the case such as by paying a fine); or

. Has received a suspension or revocation of his or her hunting or fishing

rights, privileges, or any related licenses by another state that is 2 member
of the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact Act (Code 01.00
{/regulations/01.00)-Q)

E. The Director of the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission. or his or her designated

representative, shall suspend the hunting and fishing rights, privileges, and any

related licenses of any person who has accumulated a violation point count of 18 or

https://apps.agfc.com/regulations/detail/ae554 1be-98a0-4f59-9de 1-2fc18570f8¢7/
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01.00-L -- Denial, Suspension, Or Revocation Of Licenses, Permits, Tags, And Stamps

more within a 5-year period. The length of the suspension shall be based on the point
accumulation total as follows:

1. 18 to 24 Points = 1 year suspension

2. 25 to 48 Points = 2 years suspension

3. 49 to 72 Points = 3 years suspension

4. 73 to 98 Points = 5 years suspension

5. 99 Points or more = 7 years suspension

Any person who receives a hunting suspension shall be ineligible to apply for any
Commission permit hunts during the period of suspension; however, an owner of a
private inholding (Code 02.02 (/regulations/02.02)) having a hunting suspension shall be
eligible to apply for WMA Hunting Permits for use only by persons who possess a valid

hunting license.

. All suspensions under this Code shall run consecutively.
. Prior to implementing a suspension or revocation of hunting and fishing rights,

privileges, and any related licenses, the Director, or his or her designated
representative, shall provide the person affected written notice of the Commission’s
intent to suspend or revoke hunting and fishing rights, privileges, and related licenses
and allow an opportunity for a hearing for the limited purposes of confirming the
identity of the person affected and the accuracy of that person’s violation record and
the violation points assigned under Code 01.00 (/regulations/01.00)-L.. The notice

shall state the length and scope of the suspension and include the following
information for each offense that forms the basis of the suspension: AGFC Code
number; date of conviction; and number of points assigned. The Commission shall
provide notice by: delivering a copy to the person affected; or leaving a copy with any
member of the person’s family at least 18 years of age at a place where the person
affected resides; or certified mail addressed to the person affected with a return-
receipt requested and delivery restricted to the addressee or agent of the addressee.
If, after diligent effort, the Commission is unable to make delivery of the notice upon
the person affected, then the Commission may make service by warning order that is
published weekly for 2 consecutive weeks: (i) in a newspaper of general circulation in
the county where the person was last known to reside, and (ii) on the Commission’s
website.

. Except as stated otherwise herein. upon suspension or revocation of any license,

permit, tag or stamp. denial of any application or rights and privileges attached
thereto. the Director, or his or her designated representative. shall notify the person
affected in writing. Such notification shall not be required if the person affected
receives a notice of intent to suspend or revoke hunting and fishing rights, privileges,

https://apps.agfc.com/regulations/detail/ae554 1be-98a0-4f59-9de 1-2fc 18570187/
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and related licenses and does not request an administrative hearing within the time
allowed under Code 01.00 (/regulations/01.00)-R.

https://apps.agfc.com/regulations/detail/ac554 1be-98a0-4f59-9de 1-2fc185708c7/
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01.00-R -- Administrative
Hearing Procedure

Proposed Regulation

A. Any person whose hunting and fishing rights, privileges, or related licenses have been
suspended or revoked by the Commission; who has been denied a Commission-
issued license, permit, tag or stamp, or application or rights and privileges attached
thereto; or who has received notice of intent to suspend, revoke, or deny the same
may request an administrative review hearing only by notifying the Commission in
writing within 20 calendar days after receipt of the notice of suspension, revocation,
denial, or notice of intent thereof. The request for a hearing must include a valid,
current mailing address (or email address) at which the person will receive notice of
the date and time of the hearing and any other notices, and the person must notify the
Commission of any change of address during pendency of the hearing. The
Commission will presume delivery of all notices correctly addressed and mailed to any
address that is provided pursuant to a hearing request or. if none is provided, to the
address to which the original notice was mailed. Otherwise, the suspension,
revocation or denial shall. without further notice, become effective on the 215 calendar
day after the receipt of the notice described herein.

B. Upon timely receipt of the hearing request, the Commission shall appoint a hearing
officer and notify the person requesting the hearing hearing (at the address provided
or, if none was provided, to the address to which the original notice was mailed) of the
date, time, location, and nature of the hearing. Hearing requests received after the
deadline for receipt shall be denied unless the person requesting the hearing can
show good cause in writing for the untimeliness of the hearing request, in which case
the Commission shall appoint a hearing officer and notify the person requesting the
hearing of the date, time, location, and nature of a hearing for the limited purpose of
determining the person’s eligibility for an administrative review hearing. If the hearing
officer determines that the hearing request was timely or was untimely but for good
cause, the requested hearing shall be held immediately thereafter

C. All hearings shall be conducted in-person at the Commission’'s main headquarters
unless the hearing officer determines an exception is necessary for compelling

https://apps.agfc.com/regulations/detail/bc4 376 1-f325-448e-b01d-6e 1bfSffb6al/
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reasons demonstrated in writing at the time the request for hearing is submitted. The
Commission shall cause a record to be made of the proceedings.

D. Hearings shall be conducted in an informal manner and without necessity of
adherence to the rules of evidence required in judicial proceedings. Both the
Commission and the person requesting the hearing shall have the right to be
represented by counsel, to submit evidence in open hearing, compel the attendance
of witnesses and to cross-examine any witness at the hearing. Irrelevant, immaterial
or unduly repetitious evidence shall be excluded by the hearing officer. Notice may be
taken of generally recognized technical or scientific facts within the Commission’s
specialized knowledge, and the Commission’s experience, technical competence and
specialized knowledge may be utilized in the evaluation of the evidence.

E. Except as stated otherwise herein, the hearing officer shall suspend hunting and
fishing licenses, rights, and privileges as set forth in Code 01.00 (/regulations/01.00)-L

beginning on the date specified in the hearing officer’s final decision.

1. The hearing officer may reduce the suspension term by up to 1/2 if, after
consideration of the person’s violation record and evidence admitted at the
hearing, the hearing officer makes all of the following findings of fact:

i. The person’s hunting or fishing rights, privileges, or any related
licenses have not been suspended or revoked by the Commission
or a court of competent jurisdiction within the previous 15 years:
and

ii. The person's suspension is not based on any Class 5 offense.

2. Any reduction granted shall be contingent upon the person successfully
completing a Commission-approved hunter education course, boating
education course, or both, and submitting written proof of the same to the
Commission no later than 120 calendar days after suspension. The
suspension reduction shall not become effective unless and until the
Commission has received proof of completion of the courses.

3. The hearing officer may modify the suspension to allow the person to retain
licenses, rights, and privileges to (a) hunt, if no hunting-related offenses
formed the basis of the suspension or (b) fish, if no fishing-related offenses
formed the basis of the suspension, provided that the person’s hunting and
fishing licenses, rights, and privileges have never been suspended or
revoked by the Commission or a court of competent jurisdiction for fishing-
or hunting-related offenses

F. In matters not concerning the suspension or revocation of hunting and fishing rights
privileges, and related licenses, the hearing officer shall affirm, rescind. or modify the
suspension or revocation of the license, permit, tag or stamp, or the denial of the
application based upon the evidence admitted in the record of the proceedings.

https://apps.agfc.com/regulations/detail/bc4 3716 1-f325-448e-b01d-6e1bfoffb6a3/
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G. Decisions of the hearing officer shall be final and shall include findings of fact,
conclusions of law, and a final decision. The parties shall be served either personally
or by mail delivery to the address used to mail the hearing notice (or to any updated
address a party provided during the hearing) with a copy of the final decision, which
shall become effective immediately upon delivery.

H. Any aggrieved party may, within 30 days after service of the final decision, file a
petition for review in the circuit court of Pulaski County or the county in which they
reside if they reside in Arkansas. Unless ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction,
the Commission shall not stay implementation of the final decision during the
pendency of any appeal of that decision.

https://apps.agfc.com/regulations/detail/bc437f61-1325-448e-b01d-6e1bfoffb6a3/



